Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

No thanks

Posted Jul 23, 2014
When I walked in my room for the first time I was immediately hit with a strong odor of "old". It stunk so bad that it seemed like no one had cleaned or opened a window in there for a century. I didn't want to even eat or sleep in there. The shower head is absolutely horrible and the water goes all over the floor. Also there's a light outside the door that let's staff know when you are in/out of your room which makes me uncomfortable. I once left that light on to make it appear like I was in the room and left the do not disturb sign on the door and left for the day only to come back and find that hotel staff had entered my room. Overall I don't recommend this hotel. The location isn't bad but the quality of the rooms isn't worth the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lax

Metropole Suisse in Como

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Nicely situated on the water at the south of the lake. Old world charm, big rooms, comfortable big beds. Nice bathrooms except low water pressure makes taking a bath a lengthy experience. Good restaurant and breakfast experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Brisbane Australia

Close to ferry terminal and central to everthing

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: I would stay here again.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the room
Location: Tourist bureau is right next door. The ferry terminal is acroos the road on the lake and the starting point to enjoy all to see in Lake Como.
The hotel had old world charm but its position is its best feature. The buffet breakfast was sufficient nad the staff made it enjoyable. Evening meal wer of a higher standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by New Zealand from k

Awesome! Great location, great views, all good.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Arrived in our car, porter helped us in. Very very good all round. Exceeded expectations. A bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Towers from Australia

great location

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location with good rooms. Mine was a superior room however could hear noises from other rooms/ corridors. Advertised bed turn down service however this did not happen. Desk service (except in a couple of instances) not very warm/personlised. Buffet breakfast very average..... hot food cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Sussex

Excellent location for overnight stay.

Posted May 5, 2014
Location: A boat trip up lake Como is a must and a meal in the traditional Osteria del Gallo is recommended. No menus, just excellent freshly prepared food.
Beautiful looking hotel from the outside and an old world serene charm inside. All the staff were very efficient and helpful. Our room on the top floor was surprisingly quiet when the window was closed but when open it was fascinating to see and hear the hub bub of the piazza and lake front and watch the funicular in action until late at night. The breakfast was excellent served in an elegant restaurant with the views of the lake.The location was perfect being a few minutes from the Lago Nord station, opposite the ferries and near all the shops and cathedral.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Taskin from London

Beautiful views across the lake from room 25

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The team were great and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable and the views were stunning. We will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Montcherand from N Ireland

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was "cosy" it was hard to believe that it was the 22 square metres that we paid for. There was no view to speak of out of the small window. For a 4 star hotel we were surprised that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. When I mentioned this on another review, the hotel wrote that I should have mentioned to them about the room size. They wrote "We are sorry to read that the square metres of your room did not come up with your request. If we had known about it we would have moved you in another room". But the room size was mentioned in my confirmation of the booking so how could they not have known? I feel that we ended up paying far too much for the room and I could not recommend this hotel in terms of value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lake Como

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: I love the balcony view and confident location in town on the water and near train station...
This is my fifth stay and it has been better than ever...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nick from Chiswick, London

FANTASTIC IN ALL RESPECTS!

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Four of us stayed at this hotel for two nights last week and found it ticked all the boxes we wanted it to. It was perfectly placed, right opposite the ferry terminal and close to countless nice cafes, restaurants and shops, had secure, undercover car parking, extremely friendly & helpful staff and our rooms on the top floor all had fantastic views out over the adjacent square and the lake. I could've chosen countless other hotels but we were all totally satisfied with the Metropole Suisse and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.