Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S & J Tours

Salo the jewel of Lake Garda

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: superb location, friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: none
Location: superb location
We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful. The quickest check in in the history of check ins - 1 minute - great ! This is a small, comfortable hotel with a good local feel to it in a superb location. In our view Salo was the best location we saw on Lake Garda and the hotel is only a few metres away from the lake edge and the ferry stop. The views over the lake are superb this in our view elevates this hotel above other perhaps more expensive hotels. Salo is quieter than other resorts but has a style and class of its own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2011
The hotel is in a lovely position on Lake Garda and convienently situated for all amenities. Our room on the 2nd floor was wonderful with a lake view. My only complaints were about the food. The breakfast was the same format for the whole week we stayed there - no variation at all. The only cooked breakfast offered was scrambled or boiled egg. We only had dinner one night in the hotel but it was so expensive for so little food we didn't bother again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Duomo: great location

Posted Aug 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were disappointed to find that the WIFI was not free; in fact the most expensive yet. Your ad claimed free WIFI. But we had a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Barling Magna, Essex

For tranquility and a perfect break visit Hotel Duomo, Salo, Garda Lake Region

Posted Jun 25, 2011
The Hotel is quite small with just 34 rooms. Pay the extra for a lake view and you will get a small balcony to sit and gaze over the lake, very recommended. The restaurant has a special price for guests for a 3 course meal. You actually get 5 courses as the chef always gives a sample starter dish and a sample dessert dish which are usually quite special and beautifully presented. The staff are excellent, attentive and wanting to please. Salo, for us, was the best place to stay. Much quieter than Garda, Limone and Gardonne which we visited via the many lake boats which incidentally can be caught just 50 yards from the hotel. Very recommended hotel and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Retired couple from Easingwold, UK

Excellent start to holiday

Posted Jun 23, 2011
Very good position, pleasant esplanade then Lake Garda. Good food. Very friendly and helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is not a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
The location of the Hotel Il Duomo is awesome, but there are several inconveniences. If you have a car it is not easy getting to the hotel, and there is no parking at the hotel. They have parking arrange somewhere else, and the place is not around the corner... The room we stayed was very small, we couldnt move around. This is not expected from a 4 star hotel, neither is that you dont have enough toiltries in the bathroom. The bathroom felt like a small closet ( I think it was...) In all, I would not recommend this hotel as it is not a 4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Satisfied customer

Posted Aug 2, 2010
Perfect location, helpful staff, lovely views - worth extra for a lake-view room. Food excellent but don't go too early for breakfast or coffee is overlooked. The rooms are super but no complementary water or papers. Exquisite evening meals in restaurant, there was meant to be a set menu for 25 euro, but it wasn't offered; however service and food highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton, United kingdom

Idyllic location

Posted Jul 21, 2010
A good well-appointed hotel in an excellent location close to all facilities in Salo. We had a room overlooking the Lake that was stunning. Food was good and the wine list was particularly impressive. A very knowledgeable waiter gave excellent advice on wine selection. Free loan of a bicycle was an added bonus. Only slight drawback was the absence of a swimming pool which was an issue given that we could not easily swim in the Lake, despite the fact that it was on the doorstep!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CT

Hotel Duomo

Posted Nov 20, 2009
The price was good. The rooms were okay. Clean but needed some updating. The view was awesome. Air conditioning could have been a little bit more powerful. The free breakfast in the morning was just enough and was good. Make sure if you stay here to get a lake view room. We did not spend enoough time there so it didnt matter all that much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Perfect setting

Posted Sep 27, 2009
You couldn't fault the setting of this hotel right on the lake with beautifull views but disapointed with the hotel as I wouldn't rate this as a four star hotel.Although the rooom was clean and the service good I was very disappointed with the room and the bathroom all very dated and very small.Salo is beautiful but small so after a couple of days you have done it all.Had a car so could travel out which was a lot cheaper than the ferry.With a good revamp it could be splendid.