Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It's position overlooking the lake is fabulous. The proximity to the boat station was also a bonus, only a minute away!
Cons: Could have done with some fresh fruit at breakfast, but that's about it.
Location: The Botanical Gardens and Vitorriale in Gardone are both definitely worth a visit. The boats make it very easy to get to lots of other villages.
We had a wonderful holiday at the Hotel du Lac. Would certainly go back again. We had no problems with anything in the hotel. Staff were always helpful if asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, right by lake Garda frontage.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Very good staff and comfortable room. Great location and excellent value for money. Gardone very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Harpenden

Excellent Views of the Lake From Our Room

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: The view! The proximity to shops bars restaurants and transport.
Cons: The shower head was awful and needs replacing! The bathroom was tiny! The light in the lift needs fixing.
We paid the extra supplement for the balcony with lake view and boy was it worth it. The location was fantastic with the mini road train and the ferry service within 1 minute walk! We ate at all the local and and the food, ambience and service were good at all of them. There's a beach 5 minutes walk from the hotel that has a pool and access to the lake for swimming. It does however cost 5 euros to enter and a further 6 euros for a sunbed. The biggest negative was the transfer from Verona to Gardone Riviera it's 120 euro trip each way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chloe H from Cambridge, UK

Really friendly staff and a great location

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Restaurant was really nice. 20% off for everyone staying at the hotel was a nice touch
Cons: The juice they offered at breakfast was dispensed from a machine, which didnt taste great.
Location: Perfect for a relaxing holiday. Beautiful views of the lake.
Staff were really helpful and friendly, breakfast was pleasant and the restaurant food was delicious! The hotel is situated right next to the lake surrounded by lovely shops and restaurants, the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Very happy with the service we received whilst staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robin n Dotti from England, UK

lovely peaceful spot

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: views and food quiet at night
Cons: lack of electrical sockets
Location: convenient for transport links
friendly hotel ideally placed for bus and ferry clean tidy rooms with a good restaurant downstairs
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was very small

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Good food
Food was good staff helpful. Needs updating. Room very small
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Living in the past

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
One of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The manager was totally unfriendly and did not even come across to take our key or say goodbye as we were leaving. Plumbing very old, we had an infestation of ants in our bed, yes, in the bed and we were not offered a change of room, we were simply told, 'well the hotel is 100 years old'!!!! Regarding the wifi, I asked how to log on and was told 'you do something'!!!! Breakfast was very cheap and basic. Coffee machine was awful, what happened to fresh, strong Italian coffee? The hotel trades on its view which is good but room was so small we had to manoeuvre past the bed to get to the balcony, to see the view! Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from San Mateo, CA, USA

Could hardly ask for more.

Posted Oct 20, 2012
Pros: View and location
Cons: Perhaps the tiny bathroom but the pluses outweight its shortcoming.
Location: Perfect for all necessities!
We had read the reviews of the hotel and wondered what it would really be like. What a pleasant surprise that we found how much we liked it. The price was so reasonable compared to 2 other high priced hotels nearby where we had previously stayed. Of course this was less luxurious but the view was better here. We had room 303 right on the front looking out directly to the lake and above the promenade with a nice balcony (table and 2 chairs). The staff were nice , some more efficient than others. The breakfast was good by Italian standards with cold meat, cheese, yogurt, cereals, juice and coffee machines and some pastries. A coupon was given for a 10% discount at the hotel restaurant or their neighbor restaurant and the food was good and moderately priced. Wine in a caraffe also reasonably priced. However,please note that the bathroom was the absolute smallest we had ever seen in our years of traveling in Europe staying in 2* and 3* hotels. It had a window over the washbasin with a lovely view of the lake and actually the shower was an OK size but overweight travelers beware of the overall size of the room. It was amazing. We would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect for the boat dock (watch the landings from the balcony) and the bus stop for the north/south buses (Brescia to Garda del Riva) is just a few steps away. There's a tourist office two doors down for bus or boat tickets. We were more than satisfied with this selection..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad for those on a budget

Posted Oct 1, 2012
For the money we paid it was great, but if you have a bit more to spend then you could do a lot better. Location is perfect, right by the lakeside and next to a ferry port to get you across the lake to visit the other towns/resorts. We booked a double room but had 2 single beds pushed together, both made up as singles! Breakfast wasn't great, (nothing fresh, just tinned fruit, warmed-up croissants with jam in the middle, cereal etc) but it was cheap, so it just depends what you're willing to spend really. All in all, it was certainly worth the money but no more than that. PS The website said that the hotel would arrange a transfer from the airport, but when I emailed them they said they couldn't.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for a budget hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Room was quite small. Bed wasn't so comfortable, pillows were flat and quite hard, some lights weren't working in the room. Aircondidtioning was making a lot of noise Staff was very friendly and helpfull