Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Good location close to the lake.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff are pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect with just a short 10-12 minute walk to the lake and all the amenities.
Cons: While the hotel is clean and the staff helpful, the hotel decor itself is very dated and is in need of an upgrade. Wifi should be free to guests.
Location: Garda is full of restaurants, small quaint shops, pedestrian streets, lovely ice cream shops, with plenty of water sports to avail of.
Myself and my husband had a lovely enjoyable stay in Garda, Italy. The scenery is spectacular, the resort spotless and the food fab. This was our second visit to Garda in the last 3 years and it did not disappoint the second time around - we stayed for 5 nights. Our balcony looked out over the pool which was pleasant but some of the rooms look out the back onto other buildings. Wifi is available to buy from reception at a daily rate and can only be used in the reception or bar area but not upstairs in the rooms. I don't think I will ever tire of the beauty of Garda.
2 out of 5
by Lindafrom London, UK

Central but falls short of usual 3 star standards

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Balcony and view
Cons: Breakfast experience and lack of facilities in the room
Location: very good- central for town and lake
To be fair, I'll mention the positives first. The hotel is in a good fairly central location, only about 5-10 minute stroll to the town centre and lake. Our room had a large balcony with a lovely view over the lake and mountains and it got the sun all afternoon till about 8pm. The bar was quite good with friendly staff and reasonable prices. On the down-side, the room was small and very basic. The bathroom in particular was tiny with a walk-in shower squeezed in. The towels provided were of poor quality,more like tea-towels! They were changed daily though.. There are no facilities to hire a fridge which was disappointing. Also, the air-con is not turned on till July and our second week the temperatures were in the 30s so it was uncomfortable especially at night when you couldnt leave the windows open.. The worst experience was probably the dining room. We had booked breakfast only. Most of the clientele were on half-board basis. If you were on b&b you did not know where to sit and we were frequently told to move (none too politely by the waiting staff!) The tables were overcrowded and you had to weave in and out to get to the buffet tables. The food was adequate, but the juice was watered down and the yoghurt was thin and runny.. There was no organisation.Also, there was only one lift serving a quite large hotel so you frequently had to wait ages for it. One day it broke down altogether so we had to walk up 3 flights. In all, I wouldn't return to this hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big bustling hotel serving big breakfasts

Posted Aug 16, 2012
This is a very large hotel next door to another associated hotel, so the car parks, the dining rooms and all the public areas are very busy and crowded. But it has two large swimming pools, which were sufficient even in mid August, and you can use the huge parking area of the adjacent hotel if the smaller one at Le Palme is full. The "eat as much as you like" buffet breakfasts were pretty good, going well beyond the scanty continental breakfast you fear, and we found all of the staff, from receptionists to waiters and cleaners, were friendly and helpful. The lake and mountain views are fantastic. This hotel was previously rated 2/5 which seems rather low based on our experience, but maybe our 4 has pushed it up a bit. It's not a luxury hotel, but you could do a lot worse.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do NOT stay here

Posted Aug 3, 2012
Absolutely terrible customer service,Absolutely terrible customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hannahfrom Cornwall, UK

Cheap and Extremely Cheerful - I Loved It

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: The fab view from the balcony and chilling on the comfortable bed in the air-conditioned room after a hard day of being a tourist!
Cons: Only one electrical socket fitted my European adapter - the one in the bathroom! The entertainment they had some evenings was a bit cringeworthy!
Location: It's in the beautiful town of Garda, is on the town's main road, has fab views and is a five minute walk from just about everything in the town!
With Hotel Palme, you get what you pay for. At the cheaper end of the spectrum, it's an extremely clean hotel, the staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms are basic and perhaps a little tired, but comfortable (there is air conditioning that turns on as long as the balcony doors are closed and an electronic safe you can use free of charge#. They are spotlessly clean, and all used towels are replaced daily. If you are lucky enough, there are some rooms with spectacular views of the surrounding hills/mountains, but if not, the gardens are still pretty nice. There are two pools, which are cleaned every morning and are really quite lovely, with plenty of sun loungers around the edge. There are two cafes, one which is attached to the lobby and bar area, and another by the second pool which has a small menu of snack-type food #paninis, pizzas etc). It is close to the bus station, and a five-minute walk from Garda town and the lake. I was impressed with the selection of breakfast foods, which although they are the same daily, include a wide variety of continental options, as well as more traditional cereals, breads, fruits, yoghurt, eggs and bacon etc. The breakfast juice they served was yummy. Overall, I'd say that I had a fantastic experience at Hotel Palme - while it is basic in terms of rooms, if you are the sort who just needs a comfortable, clean, safe place to put your head down at the end of a busy day's sightseeing, it is absolutely ideal and I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Faversham, kent, United Kingdom

excellent all round hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: balcony and pool
excellent room space, the in room safe very handy. The pool is massive and has plenty of loungers. Balconies are spacious and the lake is only a couple of minutes walk downhill away
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Chorley, Lancashire

Posted May 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
Ideally situated short walk from centre. Rooms clean and comfortable. Pleasant balcony. Breakfast good. Staff extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea , Wales

Hotel La Palme, a very good no frills Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2010 on Hotels.com
A really good location being just a short walk from the centre. Large size bedroom with adequate storage space.The room was kept spotlessly clean by the maid.Excellent choice for breakfast and good quality food. The hotel did offer evening meals but we we were on a B&B basis. The room had air conditioning but unfortunately it was on a central timer and therefore was not switched on in the mornings which was a little bit inconvenient as we had very hot weather when we stayed there. There were two swimming pools. one shallow for children and a deeper one for adults.I was a little surprsied that there were no depth markings on the adult pool ( did not look at childrens pool for markings). I am 5ft 6 in tall and could not touch the bottom of the pool at either end.Having said all that, I would definately stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen UK

Unlikely to return

Posted Aug 24, 2009
Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is in a good location,the restaurants and bars of Garda are within easy walking distance but it is in need of a revamp. Although clean, the rooms and pool area look very tired.