Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great Hotel for the Price

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location was great. A very relaxing atmosphere in a scenic part of Italy
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: It's a couple miles from central Como but there's another small town within close walking distance next to the lake that's worth a visit.
This hotel is in a beautiful location and for the price is truly unbeatable. We enjoyed resting by the pool, eating in their outdoor restaurant and walking to the nearby town next to the lake. I wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from genève

Personnel très professionnel, hôtel à recommander!

Posted May 17, 2015
Lors de ce long séjour en famille avec enfant en bas âge, nous avons passé un excellent séjour. Hotel agréable, propre et bien entretenu. Piscine bien entretenue, très bonne nourriture de qualité, idéalement situé et calme ainsi que le personnel très accueillant et service irréprochable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex UK

Smart hotel but watch out for corporate events

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Pool and gardens, comfort of a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. 10 min walk into Cernobbio where there are nice restaurants
Cons: Pool was freezing! Our stay clashed with a 100 strong corporate event which was overwhelming at breakfast and caused chaos when they all checked out.
Location: Cernobbio is a 10 min walk. Como is a 40 min walk. Cernobbio is very pleasant evening stroll for food and gelato
Good stylish hotel with nice rooms. Lovely gardens, although traffic noise is evident. Pool looks lovely but it was too cold to be in for any length of time. The corporate event overwhelmed the hotel which meant breakfast was every man for himself and when they all checked out, it meant our room was not made up until 18:00 at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ungemuetliches Licht

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Restaurant und Bar neu, aber durch schlechtes Licht total ungemuetlich
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stefanie from N

Schönes Hotel in guter, ruhiger Lage

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Sehr guter Kurzurlaub. Komfortable Zimmer und ein Missverständnis des Buchungsportanes wurde freundlich und zur vollsten Zufriedenheit behoben. Freundliches Personal und für Italien gutes Frühstück.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeane from Naters

Mixed experience

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
When we initially booked, we were not aware that the Grand Hotel Como had been bought by the Sherton. We enjoy staying at true historical hotels with real wood furniture and charm. Hence, we were surprised to have new, laminated wood furniture in the room which had been recently renovated. The bed was outstanding - a real pleasure. However, the room smelled of fresh paint or glue (perhaps used to glue down the new flooring) and so we had to keep the balcony door open when in the room. Additionally, the room's thermostat was not functioning properly and the hotel staff did not seem to notice that it was 28°C/29°C in the room. Not being able to remedy the situation with the thermostat, we left the balcony door open overnight. We asked that someone check it the next morning, but the room was still so hot upon our return in the evening. So we asked for it to be checked again. We were told to shut off the heat but that was not the problem since we already had done that. A porter came to our room and fiddled a bit with the thermostat, then said that the air conditioning hadn't been turned on yet. Consequently, we slept every evening with the balcony door open. We had also chosen the hotel as we had hoped to dine in the KK Ristorante which was highly recommended, but that was not open and so we went to Como each evening to dine. Breakfast at the hotel was a delight, especially the fresh fruit and yogurts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Four Marks, Hampshire

Very highly recommended

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
We had two separate stays in this hotel, one stay before we headed round the lake and the second night was at the end of the holiday. Wonderful hotel, great service and very nice breakfast. The room was very warm as they hadn't yet turned on the a/c, however, it was unseasonably warm. We ate at the restaurant and it was very nice indeed, although the price is higher than other restaurants nearby. All in all, highly recommended and the service really was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by matan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Gemäss Erwartungen, Frühstück mit Abstrichen

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
Wir haben nur eine Nacht im Grand Hotel verbracht. Es war alles wie erwartet, keine Überraschungen. Sauber, zweckmässig und preislich korrekt. Beim Frühstück war die Fleischauswahl eher bescheiden, kein Schinken oder Aufschnitt, nur Salami. Das Ei im Eierbecher war hart gekocht.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels