Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel and location.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Very happy with rooms, service and great location. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location, great breakfast, staff and clean!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel was exceptionally clean, excellent breakfast and very helpful staff.
Location: Como is beautiful with stunning views, a Cathedral, expensive shops, pavement cafes. The Fenicular and Ferry on the lake are the main activities.
A very large hotel, we upgraded to a suite which was lovely, exceptionally clean. October seemed quiet in Como. A very beautiful place, suprisingly not lots of atmosphere, but this maybe down to the fact it was October? Visited Bellagio on the ferry. Either Catamaran or Hydrofoil if you choose the fast boat...takes just over an hour. I would highly recommend this trip but Bellagio is very small so a couple of hours there is ample. The Fenicular to the top of the mountain is a must. There is a tour bus if you are unable to hike, which will take you to the light house..the walk is approx 30 mins, which was well rewarded by the view once there. Como has lots of expensive clothes shops, pavement cafes and a Cathedral. Hotel was comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly, their English was exceptional. Read lots of negative reviews on wifi, we had a 15 year old with us who used a lot, you do have to buy, but a small percentage in terms of overall holiday, and worked well. I would recommend the Junior Suite we stayed in, which was both spacious and comfortable. With three of us in the room the seating area was very welcome whilst relaxing. The hotel could not be faulted!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, magnificient views close to centre

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: near station, ferry wharf, close to walks. Ideal position
Very pleasant staff and so close to everything. Great breakfast, dining area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nr Windsor England.

Lovely period hotel, recently refurbished

Posted Oct 3, 2014
A really nice looking period hotel, did not disappoint as newly refurbished too. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly particularly, Jessica and Elisa, very professional and efficient too. The hotel very central for everything, just off the main square. Very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks like a real palace. As another reviewer mentioned, the entrance is by the side, but this is not a major issue. The hotel is very well located, just in front of the lake and close to the little ports that take you to Bellagio and other towns around the lake. I got a classic room (without a view) which was modern and neat. Breakfast included was good. The service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Great location, friendly staff, ok restaurant

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Overall we had a very nice experience at this hotel. We stayed just one night because we stayed the previous night at Albergo Terminus, which we didn't like very much. Luckily Palace Hotel is literally next door to it. My only complaint is the dinner restaurant. The ravioli is fantastic but we felt the service was extremely slow (which would have been fine if they didn't mess up my husband's risotto plate and take my dish back with it to sit under a heater). The rest of the food and wine was mediocre for a $125 tab. There was also a group of 5 very drunk people (3 of them over 55 years old) eating in the corner while talking loudly on their cell phones, swearing like sailors, and showing each other phone videos at a loud volume. This restaurant clearly comes off as quiet and romantic, especially the inside where we were, so the fact that they weren't asked to be respectful was a bit worrisome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, England

Convenient , well run hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: see above- also there is an interesting Silk Museum in Como
We spent 9 nights at the Grand Hotel, using it as a base for cruising Lake Como and visiting Milan. The location was excellent, with only 5 minutes walk to the boat landing stage and rail and bus stations. Como itself is a lovely town, with a beautiful cathedral and great cafes. The hotel staff were very professional and helpful, and room comfortable and clean (and quiet). The breakfasts were good and only occasionally service a little hectic. I would recommend the Grand to travellers who like a town location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wales Uk

Room with a view

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The close proximity to the ferry terminal for exploring the lake by boat. The bus and railway stations are also only a short walk away.
Cons: Free WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms would be an welcomed.
Location: There are many small villages on the lake to explore, each with their own charm, along with villas, churches and gardens to visit.
We stayed in room 228 on the second floor, which was recently refurbished to a high standard and had a wonderful view of Lake Como. The room was very pleasant but a little small but the view of the lake more than made up for this minor point. Breakfast was a relaxing experience with a good choice of food ranging from the usual continental options including lovely fresh fruit to bacon, sausages and eggs. Room was spotlessly cleaned every day with fresh bed linen and towels. All staff at the hotel were courteous and professional and the reception staff were extremely helpful with assisting with travel arrangements. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the area by boat, road and rail. The only minor points are the hotel does not offer free wifi or tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eanfrom Australia

Great location in Como

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great couple of nights at Palace Hotel. Stayed in a Lake View room, and view of Lake Como from our window was fantastic. Hotel facilities and service all of very hight standard. Very short stroll into central Como. Definately recommend Palace Hotel as place to stay in Como.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Lovely hotel close to all amenities.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Grandeur and setting.
Cons: Access to a bar within the hotel as the Garden Bar was not always open when a drink required - a mini bar in the room does not compensate.
Location: Fabulous location for trains, boats, funicular - great bars, eating and shopping.
Had a lovely stay for our Honeymoon - all lovely and felt very welcome.