Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helena from Ireland

My Stay

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location: Village of Limone is a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Boats to other villages from here. Check boat times carefully!
I had a wonderful stay. Staff were all terrific. Hotel is up a steep hill, and there are a lot of steps if your room is up high. It was no problem for me, I enjoyed it all.
3 out of 5
by Ashley from London, UK

Adequate hotel-nothing special other than the view

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: inadequate swimming pool facilities
Location: well positioned for exploring the various villages and swimming in the lake
Hotel has a good location with outstanding views. It is a very large hotel, although spread out so one does not feel how big it actually is. The hotel's facilities, especially the swimming pool area are not large enough to accommodate the volume of guests. Thankfully, the lake is not very far away and was nicer to swim in than the pool. Strange bath towels are provided and no towels for swimming. The hotel décor is very dated and it would be good if the staff smiled more. Overall the hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs, but I would prefer a smaller more personal hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macclesfield, Cheshire, UK

Overall, good hotel with amazing views.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The elevated position over the town which gave amazing views.
Cons: Uncomfortable camp bed and very steep drive.
Location: Not for the weak or impared walkers due to the drive but views are great. We enjoyed the walk into town though.
Family (45,44,18,17) On arrival at La Limonaia hotel, reception is upstairs and badly signed which is confusing. The Staff were friendly and helpful except for the misery in the hotel shop which was annoyingly closed for most of the day. It is a large, spread out hotel where you will need to walk up steps, across bridges etc to get to your rooms if not in the main block. The rooms are basic but are cleaned every day with new towels provided. Our room had two single beds and a fold out camp bed which was very uncomfortable. However, the view from the balcony more than made up for it. ( Breathtaking, not all rooms have a good view. ) The breakfast was included and between 7:30/9:30 which was a typical continental of sliced salami, cheese and meats, all types of egg, frankfurter sausage and mountains of cake for the German guests which are about 85% of the total staying. The dining rooms and the pizzeria restaurant are fine with fantastic views over the lake from its elevated position over the town which is about 15-20 minutes walk away when you get down the long, steep hotel drive which is a killer when you are walking up later, my wife usually stopped twice on the way up for a rest. There is a minibus service to the town and back for 1 euro each way if you are lazy or unable to walk far. There is wi-fi available for a daily fee but only near reception and the dining room, kids used there phone providers, Cheaper. No printers or pc's available for boarding passes. Can in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Paper thin walls

Posted Oct 15, 2010 on Hotels.com
The setting is beautiful (perched on a steep hill overlooking Lake Garda and the town) but the walls were so thin, you could literally hear talking in the next room. When we were there, about the only other guests were busload after busload of German senior citizens on tours. Parking is a problem also, especially considering most guests arrived on buses and it was still tight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Very dissapointing

Posted Aug 24, 2010
Extremely poor service by the staff on site. They were totally dissinterested in our experience of the hotel. The sink had no plus, the bidday was blocked, we had 1 sachet of soap and one of shampoo for the week. In spite of booking a room with a bath and a double bed, I received a room with 3 single beds and a shower. The room was not cleaned for 3 days, but the beds were made. When the ceiling started leaking due to the rain and I asked to change rooms, I had to move my cases myself because the manager did not want to upset the porter by asking him to do it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Beautiful Lake

Posted Aug 17, 2010
Before traveling to Italy on our honeymoon we read countless reviews and vowed to share what we learned with others. The main perk of this hotel was the amazing view from the room. The hotel is set up higher than other hotels and set into the mountain side. This allows 95% of the hotel rooms on the property to have beautiful views. The wall of the hotel room is all glass to allow you to see the lake from in the room in addition to from your shared balcony. The room itself was ok. Clean and had A/C but nothing special. The downside of the hotel is that although it is only about a 15-20 min walk from downtown Limone it is probally the furthest hotel in the city and a lot of uphill walking to return to your room. You walk up probally about 3-4 hills before the steep and I meen steep climb up the driveway to the hotel itself. We had read other reviews about this climb and thought it was probally ment to warn the elderly and out of shape. We are 2 29yr old in good shape and let me tell you that this hill is no joke. Especially with luggage!! The north end of the lake is absoutly breathtaking and one of our favorite stops on our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Bucharest

Great vieuw, medium comfort

Posted Jun 2, 2010
Good things: the vieuw is amazing, rooms are big, breakfast ok, the staf was verry kind Things I totally disliked: lousy towels and blankets, dusty couch; restaurant closes at 10 pm and the only restaurant that is open till 12 pm is 2 km further
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lots of character but has it's niggles

Posted Oct 7, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel is great value and after all I never go away planning on spending much time in the hotel so it's fairly easy to forgive the things that may be less than perfect. The Hotel is on a STEEP hill so not ideal for the less mobile. On first impressions it is quite quaint in that it is set into the hill side and has a certain charm what with the timber frame and climbing flora. However the biggest grumble I had was that the timber framing makes for noisy floor boards when you are trying to sleep. Similar noise issues when people are in the shower/ flushing the loo. This said I think if you were to request a top floor room it would be no noisier than any other hotel. On the plus the staff are very helpful one member went above and beyond when we had difficulties with our Hire Car. The interior decor is a little on the dated side but i'm not sure if that is a fashion/cultural difference, however the views from the Hotel and the location more than make up for this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best view, but not enough and unfriendly staff, the worst breakfast ever seen

Posted Apr 19, 2009 on Hotels.com
Hotel with more than 200 rooms in an conglomeration with an amazing view. But now the other side of the coin: There ist not enough staff, and it´s not very service oriented. The breakfast is a poor quality. netter go outside in a restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not Impressed

Posted Aug 5, 2008
This hotel needs was a bit dilapadated and could do with a paint job. The room was noisy. Breakfast was very basic and the staff were not exactly falling over themselves to be helpful. We needed to ask 3 times to put the air conditioning on, which was only on a certain times of the day