Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Other than a lack of consideration for giving their guests a satisfying experience with their guest activities, the Lodge and the rooms are nice.
Cons: If character events are part of the attraction of the hotel - then they should be available no matter when you stay.
Location: The nearby area is wonderful,and there are many other great places to stay. No need to pay $300 per night to have less than what is promised/promoted
With no update to the website, ALL CHARACTER EVENTS were cancelled. Website for Lodge and website for Six Flags Theme park suggest calling ahead "to make RESERVATIONS " for certain Character Events ; no mention of the need to make sure there ARE character events !! Front desk told my disappointed family that "scheduling is decided one week prior, based on occupancy"..so that is within the cancellation window, technically. Not realistically, since it is too late to change days taken off from work. Minimal consideration from the front desk staff. Staff member in charge of the Adventure Trek was more considerate of my family's disappointment. My fault for ASSUMING a mid-week stay would have atleast ONE day of character events. No events for 3 FULL DAYS !? C'mon, Great Escape, are you that cheap ???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice hotel but staff...

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: location location location , excellent spot, near outlets, near restaurants, near lake george village and accross the street from six flags
Cons: customer service , show that you care and are happy to see us!!! (not all )
excellent location hotel, great attractions with the water slides and the six flags accross the street, nice spacious rooms, its a resort in itself, with restaurant (johnny rockets and lodge restaurant) if you want you don`t even have to leave the hotel , great for kids, very nice arcade with the friendliess staff!! for the rest some staff members at reception have to improve on their customer service (some not all) ,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Very Disappointed

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: More staff, better maintenance of indoor water park and amusement park to ensure that rides are operating
We booked this trip for our family and were really looking forward to it. Unfortunately we were very disappointed because there were several water park features and amusement park rides that were closed due to maintenance or other issues and we weren't able to enjoy them. It's not cheap to stay at this hotel so you hope when you book it that you will be able to take advantage of the features that are advertised, that was not the case. It was as if the hotel and park were not yet ready to handle the summer crowd. There did not seem to be enough staff on hand and many of the feature rides were not available. We were very disappointed in the trip and would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great place to stay on a rainy summer weekend.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Access to activities and friendly staff
Cons: Rooms could use an upgrade
We had booked elsewhere but when the weather turned, we looked at the Great Escape. the kids had a blast, even though the weather didn't allow for us to take advantage of the outdoor activities, the water park, games room and reasonable family restaurants allowed us to stay in the hotel andmake the most of a rainy weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middletown, ny

Highly recommend

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Very clean, convenient location, close to shops, restaurants, lots of activities for both adults and kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

Needs to be updated

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We called the hotel prior to our arrival. The manager we spoke to was extremely rude, we almost cancelled our reservation. Check in was easy and quick. The room is outdated, the Beds are horrible! We had a good experience our daughter loved the water park. Not sure we'd go back until they update the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newyork, newyork

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The hotel staff was amazing. My children had so much fun. Their father and I enjoyed ourselves as well. Just wish the complimentary breakfast was excluded in all packages. Scenery was nice. All in all we will be returning next year for another fun filled stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Easy to get too. Combined with the water park it is a good facility.
We came for the water park and enjoyed our time there. Good responsive staff and plenty of safety precautions around the water park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Best staff there

Posted Jun 15, 2015
My son was super sick from the time we arrived and they helped out so much and we had to leave early they offered us to come back next weekend for free . Best place to go can't wait for next week
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clifton park

Water park first time

Posted Jun 14, 2015
The park was good for small kids. The tavern was closed the night I was there bad for adults. The game room lacked video games more just ticket games.