Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabethfrom Ashford

Could have been perfect.

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This near perfect hotel experience was spoilt by a lack of service focused on the customers' needs. From the lack of offers to help with luggage, through the need to ask for all passwords to the lack of drinks available in the cocktail bar, the whoe experience was disappointing. Because it was raining we didn't want to use the open air lakeside bar but we're refused a wine list and most cocktails in the cocktail bar. Sad. A fabulous setting and hotel needs service to match I'm afraid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Beautiful hotel on the lake

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The view, the grandeur of the hotel, the peace and quiet, the location.
Location: See above.
We were not disappointed when we arrived at Palace de Menthon! Our room was rather small (we were not able to designate two beds on the website) so when we requested it at check-in there was not much available but the staff kindly found a double room for us. The outside restaurant was very nice, great food and wine, beautiful view of the lake. We were within walking distance to the small village of St. Bernard de Menthon, which was nice. The only disappointment (and this isn't the hotel's fault) was there was not any public transit (boats or vans) between the villages along the lake and Annecy. The roads being so busy and narrow we didn't want to drive but would like to have been able to venture into Annecy for a few hours. Otherwise, our stay was exceptional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by berksfrom australia

top location

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stunning lakeside views from our room. Fantastic staff. Unfortunately it wasn't air conditioned so can be a challenge in hot weather. Restaurant downstairs on the lake had great food & the staff were super efficient & very friendly & made it easy to converse in broken French & English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dull

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Location I'd great . View is excelent but confusing inference . Dull atmosphere . No services . Every thing close early . No aircon . .... Just the view .......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolfrom Scotland UK

Beautiful location and fantastic food.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: The restaurant was exceptional.
Location: Beautiful view of the lake, close to Annecy with all its amenities.
We felt really special at this hotel. We had the pool and sauna to ourselves and felt like celebrities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Keithfrom UK

Great setting and lake views

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel exceeded our expectations, especially in regards to location, there was no part of the lake that we saw where we would have preferred to be. Menthon is colourful and attractive, retaining evening sun until it disappears over the mountains opposite. We economised by requesting garden view rooms, but the view from the front bedrooms is magnificent and is worth an extra spend. Even so, we had a view to the side and up to the mountain peaks with which we were well satisfied. The rooms were spacious, with a separate area for wardrobe and safe, plenty of storage space, and the bed was comfortable with a spotlessly clean duvet. The continental breakfast provided everything we needed, with beautiful fruit salad selection, various breads and teas/coffees. Restaurant staff could have been more welcoming, but possibly their grasp of English language was not up to it - my French certainly wasn't! Reception staff were very helpful, giving details of boats and advice on the area. Reception area at first impressions looked sparse, but perhaps it is appropriate for the type of building. We will certainly hope to return, the view from the hotel is magical, and the grounds are attractive with steps and paths through shrubs and borders. Unloading/loading the car can be done without negotiating any steps, taking the lift from the floor beneath reception, which avoided any heavy lifting. Altogether a very memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by KWfrom Eastbourne

Fantastic views

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an amazing place to stay, especially if the weather is good because the views and contrasting colours of the lake and surrounding area of Menthon are beautiful. The hotel's position high up gives panoramic views. All aspects of this hotel were well up to expectations, although we economised with a garden view room and in hindsight a lake view room would have been worth the extra. Breakfast was excellent, and the room was comfortable, quality bathroom fittings and a superb shower. We hope to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Petrafrom Sweden

Amazing location with a fantastic view

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed just one night on our way to the Alps, but can recommend this hotel - perfect location, amazing view to the lake Annecy and the mountains and Chateau St. Bernard...it all look like from a fairytale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nilsfrom Denver

Beautiful location on the lake

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gorgeous location. Nice place to stop on the way to GVA.