Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lillington from California

Costello Di Casiglio

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was outstanding. Restaurant was out of this world. Only complaint was that the hot tub in our room smelled horribly of stagnant water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark from Scotland

Beautiful grounds and pool

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
A real find .well priced and great scenery.lots of history in the hotel and unique castle in vg condition.
2 out of 5
by susie from Leicestershire, UK

what a disappointment.

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: pleasant grounds
Cons: reception service not very good, breakfast truly awful, loud pool party music.
Location: ok
The hotel building is interesting and the grounds very pleasant but the Receptionist did not show us to our room or offer us help with our bags on arrival. The room was very sparse, dark and not very welcoming or comfortable, although bathroom ok. Problem was there was a loud "tecno music" party on around the pool that went on all afternoon and evening with an incessant noise that could not be avoided any where in the hotel. So dinner outside, although pretty good with nice waiting staff, was ruined by the loud awful music. Breakfast was absolutely dire, worst on any trip to Italy, tinned fruit, processed orange juice, horrible rolls, nasty coffee etc, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

a beautiful place to stay if a little remote

Posted Aug 30, 2012
It is a very beautiful place to stay, it was our honeymoon so we wanted somewhere remote not too touristy to relax and the grounds are lovely. It was a trek from Milan Malpensa though. Not sure we would have booked if we had known it was tricky to get to in the evening! Beware of no buses from Erba in the evening after a certain time. Call the hotel before booking - make them check what time your last bus is or you will pay 25-40 euros for a cab from there, or from Mariano. The hotel is beautiful and ideal for a couple who want to get away and willing to pay 40 euros to go to Como and then get the ferry for Bellagio's stunning views. Also the hotel has a lovely pool and good service, though you need the english speakers to be on if you are going to get a cab booked, if you get stuck in Como late, like we did! They were helpful then, especially Stacey. The hotel room service is very dear and so is the restaurant, but that may be expected. Ask for well done if you have the beef, as Italy gives you meat much rawer than you are used to. Also, get a fixed price for taxis each time - check that they are coming as one was meant to be 20 mins, and it was an hour! The local tourist cabs are called radio taxis at the stands and they can charge a lot more than calling one from hotel. So in conclusion a beautiful place to stay if you don't mind being remote and a little cut off but want to relax by the pool etc. Get an early flight from Malpensa so that you can get there easier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lake Como area hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: The ability to go outside and walk around the perimeter and enjoy the beauty!
Location: Easy to get to surrounding areas.
what a wonderful surprise when we arrived at the hotel! We were not expecting the surrounding beautiful grounds, outside optional dining, breakfast room, outstanding views and pool. Very reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Family Christening

Posted Jul 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed at this hotel before so expected the same standards. The hotel and surrounds, pool etc were excellent with a good pool service & clean towels supplied for swimming. The hotel was very clean our beds were very comfortable but the bathroom was tired & needed a facelift, Our breakfasts were more than adequate with plenty of choice. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to my friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better for non families

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Pros: Grounds
Cons: Menu choices for children
Location: Close to Como
Lots of weddings and was very noisy with music one night going on to 01330 hours. Breakfast was good with nice staff. However, lunch and dinner menu was limited for children and expensive for the amounts they ate. Grounds of hotel were very nice. Family junior suite was large and comfortable but rather basic and dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2012 on Hotels.com