Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Okay place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Amenities were very nice.
Cons: Update rooms. Ice maker on multiple floors. Elevators.
Location: Outlets, outdoor activities, swimming.
Bed was very uncomfortable and roof leaked at point in wall. Bed frame wheel was broken and was resting on two 4x4's. Staff very friendly and professional. Clean resort. Outdated rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

I recommend this resort, family friendly.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
We wanted to take a few days with the kids before starting school n it was the right choice, The kids had an awesome time can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Nice place to take your kids, but bring good amount of $$$$$ as you going to need it to do different things with your family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NJ

nice resort very relaxing.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: every thing
Cons: it is very good considering what we paid
Location: you really dont have to leave the resort the have every thing there.
We went for a three day weekend.. The place was very nice and our kids had a blast. We were a bit hesitant based on the reviews that we read but the place had every thing a family with kids would look for. We will definitely do it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Investing in day trips and timeshares

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The indoor waterpark is a big plus for rainy days, and their sports facilities are in great shape, including indoor and outdoor basketball and tennis.
Cons: Their telecommunications and electronic infrastructure is atrocious, and their food does not deserve to be called resort-quality.
Location: Near Jim Thorpe, which has a great bike trail and a decent restaurant (Molly Maguires). Supermarket in White Haven is 9 miles away, good pizza there.
Because of the indoor waterpark, which is wonderful if a bit too chlorinated (bring goggles), Split Rock has a strong business in day trips, which is how we first encountered them. Booking for a week, we were glad to have access to the indoor swimming pools, hot tubs, and guest activities. But we learned that many other guests owned timeshares and had their own full kitchens and Jacuzzis. This explains why the food is so bad and they haven't invested in their electronic services (making charges to rooms, credit card check out, one extremely slow terminal for guests who don't bring their own smart networks, WiFi in lobby but not rooms, etc.). I would still recommend Split Rock for a day trip, and if you're the kind of person who prefers to cook for himself/herself while on vacation, then invest in a room with that (or a timeshare), but I'm glad I didn't buy into the meal plan.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Nice place for the family getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Has a potential to improve the resort, they have dirty towel fed in color old TV , need more hour restaurant and change the smell of the restaurant & the rooms. It is a beautiful place if it managed properly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Will never return again

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the area was beautiful
Cons: The way the handle their hotel guests
Other hotel guests were making so much notice, had children constantly knocking on our door between 12 midnight until 2pm, security guard was no help ,stating that many other guests have complained but it just got worse, the employee at night just said he can't really do nothing . So we got no sleep that night but they didn't care. No protection or consideration for their hotel guests. Never will I return or refer anyone to this hotel again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Location: A short drive to the usual mountain activities. Restaurants nearby are a godsend. Jim Thorpe was close by and would recommend it to kill time.
We noticed the hotel was old, but rustic, which was OK as we were in a woodsy area. The room was clean and large. But, the satin sheers were stained from resting on the wooden window panes as they must have soaked up the wood stain when the wood got damp. The bathroom was blue (old) and the bathroom sink was backed up. I called for a plumber immediately, then had to ask by mid afternoon the following day. Also, the doors were locked by metal keys (quaint), but my lock was so loose it could be pulled easily away from the door. The locksmith did come up immediately to fix it. Our hot showers became quite toasty occasionally, as possibly the intake water was still connected to the potties. The bars were okay. My roommate and I were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food in the main restaurant, but the wine list had much to be desired. Not a rocking place but nice for a family vacation or quiet retreat. The scenery was quite beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Good armosph need more nascar related activities on race weekends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ransomville NY

Nice- Close to Pocono Raceway

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Close to raceway
Cons: the lock system that still needs a key to open the room
This resort is a little pricey. It would had been nice if this overnight rate included the breakfast buffet. Bed was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments : The resort does offer a bed and breakfast package. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations.