Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford

Location, location, location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The view
Cons: Décor is very dated and could do with an overhaul to bring it into the 21st century. Should offer internet access in the room and be included in rate.
Location: Shopping, culture, sightseeing, bars, restaurants, boat tours.
This hotel is all about location and the views onto the lake. The hotel is tired and dated, but it is clean and has the amenities you need. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is minutes walk from bars, shopping and restaurants and a 5 minute walk from the train station. Ideal location for your Lake Como stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Very good hotel in excellent location by the lake.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The location near the lake and ferries; the view from our room; the comfort and attractiveness of our room; excellent standards of housekeeping;
Cons: on some mornings there wasn't hot water in the bathroom, this could be improved. Vegetarian option on the restaurant menu main courses.
Location: well placed for the railway station, cathedral, old town and shops. The ferry terminal is a few minutes away, boats go all round the beautiful lake
This was our second stay at the hotel. The location is excellent - close to the ferry terminal, the cathedral, the railway station . . .Definitely worth paying extra for a lake view and balcony. Breakfast is good, with plenty of choice (fresh fruit excellent). We dined on 5 evenings in the "Bistro", the food is good, but the choice limited - e.g.no vegetarian option on main courses. Our room was very pleasant and the beds comfortable. Linen and towels changed every day, furnishings and décor good. No complaints or negative comments. Would definitely return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Excellent location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location, handy to the pedestrianised old town and to the ferry terminal on the lake.
Cons: A customer should be able to specify a balcony room.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to the ferry terminal, the cathedral and the funicular
This is an excellent hotel but "lake view" does not necessarily mean the room has a balcony. There are rooms at the end of the building which have a window from which the lake can be seen. There is nothing wrong with these rooms but it is clear that if one was lucky enough to score a balcony room one would have a fabulous view. We were allocated a lake view room without a balcony and asked to change rooms and were disappointed that this request was refused. Otherwise the hotel is fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Great Location, spacious room, close to Lake Como.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but not much more

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Hotel is very tired and needs modernising.
Location: Very central, right in front of the main waterfront.
Disappointing stay, more 3 star than 4, needs a renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saudi Arabia

Great location/lousy front desk staff & services

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Stayed 5 nights with the family and booked 2 rooms early August. Front desk staff with an attitude and a mission to get sales. I complained when they gave us rooms in the 2nd floor with a tree blocking the lake view! Had totally useless answer. Stone age internet service and nothing for free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

Good hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff
Location: Right near the ferries and the buses stop outside the hotel. Also the Duomo is just up the road.
My family all enjoyed our stay at the Barchetta Excelsior very much. The rooms were in good order with excellent air conditioning. The towels and sheets were changed every day, which was great as the weather was so hot. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was the best we could have asked for - right near the ferries and the Duomo. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sonia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barchetta. Perfect location to explore the lake. Staff were extremely helpful - I had emailed with request for upper floor & room with superb view was waiting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in Como

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Lovely view from our balcony and close to everything.
My husband and I decided to close our Italian vacation with a couple of days at Lake Como. This hotel was moderately priced and conveniently located for our planned activities. We enjoyed a lake view from the small balcony of our 5th floor room. The king bed was comfortable with a full mattress instead of two twins pushed together as you often get in European hotels. The bath was small but included a narrow long bathtub that made showering easy. The hotel staff was generally very pleasant with one unfortunate exception the last night of our stay. You can see some aging and wear and tear in the small things. For example one of our bath towels had a hole from overuse. That said the property is generally well maintained. The internet policy is unusual for European hotels - free wifi in the lobby and restaurant but you pay to use the lobby computer and for access in the rooms. Overall we were pleased but may look at other properties if we return.