Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Booked 2 rooms with the FWH - one with 2 double beds for my mom and son and one with a king bed for my husband and I. We asked that the rooms be adjoining. Upon arrival, we did have rooms that were next to each other, but both had double beds. I called the front desk and was told that they did not have any king beds available during our stay and would not be able to fix the error. No concessions were offered. We called Expedia, who told us that the hotel had confirmed our reservation, including the king bed request. They contacted the hotel, but the hotel refused to honor the king bed reservation. Not acceptable. While unpacking, we discovered empty food wrappers in dresser drawers and empty drink bottles left from the previous guests. The faucet in our bathroom dripped the entire stay - even after maintenance was made aware of it, nothing was done about it. While the water pressure in the shower was actually pretty good, the water temperature itself fluctuated throughout the length of a shower - from freezing cold to scalding hot. Interesting experience, particularly while trying to wash a 6 year old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sullivan County, NY

Beautiful hotel was close to beach and attractions

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The room was exactly what we were looking for. It had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker in a little kitchenette area.
Cons: The situation of parking on Thursdays!
Location: The village of Lake George has a beach in the center of town and music, fairs, etc. happening most days. Great Escape. shops all within walking.
When we first got there, hotel staff gave us wrong room. Moved everything to correct room and were very happy with it. The indoor pool, sauna, and spa were great after a long day. Parking became an issue when they "rented" out parking spaces to non-paying clients on Thursdays due to the "fireworks display over the lake." So either stayed at hotel or took a chance of not parking in hotel provided parking when you returned. The hotel is very clean and accommodating otherwise, for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The hotel has a perfect location and is very nice. My vacation got off to a bad start when I booked a King room but was given a double room. When I called down to the front desk, I was told it was impossible that I had booked a king room because of the website I used. I was also told that there were no king rooms available. I looked up my receipt that showed I did indeed book a king room. The front desk staff were angry that I produced this receipt and offered me one night in a king room but then I would have to move. I refused since I had booked and paid for a king room for the entirety of my stay. They reluctantly gave me a king room. But I am upset that I was basically told to go away. How did other situation change from not being available to being available. Poor front desk staff indeed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view of Lake from veranda. View from ro.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
At best accommodations OK at best. Not worth the rates charged
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful hotel on Lake George

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The view and property
Cons: Clarity on which "property" you are reserving a room
Location: Great for families. Within walking distance to: Beach, ice cream, shops, dinner, cruises, horse and buggy rides.
The hotel property is gorgeous. The only complaint I have is that I booked on line at Expedia. When we arrived, they said our room was in the adjoining "motel" like building attached to the main hotel. If I had known this, I would have never booked it. However, they made right on this, and moved us to a room in the main hotel. The room was clean, and the property gorgeous. Just confirm when you are booking that you are reserving a room in the main building, if that is what you prefer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelburne, VT

Don't Stay Here. Needs a Complete Rehab

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Really nothing except location.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Right in Lake George Village. Can walk to shops, restaurants, tour boats.
This was one of the worst disappointments in my recent travels. The decor is very 1980's at best. The outdoor pool was not heated -- and was freezing in July. Large black patches worn in the pool surface finish -- really shameful. No towels left at 1:00 PM on a Friday and no one monitoring, picking up used towels, etc. for over two hours. Indoor pool heavily chlorinated and small. In a room with arcade machines, really cheesy ones. Overall had the feel of a very worn-out motel, but at four times the price. Most of the staff completely indifferent and very, very young. Do not stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Parking Lot View

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The bathroom was big and the room itself was nice.
Cons: The staff
Location: A lot of things to do near by including a winery, little shops, places to eat and places to shop. Love Lake George Village.
I had a wedding to attend the fourth of July weekend. The room I had in the Premium East Wing was nice, but we could only check in minutes before 4:00. I was told that I would be able to check in at 3:00 and then it was 3:30 and then it was 4:00. Then the man never gave my husband the room card so he had to go back to get it. My shower was really hot and then really cold in the morning. Since I was only able to check in at 4:00 we had just enough time to drop off our things and then head to the wedding and of course I informed the front desk of our time situation and none of them seemed to care a bit. The pool was coming apart and there were no towels. There was an apple that must have been there all day and no one bothered to come clean it. My sister's room was on the other end of the hotel and it was absolutely disgusting. She had to stay 2 nights and she paid $400. She actually had to clean her bathroom it was so gross and she was in the bridal party. My sister went to the vending machine to get a soda and of course it does not come out. She had to go the front desk where the woman made her fill out a form and then woman at the front desk gave my sister an attitude about the whole situation. Then one of the housekeepers asked my mom if she was pregnant and totally embarrassed my mother. I would never stay here again, the Quality Inn across the street is much nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location on Lake George

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I thought the hotel location was great and the hotel itself was fine. But the people visiting Lake George are not so great. My husband and I were in the elevator with our 8 and 10 year old boys when a really drunk guy at 7 pm told us he had to "go back to his wacko wife" and began to ramble on about who knows what. Then when we were dozing off, the family next door was arguing and swearing. Low class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: View
Cons: Food inside hotel Happy hour for all guests There was a wedding and the lounge was closed. Bad idea especially since it was raining
Location: Great location. Close to downtown
Bar should be open everyday Everyone was friendly
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erin from New Rochelle, NY

Not overly happy but not overly disappointed.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Our room was in the annex section of the resort. Wouldn't want to stay there again. Dark hallways, rooms need updating. If you needed or wanted to go back into the main hotel you had to walk through a maze & conference center to get there not to mention deal with wedding parties, who looked at you with annoyance. The actual location of this hotel is great. The outside grounds were well manicured, the views - beautiful and the location is close to everything. Would consider staying again only if the main hotel was available.