Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice hotel near Purdue University campus

Posted Apr 21, 2015
My daughter and I were pleasantly surprised how nice the Candlewood Suites were. We were not expecting a full fridge and kitchenette in the suite. The room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Christin G., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Christin G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

For Lafayette, IN, this is top teir

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly, attentive staff; New, clean rooms; nice room features; nice hotel amenities.
Cons: Nothing actually comes to mind.
Location: If you're staying in a hotel in Lafayette, you're either passing through or are here for a specific reason...
I recently had to stay in Lafayette for an extended period of time for a project. I've stayed in different hotels in the past in this city, most of which are not very good. In the grand scheme of hotels, this Candlewood is good/quite nice. But this review is relative to Lafayette, and for Lafayette, this place is fantastic. It's relatively new, the staff are very polite and attentive, and the rooms are both VERY clean, stocked with relatively new versions of typical extended stay hotel items (full size fridge, dishwasher, sink with garbage disposal, stove, plates/cups/pans/utensils), is actually somewhat upgraded from other extended stay hotels (counters, cabinets, microwave), and frankly the internet speeds are pretty good. The rest of the hotel is also very clean, neat, and appealing. There's bonus stuff I wasn't expecting: free laundry facilities, heated pool, gym, and a "pantry" room by the front desk stocked with a decent selection of random items (food and such...for pay of course).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Christin G., Hotel Management
Dear Brett, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Christin G.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

No great.

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room smelt smoky had to change rooms...over all very average for price...would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Christin, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was not great. Our guest satisfaction is of our utmost importance and we apologize that you were not made to feel this way during your stay. While we are a 100% smoke free property, unfortunately not all guests abide by the regulations. We do our best to keep our property smoke free and I am sorry that your first room did not meet these expectations. We do hope that you will give us another chance to show how important our guests are to us. Sincerely, Christin G.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Higher rates for over football weekend.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Our stay was over a home football weekend for Purdue. We paid $240 for one night in this hotel. This is Chicago money and this was not a Chicago hotel. It was OK. But the skin job we took to stay here when the normal rate is $90 less was a stinger. We had no choice as all hotels were booked. My complaint about the room was that the bed seemed to be at an angle so your head was lower than your feet. I am sure that this was not the only hotel that was raising their rates for the weekend. I recently booked another hotel for graduation weekend and the rates were not exaggerated on any of the hotels for these dates.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Purdue visit

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Non smoking room smelled like smoke. No breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Christin, Hotel Management
Dear A verified traveler, I am terribly sorry that your room smelled like smoke during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately while we are a completely smoke free hotel, we do occasionally have guests who do not adhere to this policy. I apologize for this. Also, while we do not serve a continental breakfast, we do have breakfast items for purchase in our Candlewood Cupboard as well as full kitchens in every room should you choose to cook breakfast in your room. I'm sorry that you would not recommend us to others. It is our hope that you would give us a second chance in hopes of changing that. Sincerely, Christin G.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom carol Stream

First and last stay while visiting Purdue

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Internet didn't work. I called front desk to inform. The clerk at desk asked me to call their provider to trouble shoot. What! I do that at home when I have problems with TV/Internet. I asked for manager. It was Saturday. I was told the manager would be in on Tuesday. Pool area a pit. No amenities. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else when visiting this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Christin, Hotel Management
Dear Dennis, I am very sorry that your stay was so unsatisfactory that you will not be returning to stay with us nor would your recommend us. That is certainly not what we want to hear and I do apologize that such is the case. Please understand that we were not asking you to contact our internet service provider to troubleshoot your internet issues. We had already called and reset the router and no problems were discovered on our end. We were suggesting that you call Hospitality Wifi which is our guest internet tech support help line. Unfortunately when no problems are found on our end, it is imperative that the guest call them as there may be other issues preventing connectivity such as firewalls or parameters set on guest's individual devices that we cannot detect. I'm sorry that you felt this was such an inconvenience that you refused to call. While I would not be returning to the office until Tuesday, I promptly called you that evening in an attempt to resolve your issues. I am sorry that this was unsatisfactory to you. Our pool area, guest fitness center and laundry area, business center and other amenities throughout the hotel are all in working order and many of our guests enjoy these items daily during their stays. I am very sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy them. We do strive for 100% satisfaction from all of our guests. I am sorry we were not able to achieve that during your stay. Sincerely, Christin G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Davidfrom California

Great for Family's

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here over a weekend with me my wife and 2 kids and a baby... the hotel (I called ahead) had my room ready upon my arrival including the baby crib all setup (free) the room was clean and well stocked. Overall we had a great time the beds where very comfortable and the a/c felt awesome! I will say that the LIGHT infront of the hotel that shines on the AMERICAN flag was burned out :( there was a veteran staying there and he and I where troubled by this.. but the staff assured us that maintenance would take care of it during the week. the FREE laundy service was awesome (self serve washer and dryer) the pool was clean and fairly warm. the Gym was very nice as well! My wife and I loved the little "borrow" appliance setup they have what a great idea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Christin, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us. Comfortable beds and cold a/c can make all the difference sometimes. I'm also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities such as the pool, complimentary guest laundry facility and our lending locker. We hope to see you again soon next time you are in our area. Sincerely, Christin G.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indpls IN

Won't stay again

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Only received one small wash cloth for a two bed hotel room. Went to the front desk to ask for clean towels and didn't have any to give. Room was always warm no matter how much we turned on the air conditioning. Did like the kitchen in the room, missed not having a contiental breakfast offered. Don't recommend if your traveling with young kids. Having the breakfast included always a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Christin, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, I am so sorry to hear of your experience while staying with us. Please know one washcloth per room is not to our standard and I am terribly sorry this is what you experienced. We should have had 3 washcloths in your room and I will reiterate this with all of our staff. I understand having a complimentary breakfast can be helpful when traveling with children, however, so can having a kitchen in your room. We find that many of our guests do appreciate that feature when traveling with kids. I am sorry this wasn't the case in your situation. Sincerely, Christin G.