Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Old world charm to be enjoyed

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: I loved the décor and the friendly staff. Very classic.
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: Walk along the lake, visit the shops and the castle.
We stopped in Montreux to visit friends and found this hotel delightful. It a walkable distance from the train station and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and there was a great coffee and confection shop across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Salvador

Great 3 star!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds should be upgraded regularly.
Location: Awesome location: bus stop right outside the door, lakefront 1 block away with its beautiful scenery and boardwalk and Freddy Mercury statue.
You get what you pay, for, and with luck at your side, you get a little more. Location was great: right next to bus stop (the 201 takes you to Villeneuve/Chillon Castle or Vevey... in minutes!), in front of nice retail, 1 block away from lakefront (and all its beauty) and nearby to Montreux train station. The hotel is old (just like every other hotel), the difference was Customer Service at Front Desk, room spaciousness and cleanliness, and of course rate... which was appropriate for this type of hotel. We don't believe in overpaying... which ended up being the case all over Switzerland: old hotels, barely refurbished and extremely overpriced. We travel a lot, and use all sorts of travel options (expensive and moderate budget, alike). It is only fair to say that the Helvetie is a great selection... and we even got a little more than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel and location!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
It's very good hotel and in a walking distance from the beach and the city center. Room was big, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by E from Washington, DC

Very small bath/Pleasant staff/Great location

Posted May 27, 2014
Nice, older hotel, good location, right next door to bus stop if you plan on a trip to Chateau de Chillon, however smallest bath ever! I know this is Europe, but we had other hotels on this trip with much nicer baths. We thought breakfast was included, but it turned out it is not and we had to be something like 12-15 CHF per person. Not a big deal, just got annoyed a bit. Very helpful and pleasant staff.
3 out of 5
by Tony from Bournemouth, England

Excellent central location

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Big room with a some view of snow topped mountains. Convenient and secure parking.
Cons: Whole building needs refurbishment to realize its full potential.
Location: Perfect central location for everything: walking, biking, and public transport.
The hotel was very convenient for accessing promenade walking and trams, buses and trains to nearby places of interest. Staff are very helpful and breakfast good. However, the hotel needs refurbishment as building feels old and tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely large room with balcony and very central

Posted May 19, 2014
Lovely surprise to see the size of the room with the added bonus of a small balcony. Rather shabby chic French style. Loved it. Very cental close to casino and bus stop outside hotel - large co-op supermarket just round the corner. Hotel gives free local transport cards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tanker from Washington

Convenient to train station.

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Front desk personnel very helpful. Slight musty odor as entered hotel. Restaurants close by very good. Would stay here again. On the third floor with doors that opened to a tiny balcony. Nice peek a boo view. Second floor rooms had balcony with table and chairs but not as good of a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Delaware, USA

Loved it!

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Helpful staff.
Location: Go see Chillon Castle. Eat at Le 4 Saisons. If you go to Lausanne, take the boat at least one way. It's a scenic ride.
It was in a convenient location, a short walk from the train station and the lake. The front desk clerk was VERY helpful and patient with all of our questions. It is a beautiful, old but well-kept building. I would stay again if I go back to Montreux.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Good location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: There is no counter space in the bathroom to put toiletries on
Clean room and comfortable bed, just steps away from the lake and the bus which stops right next to the hotel is really convenient for touring along the lake.