Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shalene from Massachusetts

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a blast. The hotel was awesome... A little dated but no complaints at all!
2 out of 5
by Lynn

Beautiful view but deserted by staff

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: location
Guess with it being just after peak season, they were on the wind down. Despite advertising in many spots, there were no staff for the 4-6pm happy hour either on the veranda or in the bar. Breakfast was disappointing
2 out of 5
by Joseph from New York

disappointment

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: management
Location: It is on a lake, so there is swimming, boating and amusements.
We have stayed at Fort William Henry before once a year and sometimes twice .This time was not good I wanted to stay in main building which we always did and offered to pay more if needed I was told there were rooms free but because we booked with expedia we could not upgrade. Also, at 7:20 am construction started about 10 yards from our room and the noise continued until we left for breakfast at 8:30. The whole day was ruined because we were all exhausted. When we complained to the manager, he said, "I am surprised that started so early, usually they wait until later."
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G from Bayville, NY

Good location, okay comfort

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Room, AC, mattresses, carpet, toilet and bathroom.
Location: Walking distance to everything by the lake.
Food at the restaurant is excellent for a Hotel restaurant. The room needs major updating. The AC WAS NOISY AND THE BEDS WERE UNCOMFORTABLE. The bathroom had a noisy exhaust fan that did not exhaust. The condensate from ceiling fell all over the amenities on the counter and ruined my toiletries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moto Traveller

Nice old hotel great view

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Outstanding view of Lake George, from terrace Close to center of town for restaurants and bars. Staff was friendly and upgraded us to lakeview room because of low occupancy rate. no charge Room Clean. Front Desk personnel friendly and helpful with services.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of lake

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel needs to be updated. That being said the service is great, the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary Ann from St. Clair, MI

Beautiful views.

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: We didn't get to try the restaurant but would do so on another visit.
Cons: I think the pool should be heated due to the cool evenings in the mountains. That would be the only suggestion I would make.
Location: Lots of fun family things to do. Walking distance from the shops and activities.
The pool, although unheated, included a fantastic view of Lake George, with its steamboats and parasailing. They had a nice happy hour outside on the veranda. The room was spacious, clean and a good value.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nj from nj

room smelled & was old

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Pool area is nice. beautiful view of the lake & right in the village
we were In the premium wing & it is very old. no elevators to the second floor. our room smelt like mildew & mold. Beds were not comfortable & were full not queen like I thought I booked. I have stayed in the main hotel before & this was nothing like it. if your going to stay here make sure its in the main hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jerset

our visit

Posted Aug 23, 2013
the staff was friendly and helpful...room was clean and comfortable. hotel is within walking distance of shops and restaurants as well as beautiful views of the lake!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from cortlandt manor, ny

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: clean comfy room. large screen television. GREAT location. i can't stress that enough!!! smelled nice :) nice views of the lake.
Location: location is great. close to the lake, fort william henry, the steam boat docks, the strip, miniature golf, restaurants and shops the beach
i booked a room in the premium east wing for 2 nights. when i checked in i found out that we got bumped up to a room in the grand hotel! so that was really nice. the staff was friendly. the room was clean and comfy. it had a jacuzzi tub microwave fridge. the location of this hotel is great. right next door to fort william henry. when you go out the back of the hotel past the veranda you can turn right and walk right over to the fort. also there are steps at the back of the hotel grounds that you can take to the lake, shops, restaurants, the beach, miniature golf, streamboat docks. the hotel has a really nice breakfast restaurant "the white lion" with beautiful views of the lake and delicious food. i would totally recommend this hotel.