Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This is a modern hotel overlooking the main square next to the lake. It close to the cathedral and a short walk to the funicular, Nord Lago station, and just about anything you’d want to see in Como. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the ones with a lake view have nice balconies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel convenient to Ferry

Posted Jul 16, 2015
This hotel is 100m from the dock and provides a nice harbor view from a comfortable room. Easy walking to much that Como has to offer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne , Australia

Great hotel and position.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The staff went out of their way to help in any way.
Cons: Maybe have more variety of food when you pre pay your dinners.
Location: Location was great. Close to everything. View was lovely.
Hotel was close to city centre and right in front of piers for tours on the lake. Food at the restaurant was amazing and so we're all the staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Nice hotel closer to lake Como

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Location and courteous and friendly staff.
Cons: It would be nice if they can add some vegetarian options like pancakes, Hash browns etc for breakfast.
The hotel location is closer(walkable) to the lake, ferry, funicular to Brunett, train station and the shopping district. This saves lot of your time. The hotel itself is nice with very courteous staff, nice restaurant onsite and complimentary breakfast in the morning. The best thing is our stay covered half board meaning dinner was covered in our room rate. The restaurant staff went out of their way to help us get variety in the menu every night as we are vegetarians. The food was very good. Overall our stay at this hotel was very nice and relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, PA

Perfect location

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: it's location and the friendly, courteous, and very helpful staff at the front desk
Cons: more items on food menu would be nice
Location: location is perfect to walk to all restaurants and the train station
We stayed at this hotel so we could explore the city, and yet be in close proximity to the pier to take the boat to the cities on the lake. One day we walked 10 minutes and took the train to Lugano, Switzerland. It was a very enjoyable time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Uppity

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The breakfast. Otherwise nothing.
Cons: Pay attention to you guests.
Location: Good location.
Very rude hotel front desk staff. We did not get the balcony we requested. We were put on the first floor which is the ONLY floor without balconies. Did not get double bed we requested. Half board menu was a joke. I think they treated us this way because they felt like we were getting an economy class accommodation since we booked on Expedia. Restaurant was small and couldn't get a reservation until 9pm. We ate at a hotel across the plaza, the Hotel Metropole Suisse. The food at the Suisse was outstanding! I wish we would have stayed there too. They squeezed us in to eat when there was a terrible rain storm. The Excelsior did nothing to help us from going out in the rain storm to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: WI-FI CONNECTION
WHAT YOU SEE IS NOT WHAT YOU GET; PLUS, YOU HAVE TO PAY $5 PER HOUR FOR INTERNET CONNECTION
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Staff and the setting overlooking the lake was superb. Suggest paying a little extra for a lake view room
Cons: Free wifi and brighter more modern decor
Location: Apart from the lake itself and bell ago etc we caught a train into Switzerland to Lake Lugano. Very easy to do and takes 35 mins. goid shops etc
Nice hotel but more like a 3 star in terms of room and facilities. Staff lovely and food both at breakfast and dinner was really nice. Shame they don't offer free wifi though as this would be a real bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Great location

Posted May 9, 2015
Great stay! Would definitely come back - lovely hotel, staff were great and the bar/restaurant downstairs served really good food and drinks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels