Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

A short break

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The food was surprisingly good, plenty of breakfast choices and the restaurant meals in the evening were well presented and and delicious.
Cons: Wifi is only available in the public rooms which is a bit behind the times. Amplified live music in the bar in the evenings was too loud
Location: Located right on the lakeside, the village only a short 10 minute walk (uphill). Easy access to ferry embarkation point outside hotel.
I stayed at the Grand Hotel for a short break in early September, joining my father and sister. The hotel is not the style of hotel I would normally choose, being larger and more traditional than I like. However, this was booked not for me but for my elderly father's enjoyment and for him, and guests of his age, it is ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great hotel in a beautiful lakeside location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Everything. The staff were particularly helpful - reception, restaurant, chamber maids, porters, pool attendants and bar staff - all excellent.
Cons: Some rooms are a little tired with quirky doors, but this is a very minor comment and would in no way prevent us going again
Location: There are boats and buses very nearby for travelling to other parts of the lake. There are also places to visit on foot and plenty of bars nearby
The public rooms and restaurants have spectacular views out over the lake. Breakfast on the veranda in the sunshine looking over the water will be an enduring memory. Swimming is either in the hotel pool or straight into the Lake, and there is a Wellness Centre with a steam room and sauna. Beauty treatments can be booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cirencester, Gloucestershire, UK

Perfect location. The lake looked stunning

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Its period feel
Cons: I wouldn't change much at all.
Location: Boat trips on the lake is a must as it a visit to the nearby gardens
Most things about the hotel were excellent. The resort and location are perfect. Food was fine ( We ate in the a' la carte restaurant) Breakfast choice and quality were very good. Staff helpful and friendly. The room was the only quibble - it was smaller than we expected for the price but being a period hotel it is what it is and the charm compensates for its smallness
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moree, NSW, Australia

Great hotel on Lake Garda.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Its located well, not too busy and yet not isolated. Gadens are spectacular and you really feel indulged.Ferry dock, shops,restuarants just next door.
Cons: Not at all
Location: Located on the Lake. Restaurants are a moment away, shops to explore. Take the community train to the higher parts. Enjoy a Lake tour.
Grand Hotel surpassed our expectations. Grand it is, with beautiful facilities and a grand environment. We had a beautiful room with a Lake view and an external verandah. The bathroom facilities were amazing with plenty of space compared to many European hotels. The bed was a king and the best mattress we experienced the whole tour, like sinking into a dream.Staff were wonderful, service was impeccable from start to finish. The gardens in the hotel are so beautiful, it was like being in another world. The breakfast buffet is the best I experienced in Italy.The ferry dock is just outside the hotel with access to most main routes and tours. The hotel is situated on Gardone Riveria, a small community, but close to everything and certainly not lacking in things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Top location,very nice breakfast however rooms are a bit basic.........great view makes up for it.....make sure you get a lake view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

ANOTHER wonderful holiday in this beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: ALL the staff smile all the time and can't do enough to help you. The location is perfect and the gardens are fabulous. There is an air of 'peace'.
Cons: I honestly can't think of anything I would change. Changing something might spoil it!
Location: Lakeside location is beautiful. The ferry-stop is by the hotel entrance so it's very easy to catch one of the ferries (after reading the timetable!).
Last summer we had a lovely holiday based in this beautiful and genteel hotel (and wrote an Expedia review) so we decided to return this summer. We have recently enjoyed another fabulous holiday (and were even unexpectedly upgraded to a suite on arrival).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities, food and helpful staff
Location: Town is in nice location on the wider part of lake Garda. One or two attractions but easy to travel by ferry to other parts of the lake
Hotel right on lakeside in quiet town, all rooms have balcony and nice view of lake, better choose 2nd floor or above to benefit. Rooms were very clean and well decorated. Breakfast very good. Did not eat in everyday restaurant but did eat twice in their a la carte restaurant open to the lake; on both occasions service, wine and food could not have been better. Plenty of other tourist restaurants in town. Small outdoor pool but most people swam in lake (Summer only). Staff throughout our stay were always cheerful, friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Barnet (Herts)

A Fairytale location right on the Lakeside

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel is the oldest in the area and the common rooms and furnishings exude opulence,reflecting a time gone by. The staff were very friendly .
Cons: Some parts of the hotel look tired and could do with a makeover
Location: already covered
Our first impression was utter amazement at the location.The Hotel fronted onto the lake and the first thing we did after checking in (about 3.30 pm) was to get a drink and have a bite to eat at the lakeside.....sheer bliss! Our room had a balcony which overlooked the lake and we enjoyed watching the ferries and the various small craft on the water.We were on B& B basis and so apart from breakfast (which was pretty comprehensive although there weren`t too many hot dishes) we eat out every evening.There were several small restaurants in the vicinity and we always found something to our liking.The jetty for the ferry was only 25 yards from the hotel`s sde entrance and we made a couple of trips,one of which lasted two hours so we passed by several of the other resorts.Most days the weather was glorious but we did experience a few days where we had heavy rain for an hour or so followed by sunshine or vice versa. All in all we spent a most enjoyable time; our only niggle was the inordinately long walk to our room which entailed traversing a"corridoor" at least 35 yards long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gerrards Cross

Wonderful.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Just simply amazing. The location was great. The food was delic and the staff very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Great for a special occasion

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location , views, staff , service , everything excellent !
Cons: Maybe refresh some of the rooms
Location: Nice restaurants and walks , boat services right on your doorstep to explore other parts of the lake ( it's huge ) , I would recommend a hire car
We have just got back from a wonderful 5day stay for our 25 th wedding anniversary , had a great time staff are really friendly and helpful they had champagne on ice for us in our room and we had a lake view which is a MUST otherwise you will be facing the road (we paid the extra and glad we did) The area around the hotel is very nice for an evening stroll and there are restaurants overlooking the lake which are reasonably priced For our anniversary date / dinner we had it in the al-a-carte restaurant in the hotel which was very special , would recommend overall the place isn't cheap so be prepared ! We hired a car and visited Venice (amazing ) and Milan (ok) they are in opposite directions and are about a two hour drive from the hotel ( take a sat nav )