Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Very nice hotel with lake view.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The private balcony sitting watching the boats on the lake is marvellous.
Cons: Very difficult to get the hotel parking places on the street and not many.
Location: Great location for walking beside the lake into the town. The hotel has a door leading directly out onto the lake.
Arriving at the main entrance does not depict what a great hotel this is. The lobby and lounges are very plush and comfortable. The bedrooms are well equiped but the jewel in the crown is your own balcony overlooking the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Balsall Common, England

Nice older hotel, with a great view of Lake Geneva

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Views, hotel size, easy walk in to Montreaux.
Cons: Parking, and the rooms need a tidy up/refurbishment. A little overpriced without a discount.
Location: Right on the edge of Montreau, all of the Lake Geneva ferries sto nearby, Chateau Chillon is a short walk away. Lovely spot would stay again.
Nice hotel, comfortable, but needs a bit of a tidy up. The views are fantastic and the location is nice in a quiet part of Montreaux. Parking is a bit on the short side, with about 10 spaces fro the hotel. Lovely gardens and a nice walkway around the lake in to Montreaux itself. I would probably stay here again, but I do feel that the hitel needs a bit of an update although it is a charming building with large rooms, and good size balconies. Staff were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: View from room over looking the lake
Rooms in need of re-fit Shower head would not stay in shower head holder. Bad smell of damp when walking through the non existent spar on way to pool Health and safety issue as Table top open water boiler for you to boil your own eggs at breakfast .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great Hotel, Superb Views

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Views, cleanliness, and proximity to town and transport.
Cons: NA
Location: Only about 5mins to town, and about 10mins to the Chillion Castle.
The hotel was only a 3min walk from the bus-stop, and 7mins away from the train station. The room was lovely, with a balcony facing the lake and mountains. It was lovely to sit outside on the balcony. Facilities were good, and it was clean as well. Would definitely stay here again if I am here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice hotel very close to lakeside.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Staff helpful Very clean Good location
Cons: no complaints
Location: location on the lakeside within walking distance of the castle, Freddie Mercury statue, town centre shopping, and restaurants.
My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Du Lac. We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. We found the location of the hotel very good as it was a little farther around the lakeside, so was not too noisy. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We had a great holiday would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great hotel - shame about the staff!!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location, pool, decoration, views, bedrooms.
Cons: New management!
Location: Excellent location to explore Montreux and lakeside.
Lovely hotel on Lake Geneve. Superb views from room / balcony of the lake and mountains. Spotless pool with great staff (only ones who were!) The hotel shares its premises with Biotonus private clinic / hospital. Expect to see doctors and patients walking around! The clinic seems to take precedence over hotel guests. The bar closes early - just try getting a drink after 9pm! If you want good service go to the hotel next door. We did manage to get served after 9pm on one night by threatening to use the neighbouring hotel. Only then did they agree to serving us. Hotel needs to decide whether it is a clinic or hotel. It fails to do both!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from toronto

Typical old montreux offering

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Quite pricey for the breakfast if you don't have an all inclusive special, but the setting is beautiful. This hotel is a little further down from the "centre" but still on the great boardwalk. Staff we dealt with were very good, but in typical French style don't even try to gain access before the checking hour of 3:00pm - even in a heavy rain storm..... At 2:59 they still had to check their watches and roll their eyes at our North American expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ryan

lakefront balconies with view of alps!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: the view is stunning from the room's balcony
Cons: slective genral freshening, but the bones of a very nice hotel are apparent
Location: directly on the lake, gentle lapping of water is relaxing sound int he rooms when balcony doors are open. half hour laekside walk to Chillon Castle
bigger room than expected, renovated bath, hotel is dated in a clean and charming way, and a great value, fairly long walk to restaurants, but on lakefront promenade so the scenery on the walk is stunning. downtown one direction, Chillon Castle in the other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from London

A beautiful oasis ...

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: All good.
This is a lovely hotel, in a quiet part of Montreux. You will become friends with the 201 bus which takes you easily wherever you want to go and is free with the Riveria Card the hotel provides. Hotel staff are all charming and very helpful; happy to answer your questions in fluent English. The pool is quite special. The balcony and view of mountains and lake are the centrepiece. Exceptionally comfortable beds/mattresses. The Swiss in General seemed very welcoming and sweet natured, and would wish you a nice day with a smile after talking. There are some great excursions nearby - I liked Gstaad and Les Bains de Lavey (thermal spa) in particular. Well worth visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A White from Sussex

Lovely position on the lakeside

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very good, with great views but some 15 minutes walk from the heart of the town. A bit confusing to find as they have removed Lac from the hotel name. A local directed us to Grand Hotel du Lac in Vevey.