Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rachel H. from USA

Lovely, grand hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed an extra day as the weather was especially nice. The grounds are lovely and the pool is very nice. We were able to sit outside for dinner one night, right by the lake. Most of the guests were British but I was told that was changing. Very nice place to relax for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dianne from Essex

The name describes the hotel well....Grand

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: The old charm of the hotel and the setting, which is right on the lake. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful.
Cons: Tea and coffee in the rooms.
Location: Gardone is limited in things to do. Salo good for shopping. Hotel Diana near the Grand Hotel Gardone excellent for a meal, home cooking.
Beautiful old hotel, bit tired in places, but added to the character. Stunning setting, friendly staff and good food, if not a tad expensive as were the drinks. We chose the wrong time of the year to go, first week in October. Not only because the weather was dreadful from the time we landed to the time we left, prohibiting us from doing very much, the shops were beginning to close for the winter, the boat timetables changed which meant sailing were limited, in fact the Grand where we stayed was to close in 2 weeks, not to reopen until April next year.Definitely go in the summer months.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from East Sussex, UK

Surpassed our expectations!

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Everything!! Location, bedroom, breakfast, atmosphere, gardens, staff . . .It is also very convenient for the ferry departure point and restaurants.
Cons: Only, maybe, a little more information in the room.
Location: The ferry departure point is next door providing easy access to other parts of the lake. There's a promenade and Botanical Gardens
We had read reviews of this hotel before leaving and expected it to be a little faded and tired based on these. In reality, it certainly surpassed our expectations. We cannot fault anything about the hotel - breakfast, bedroom, location, staff, all perfect! We had requested a room on the 3rd floor, following advice in a review, and would recommend this - some on the first and second floors have their view blocked by trees. I think we must have had a refurbished bedroom, as there was nothing tired or faded about it. It was spacious, attractively furnished, lovely bathroom, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and fantastic views. Breakfast was a generous buffet served in attractive surroundings on the terrace. There is a very large and comfortable lounge area downstairs and a very attractive terrace and gardens. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on this - there are two very nice restaurants minutes away. We didn't use the pool area either. The hotel staff were both efficient and friendly and this sums up the whole experience. The only downside is the transfer from the airport, as there is no railway near - we booked a private transfer which was expensive but worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan

Nice hotel right on Lake Garda

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Staff. The bar was very nice with excellent professional waiters.
Cons: In room wifi was not available. This was disappointing.
Location: Isola Garda trip was nice. Vittoriale degli Italiani and botanical gardens within walking distance
Pleasing hotel for the price.Breakfast was nice and you could eat outdoors,weather permitting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from New York NY

Wonderful old style resort hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2013
We love this "grand" hotel especially lakefront location and lovely garden and deck over the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top Joel in Gardone

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Good hoel in a perfect spot
Cons: Some of the furnishings are a little tired but this did not detract from the experience
Location: Great spot, lakeside is great and Gardone Soprano a revelation
This was our first stay at The Grand Hotel in Gardone and we were not disappointed. We asked for a room with a leek view and what a view, just superb, Staff are great, service for us was flawless, good facilities and a really good pool area. It will become one of our favourite places I am sure with the added bonus of some nice restaurants nearby. If you want to spoil yourself go to Gabriellino just along the lakeside, the food is just superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Suzanne from Sydney

Grand old world style in stunning location!

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location and beautiful hotel. Rooms and breakfast magnificent .Hotel patrons mostly retirees so I was a bit out of place ! Room clean and every need met !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sharon

great location right next to lake garda

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: location, private parking and nice clean out door pool area
Location: lots of restaurants within easy walking distance
just a one night stay whilst travelling to Venice, easy to find and staff very friendly would have been nicer to stay longer, however quiet pricey for only one night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location.

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: The location and decor.
Cons: The outdoor pool closed at 7pm but it was still daylight and we would have enjoyed a dip after a hot day of sightseeing. We swam in the lake instead!
Location: Gardone Riviera is one of the smaller and quieter venues on the lake, but it's nice to stay there and visit the busier places during the day.
My husband and I have just returned from our first visit to Lake Garda. The lake and mountains are beautiful and this hotel made the holiday perfect. The hotel and surrounding area are peaceful so we slept well and were able to really enjoy sitting on the balcony of our large bedroom and around the pretty hotel grounds. All the staff at the hotel are smiley, happy and helpful at all times. The breakfast buffet is well laid out and there is more than enough delicious food to choose from - we booked bed and breakfast only rather than half board. We are already planning our next stay here!