Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by traveller from Gerrards Cross

Great Location

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had amazing views of the lake from our balcony. The hotel and our room was clean and staff very helpful and friendly. The decor seems a bit outdated but not a problem as such. Wi-fi was only available for 4 hours a day and only for 1 device. Breakfast was ok. Lots of sweet cakes, fruit and pastries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catherine

Great location with super views of Lake Garda

Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel Ideal is in a perfect location to enjoy Sirmione. Very peaceful yet only 5 minutes away from the charming busy town. The pool and garden area is lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by john

Nice but expected more

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel beatiful location but for 170 a night I expected alot more in terms of service there was only one english speaking person in the whole hotel and if she wasnt there no one could understand you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick and Alex from Ashford, Kent, UK

hotel with the view

Posted Jul 2, 2012
Pros: view and pool
Cons: Service
Location: Excellent
On our arrival the reception lady was very friendly, she showed us our room which turned out to be the best one with the most amazing view. Overall pool was excellent and location was probably the best in Sirmione old town. The only disappointment was the weak airconditioning and rather hard bed. Staff were helpful, but not very attentive. if you wanted something you had to go and get it yourself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oslo, Norway

Hotel Ideal, Sermione

Posted Oct 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
Wonderful - to be recommended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bad service & not worth the price

Posted Sep 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
We booked 2 rooms through Hotels.com around 2-3 months before we arrived. During the booking process, we contacted Hotels.com customer service to confirm with hotel Ideal staff about getting a cot for our baby in one of the rooms. It was confirmed with the staff member and we went ahead with the booking. 2 weeks before we left, we contacted Hotels.com to confirm about the hotel's complimentary pick up service from train stations in Italy. Hotel Ideal's website stated that they offer such service, but there's no mention of it on Hotels.com. Hotels.com representative confirmed that it was available and advised us to email or call the hotel once we know when we'd be arriving at the station. When we left Milan for Sirmione, we called the hotel to advise them that we'd be arriving in Dezensano station in 1 hour and asked for a pick up. To our surprise, the person who picked up the phone (the owner) did not speak any English. We had to ask an Italian to speak to her to explain about our request, which she said she couldnt do anything about. Basically we were left stranded at Dezensano station, and no pick up car was coming. There was also no taxi at the station. After waiting for about 20mins, we decided to buy bus tickets and catch a bus instead. However, there was no bus going to Sirmione for another 2 hours or so. We were very upset as we travelled with a few luggages and a baby. Finally a taxi arrived and we caught that to the hotel. There was no consolation offered to us in regards to the mix up with pick up, which doesnt reflect well on the owner. Hotel is located at the end of the tip of Sirmione, so it has a beautiful view of the lake. However, the quality of the rooms & decorations are very basic. Definitely not worth the price. We didnt think that the staff were friendly either. The next morning we spoke to the only english speaking staff, which is the receptionist that only works from 9-5. We asked her about the mishaps on pickup. She told us that she was waiting for us to call her all day, but she left at 5pm and the owners dont speak english. We called the hotel at 5:30pm. We dont see that as a valid point, as she could've left a message about us before she left. She basically came up with a lot of excuses. Anyway, apart from that, we then found out that they charge a hefty price for the 'complimentary' pick up and the baby cot. We told her that Hotels.com never mentioned it and nothing was stated on any of the websites. Those websites have now been rectified. After arguing with us for a few minutes, we told her to take the cot away. However, the owner decided to give it for us free of charge at the end. No free internet either. Breakfast was not bad. There were lots of cakes & pastries. Bread rolls with lotsa different variety of jams. No hot food. In summary, very bad experience with this hotel, and it's way too pricey for its quality & lack of service. The experience had given a bad start to our holiday. We won't stay here again nor recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UK

Paradise

Posted Jun 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 3 nights and we had an amazing experience! Lake Garda is so beautiful and well worth a visit. the hotel is right on the tip of the peninsula with steps leading down to a little exclusive lake side beach where the waters are crystal clear. hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. It was very clean and lucky for us we had wonderful weather to top it off. we visited the ruins (which the hotel overlooked!), hired a speedboat, ate amazing Italian food and drank plenty of prosecco. hotel food was gorgeous too. Fully recommend Hotel Ideal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2011 on Hotels.com