Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overlooks Lake como

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff
Cons: you cannot improve perfection
Location: dependant on your own interests, the family are very happy to recommend places to go to
A Family run hotel that looks over the lake, the food was good, breakfast was typical continental, but the evening meal was a delight, but closed Tuesdays. The hotel was only a few yards from the ferry terminal and ferries ran fairly frequently around the lake. One tip I was given, having hired a car from Milan, was to take the ferry to Bellagio and go to Milan from there. A much better journey than coming from Como
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Florida

Breath taking views

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wifi was only bad thing wasn't working unless you were in hall or lobby. But Everything else was great , great family owned hotel ! Restaurant was Best we eat in central lake como , The last day they giving us help on trains and places you must see before you leave italy . Definitely recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DennisG from Pittsburgh, PA

Fantastic location, scenery, staff

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
For my brief visit, I got a comfortable and firm bed, and very clean facilities all around. It's an old building but they keep it very clean. Worst thing: I only could stay for one night because I was on the road between meetings. Being in the off season, I was the only customer in the hotel, and Andrea had to wait all day for my eventual 7:30 arrival. Andrea is a very kind and helpful guy! He recommended osso bucco and polenta (10 euros) or rissoto (14 euros) in the restaurant adjoining the hotel and I decided to try it given the positive reviews here. I saw margherita pizza on the menu and noticed a wood-fired oven, so I asked to have "a small one" for an appetizer for 3.5 euros even though a "small" wasn't on the menu. Well, boys and girls, what a fantastic meal! A full sized version would have been 4.5 euros there, but $15 in Pittsburgh and Prague. The only drawback was using regular mozzarella instead of bufalo mozzarella and there was no basil. No big deal, although they would have been nice additions. I even got tips on how to make the amazing sauce and dough myself back at home. The breakfast was amazing. I asked for hot chocolate and the next thing I know was that he was using a latte machine, infusing milk into the great hot chocolate. Then he had to break down and clean the machine. Upon leaving, he even ran out to hold the bus so I could run to the little store nearby and buy a bus ticket back to the train station. Incredible value. I will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anita from New Jersey - USA

Great stay at Hotel Riviera

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at Hotel Riviera, even though it was for only one night. The host, Andrea, was very nice and quite charming. They have a great little restaurant, with a great breakfast and wonderful dinner. The location is perfect - just wish we would have been there longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Alabama bound

Good Stay

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Great view of Lake Como, Bellagio, and a rare harvest moon.
Cons: What can be done about motorcycles and street noise? Nothing I think.
Location: The gardens at Villa Carlotta are stunning.
The staff was helpful and courteous. Adjacent restaurant/pizzeria was well run and the food good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eshields from Maryland, Usa

Great value for the price.

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very conveniently located near ferry dock and bus stop. The room was very basic but good sized and spotless. The view from the room was beautiful. There is street noise at night, may be a problem for light sleepers but I think this would be true for all the local hotels. Breakfast was very nice, but I would not recommend dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful. While not luxurious, the hotel was comfortable and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to book again! Great value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from UK

Wonderful Location

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: The location is fantastic and the staff wonderful.
Cons: A bit of modernising in the bedrooms.
Location: Walks on the promenade, close to the ferry and bus. Beautiful walks up into the hills. Boats delivered to opposite the hotel. Super restaurants
We received a fantastic welcome from the staff and they went out of their way to assist us with local information and bookings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great surprise. Pleasant stay. Good location. Very friendly staff. Room was big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great family- run hotel with amazing views

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: The family and staff - it is not a flash hotel but it is very clean, comfortable and most importantly friendly. We will return again.
Location: Griante is a good base to travel between the other towns. The ferry is a few minutes from the hotel and the Como bus stop just across the road.
Neat little hotel that get regularly updated and improved (newly renovated en suites this year). Beautiful views across the lake to Bellagio and Varenna as well as the amazing alps. There is great restaurant as part of the hotel with a garden terrace across the road for wonderful views while enjoying a meal. But the main attraction is the staff, especially Andreas. This is a hotel where the experience is from the friendly owner and his family and not just the accommodation and views. From the moment we arrived to the morning we left we felt very welcomed. An extra bonus was enjoying watching the restaurant staff dash across the busy road to the garden terrace carrying trays of food and wine without even checking the traffic. They are very confident that the traffic would stop for them but we did wonder how many staff they go through in a year!!