Ratings based on 1,163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Lack of Service

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Cons: Service.
The room was fine, the casino was fine, everything was ok except for service. Staff members just didn't care. This was especially clear when in the restaurants. It will take at least an hour to get your food. Even if it's just eggs and toast. AN HOUR! Unfortunately, we went next door to the Nugget and it's just as bad. There is clearly no management to recognize they need more staff to handle the volume of people. It's a great spot for a weekend trip, but our group of 14 won't be back. We'll just go to Vegas instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Another close getaway

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: In trying to keep up with the Golden Nugget next door, they have re-done the restrooms in the lobbies. Also, the adult pool is heated now.
Cons: I was disappointed the hotel would not honor my comps and also the rate they quoted was higher than the rate Expedia offered and I took.
Location: 2/12hrs. from Houston and close to great lunch seafood restaurants in Lake Charles.
Had not been to L'auberge in a couple of month, so it was time to go. We tried the Sunday brunch in Jack Daniels, which we had not gone before. It was wonderful. They mixed up a drink order so comped us for our drinks. Gambling is always fun there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Good first visit

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms. I am a non-smoker but glad smokers can find their space.
Cons: The wi-fi could be more simple to access than the current method of first goinf through the television. Even with direction I couldn't get access.
Once in the hotel, it was pleasant. The signage was not very good for the first time in locating the hotel/route . The hotel staff and facilities were nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mediocre

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Room not very clean. No maid service my 2nd day. I could never get the room to maintain a comfortable temperature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san antoni tx

Parking lot

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Great hotel and casino , Parking lot was really dirty And be carefull someone " scratch " cars there .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Top Drawer

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: grounds, rooms, front desk, service personnel, shopping and THE CASINO! Oh, and the Asian restaurant. Fabulous!
Cons: Housekeeping needs a little kick in the rear.
Location: Lake Charles is a nice downtown to browse, shop. Plenty of nearby golf. You could fish if you watch out for alligators
Gorgeous place, plenty of eating, free booze while gambling, free non-alcoholic beverages all the time. Very new, very flashy and pretty. We're seeing a little decline, though. Some of the fountain lights are out, making the nighttime view less beautiful.... Housekeeping must have put a queen sheet on our king bed, as the bottom sheet would not tuck in. Seeing the bed pad is not something you want to view in ANY hotel.... Again, housekeeping -- put a decorative runner on the foot of the bed, and it was either heavily stained or burned. Still, love it there. Gorgeous grounds, just a little tweaking to be perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom spring

Relaxing

Posted Apr 17, 2015
The best bed in the world. Always love coming here to relax and play. I do think the buffet is over priced for lunch. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Texas

A win-win

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The beds were very comfortable, high quality toiletries, and clean comfortable room. Every person we came in contact with was helpful and pleasant.
Cons: The valet at checkout took about 20 minutes to get our car. I don't like that LA takes State Tax out of your winnings even if you are not from LA.
Location: Great pool and lazy river, but I just gambled.
My friend and I drove to Lake Charles to check out the casinos. LAuberge was a pleasant surprise. The hotel was Vegas quality, and loved the free trolley to Golden Nugget. In my opinion the video poker machines at LAugerge payout much better than Golden Nugget-I won a jackpot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: Police hallways, trash accumulated during nights
It is a Nice facility has good entertainment venues, relaxing patio area and good resturants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom The Woodlands, Texas

mini vacation

Posted Apr 12, 2015
From the minute that we checked in to the moment we checked out of the hotel e had an amazing time. The casino was a blast, we went out to the pool and floated the lazy river and had some drinks. Then we had dinner at the jack Daniels grill I highly recommend it. Fabulous fabulous food. We will be back for sure.