Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

OK, but not spectacular

Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
For the price I would have expected a more comfortable room (and internet connectivity). Breakfast was good though, and with a little attention to details it could have been excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

American in Marburg

Posted Mar 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is not really centrally located, but is close to the train station and within easy access to the highway if that is important to you. It is also within a short walking distance to shops and cafes. The hotel is showing it's age and the bathroom linens may be that old too! They keep the hotel clean and nothing was in major disrepair. The hotel staff can be helpful if you are willing to overlook their dissatisfaction in your asking questions. This will not be my future choice of accomodations, but I will stay here if in a pinch. Compared to other choices it is not a good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem, Israel

Waldecker Hof - convenient but tired

Posted Jan 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located within short walking distance from the Marburg train station; that's really its main selling point. The rooms were tired, but clean. It looked as if the bathrooms had recently been redone, but the towels were unraveling which was the first time I had encountered something like that. Also, while the breakfast was sufficient, the lighting in the room was not and the tablecloths were apparently only changed once a week - so after Monday morning, we ate breakfast on stained tablecloths - again this was the first time I had seen anything like this. I do not think I would stay here again unless I had to be within walking distance of the train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2010 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2010 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Not impressed

Posted Apr 21, 2010
Although the room was clean and comfortable the bath taps were not working. It was also only possible to get German Language channels on the television. The main problem was the very offhand and unhelpful nature of one of the receptionists. This was the weekend off the volcanic erution which caused flight chaos. I asked if I could book the room for a further night and I was charged a higher price. The receptionist was also annoyed that I had to ask at the time I was due to check out. The fact that I had to make a split second decision, because of the peculiar circumstances, was of no interest to her. This treatment means that I will not book at the hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Oldie but Goodie

Posted Sep 5, 2009 on Hotels.com
Older property, but very close to hauptbahnhof. Great windows means no street noise despite location along major streets. Pool was a nice bonus and the staff was very helpful and considerate. Breakfast was fairly standard w/ boiled eggs, etc. Parking was straightforward and reasonably priced given the availability in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kapolei

great room for the money

Posted Jun 16, 2009 on Hotels.com
close to train station, breackfast includet, no restaurant in hotel but near
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

great bathroom

Posted Oct 7, 2007
The room was fine, the bathroom the most spacious in Germany, but oder in the hallway leading to the rooms was awful, like stale smoke. The next day public smoking was prohbiting, so it is probably fine now.