Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great view of the lake

Posted Jul 9, 2012
The hotel is very nice it has a wonderful view of the lake. Internet was expensive. The shower was a little uncomfortable because the temperature of the water changed every 2 minutes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERIFY THE ROOM BEFORE CHECK-INN

Posted Jul 8, 2012
Pros: LOCATION FOR THE TOURIST
Location: VERY GOOD
THE HOTELS IS CLEAN BUT HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE AIRCONDITIONING AND THEY NOT NOTIFY US UNTIL THE NIGHT AFTER ARRIVAL AND THE POLICY OF THE HOTEL IS 100% OF THE RESERVATION IF YOU CANCEL AFTER CHECK INN
2 out of 5
by KD from Austin, TX, USA

Not up to Swiss Standards

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: Location, View
Cons: Room, Condition of the Property, Staff
Royal Plaza Montreux is not a 5 star hotel by Swiss standards. We had been travelling for 2 weeks in Switzerland before arriving staying in 4 start hotels in Lucern, Lugano, St Mortiz and Zermatt....these hotels were all significantly nicer than Royal Plaza Montreux. We paid for a lake view room and were initially given a room with terrace and a fantastic view of the lake, but a terrible stench and a basically non functional AC. We were told by Carlos that this was just smoke residue, but we asked for a new room. We were given a room with an obstructed lake view and told that it was still a higher category than we had paid for. I believe he was full of nonsense as this new room was significantly smaller. Next, make sure you ask for your Riveria tourist card on check-in. It gets you free transport in the region and discounts on other things like a boat cruise. The hotel is required to give you one. My guess is that it costs them money because Royal Plaza seems to purposely "forget" to give it and then they seem upset when you ask for it. The basic condition of the property is poor, definitely not up to Swiss standards. I made the mistake of going in the stairwell to go up two floors, it was like a war zone. The hotel seems permanently stuck in the late 60s/early 70s and definitely needs a refreshing. The best thing going for this hotel is that it has a nice location on the lake. If you can afford to spend an extra $100/night, stay at the Fairmont instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co.Durham,England

Five Star Price, 3 Star Service

Posted Nov 30, 2011
Location: Montreux is a beautiful town, standing on the shores of the lake, with many very historic buildings, all areas are safe , you can stroll around without feeling threatened ,the city has a great selection of hotels and restaurants. Montreux is within easy reach of many other fascinating and beautiful citys,we would return again , and use Expedia.co.uk, but use a more to our liking choice of hotel.
Excellent location, 5 star rated, but 3 star service, on arrival at reception it felt like entering a mortuary , not so welcoming ,no assistance getting your bags to your room , no tea or coffee in rooms, no shoe shine dusters,the room was very small ,eating in the hotel was very expensive,we found eating out was the prefered option ,the Swimming pool was no larger than a kiddies pool,and see through windows, so any person passing automatically looks through the windows,felt like we were on show, All in all we had a good 4 days in Montreux , but if we returned we would ,as previous visits to Montreux stay in 3 or 4 star hotels that do have all the services we required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Jeddah

Verry good hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2011
its nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful hotel, BUT terrible front desk staff

Posted Sep 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Royal Plaza was a beautiful hotel in a great location, and it was very clean. However, the concierge/front desk were not helpful AT ALL. We were new to the city, so we wanted advice on a nice, local place to dine and where to go the next day for a day-tour. The restaurants they recommended were tourist traps, and the food did NOT taste good. But the worst part was when they told us to go to the train station to take a day trip to Gruyere and visit the cheese and chocolate factories. They told us that we did not need reservations and we can just go to the train station and buy a train ticket. We planned our whole day around this, and when we got to the station, they told us we needed a reservation and that our hotel should have known that. It ruined our entire day! Luckily we had a car and were able to visit Gruyere, but if we didn't have a car, which most visitors wouldn't, then we would have been stranded!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

5star should offer more than just a great location

Posted Sep 3, 2011
This hotel is tired. The size of it's standard Lake view rooms is tight. Fixtures and fittings are ready for a makeover. E.G. Air conditioning unit that rattled so badly that it had to be turned off. Neibours had exactly the same issue so this is a general issue not a specific room issue. Staff are freindly but far too relaxed for a 5 star hotel where service should seen but not heard. Twice we ahd to go in search of bar staff to pay our bill. Where do they all go to when you need them?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Expensive Town but Good Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2011
We stayed at this hotel princiapally because my husband was going to be using the neighbouring convention centre, so it was very convenient. The town is amazingly beautiful, although was surprisingly hot and humid. The hotel has a 5 star rating, which I don't agree with. It was very nice, the bed was extremely comfy, but the overall decor, service, bar, restaurant and spa were more 3 Star Plus than 5 Star. Like most things in the area, it has a very 1980s feel to it and just didn't feel as crisp and cared for as other 5 Star hotels we have stayed in. The service in the bar and resturant is pretty poor, although we knew this because of reviews on other sites. Still you would expect them to have more than 3 staff on a 20 cover restaurant plus bar on a Saturday night. As usual for the town, the food and drink was very expensive, so go with lots of cash to spend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elmer N. from Kansas City

Five "Euro" Stars

Posted Aug 5, 2011
This is a very nice hotel in a very nice area; it opens onto the Promenade (trail along Lake Geneva) which connects all of downtown Montreux. The hotel routinely trumpets its "5-Star" rating, which in general is much more like a 3.5 or 4 star U.S. hotel. My concern would be those who are expecting 5-star treatment will be somewhat let-down, and those just looking for a decent place will be less impressed than the price-tag might suggest, particularly given the many choices that abound in the neihborhood. But it does have beautiful views of the lake and is within walking distance of many shops and eating establishments. I would stay there again in a second, if given the opportunity, but would likely shop around for a less expensive (and equally attractive) option, since the extra money spent doesn't seem to buy you anything exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for Jazz Festival

Posted Jul 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
Situated in the best location for the Jazz festival - at the end of all the busy stalls on lack Geneva. So, it was a bit quiter than the rest of the "strip". The hotel had all the conveniences that you needed - room service, mini bar, room darkening blinds were amazing (first time seeing something like that). Staff were friendly. I was able to check in my room early. It was great for Solo travelers, business travelers, and families. I would recommend staying here again!