Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for independent travellers

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Do not consider the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia if you are an independent traveller! You risk being told on arrival that your room has been double-booked and you are required to spend the night in a hotel in a different village; not ideal after a bruising journey through the Swiss Alps. The management of the hotel is invisible and therefore ineffective. The dining-room only offers a set four-course dinner, again pandering to all the groups who are on inclusive terms. On the plus side the views over to Bellagio from the roof-top bar are stunning.
1 out of 5
by D from Toronto, Ontario

Nothing "Grand" about this place

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was decent.
Cons: Just about everything, right down to the staff's attitudes could do with an overhaul.
We prepaid in early February for three nights accommodation in a garden view suite for a wedding we were attending in early September. When we arrived, we were treated to a musty old room in the back basement with a sewer view, which they were perfectly happy to give out as a regular room without any compensation or apologies. When we complained, we were told that there was no manager and no other rooms available until the next day. Management should be embarrassed that such a room even exists, let alone offered to guests. If you enjoy spending $200 CAD a night to sleep in a damp sewer, then this is the right hotel for you. See photos enclosed for your enjoyment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Los Angeles

Lakefront with garden patio, good value

Posted Nov 9, 2013
We stayed here recently for four nights. The hotel closes for the winter from November through February. Overall very good experience, we had a triple room on the first floor and our room had a really nice large garden patio where we ate dinner under the stars a couple nights. Unbeatable view and comfortable room, although the room and the hotel are built in the 1920s and show it in places, but it was comfortable enough for us. The room is very large compared to others we had around Italy. Breakfast was good. The hotel front desk staff were helpful enough, and spoke adequate English, although some of them seemed a bit frazzled probably due to it being the end of their work season, I think they were closing for the winter the day after we left. Anyways, we had a great time and would recommend this hotel. Many of the hotel guests are tour groups, mostly retirement age folks from U.K. or Ireland, but we enjoyed meeting many of them upstairs at breakfast. If you are nervous, as I sometimes am, about traveling to places where many do not speak your language, you will feel very comfortable here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard from adelaide

go on book it

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
brilliant. book a lake view room it was worth every cent. Imaging lying in bed with the french doors open looking at Belagio. Breakfast is served on the top floor also overlooking the lake. Sometimes it pays to spend a few extra dollars on a hotel, I recommend this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geeta from UK

The room had anice view of the lake.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Staff were friendly and did what they can
Cons: as above.
Location: was a rainy day and could not explore.
We were happy with all the featues except one. The room was hot and stuffy particularly at night. We asked for an electric fan to keep the air cool and circulating. We were refused. This is not acceptable. Consequently we had to keep the windows fully open at night which was not nice. There was no thermostat to control the room temp. We had to park the car quite distance away. I understand hotel had to share car park with outsiders. Thats not acceptable. At least some spaces should be reserved for disabled.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice layout and location...wrong hotel.

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Layout (substitute hotel)
Location: Nice, relaxing location with restaurants and scenic lake views.
The hotel that we stayed in was very nice, but was not the hotel we booked. We were overbooked and needed to transfer to the sister hotel 3 km from here. The other room was very nice except the air conditioning did not work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Happy traveller from London

A grand stay!

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very reasonable rates for an unforgettable stay in a grand old hotel of a bygone era set in a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Brisbane

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Location and old world feel. Views from roof top terrace must be one of best on lake. . Peaceful place to relax and enjoy a drink or a quiet read.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Belliago and Verenna are beautiful towns to visit. Easy access on ferries and boats every half hour. Lugano also close by if have access to car.
Amazing location, beautiful terrace in perfect situation. Easy access to main areas of central lake. Helpful staff. Beautiful grand old 4 star hotel. Perfect for price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John from Cambridge

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent service and accommodation from the moment we arrived (for a three night stay) through to our departure. Ideal location for access to anywhere on Lake Como due to it's central position (opposite the beautiful village of Bellagio).