Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from UK, cheshire

A quiet winter break

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Not a bland chain hotel, beautiful location.
Cons: Bathroom perhaps a bit old and worn, though everything worked.
Location: Lake Geneva is an upmarket gentile holiday resort. Lots of water based activities. In winter ice skating, fishing through ice holes, ice sculptures.
We stayed for two nights in the depth of the coldest winter for years. We were the only guests. The room was clean, warm, well equipped and with a fantastic view over the frozen lake. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and supplied us with a good continental breakfast plus a surprise glass of sherry and cookies in the evening. The hotel has a fascinating history and even a 1920's gangster book written by the owner featuring the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Marquis from Rockford

Quaint

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a nice little place, albeit a little dated. Room was clean, staff were friendly and accommodating. Nothing negative Per Se. The room we booked was not available, and we were able to stay in an upgraded room at no extra cost. Off season rate was appropriate for the accommodations. Not sure if I would have been as satisfied with my stay if I had paid the regular rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful stay at the French Country Inn. The staff was very pleasant and Manager wonderful to chat with. The food was enough to send us elsewhere, but we would return again for the comfort of the rooms and history and beauty of the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Randy from Aurora

French Country Inn

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, staff was nice and friendly. Food was great as the bar as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristin from Grafton, WI

Quaint Cozy Inn

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My fianc'e and I were looking for an after holiday get away that wouldn't be too long of a drive or too expensive. We had a queen room overlooking the lake with a gas fireplace. It was a cozy place to hold up on a cold winter night. A hot buffet breakfast was also included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mike from wheaton ,Il

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by two old geesers

In their defense...it was bitterly cold out.

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: The setting is gorgeous!
Cons: I imagine this is an ideal location for a lazy summer day but not for the dead of winter.
The room was difficult to heat. We had to remake the bed (pulled it apart down to the mattress pad). Sheets on 90 degrees off and top sheet not tucked in. Breakfast was a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Fromagier from Plainfield, IL

Charming Historic Inn

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lake Como. The hotel has beautiful grounds, a nice pool for the swimming season and a nice continental or hot full breakfast, depending on time of year, in a very nice setting. Enjoy a cup of tea or sherry in the late afternoon in their parlor. They have a nice, new restaurant on the property overlooking the lake and we also happened upon a great Wisconsin supper club just down Shore Road, also overlooking the lake. The other charming part of the Inn were the people that worked there. They genuinely care about their guests and their stewardship of the property. We will definitely be back. Love this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenny from Chicago

Posted Dec 7, 2013
We loved everything about our stay, including the restaurant! Wonderful romantic winter getaway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013