Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Old world charm to be enjoyed

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: I loved the d├ęcor and the friendly staff. Very classic.
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: Walk along the lake, visit the shops and the castle.
We stopped in Montreux to visit friends and found this hotel delightful. It a walkable distance from the train station and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and there was a great coffee and confection shop across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Salvador

Great 3 star!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds should be upgraded regularly.
Location: Awesome location: bus stop right outside the door, lakefront 1 block away with its beautiful scenery and boardwalk and Freddy Mercury statue.
You get what you pay, for, and with luck at your side, you get a little more. Location was great: right next to bus stop (the 201 takes you to Villeneuve/Chillon Castle or Vevey... in minutes!), in front of nice retail, 1 block away from lakefront (and all its beauty) and nearby to Montreux train station. The hotel is old (just like every other hotel), the difference was Customer Service at Front Desk, room spaciousness and cleanliness, and of course rate... which was appropriate for this type of hotel. We don't believe in overpaying... which ended up being the case all over Switzerland: old hotels, barely refurbished and extremely overpriced. We travel a lot, and use all sorts of travel options (expensive and moderate budget, alike). It is only fair to say that the Helvetie is a great selection... and we even got a little more than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel and location!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
It's very good hotel and in a walking distance from the beach and the city center. Room was big, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LYH from Singapore

Good location

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location, good service from the restaurant staffs, good breakfast available
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

overall its good

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The negatives. Its not as close to the station as people say. Its one lift to recepton and then another to your room. Its a bit old and tired. The positives. The view from the room is to die for. Its across the road from the casino. Staff are helpfull.
4 out of 5
by E from Washington, DC

Very small bath/Pleasant staff/Great location

Posted May 27, 2014
Nice, older hotel, good location, right next door to bus stop if you plan on a trip to Chateau de Chillon, however smallest bath ever! I know this is Europe, but we had other hotels on this trip with much nicer baths. We thought breakfast was included, but it turned out it is not and we had to be something like 12-15 CHF per person. Not a big deal, just got annoyed a bit. Very helpful and pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MK from London

3* but worth 4* value

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
most spacious rooms at cheaper price...
3 out of 5
by Tony from Bournemouth, England

Excellent central location

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Big room with a some view of snow topped mountains. Convenient and secure parking.
Cons: Whole building needs refurbishment to realize its full potential.
Location: Perfect central location for everything: walking, biking, and public transport.
The hotel was very convenient for accessing promenade walking and trams, buses and trains to nearby places of interest. Staff are very helpful and breakfast good. However, the hotel needs refurbishment as building feels old and tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely large room with balcony and very central

Posted May 19, 2014
Lovely surprise to see the size of the room with the added bonus of a small balcony. Rather shabby chic French style. Loved it. Very cental close to casino and bus stop outside hotel - large co-op supermarket just round the corner. Hotel gives free local transport cards.