Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous best view

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Staff excelent Room lake view stunning Facilities just ok swimming pool should be updated . Breakfast excellent but a bit expensive for not much food variety . over all you well love it after staying in a lake view room having free coff and tea in the room but a bit noisy if staying all day in the room . Thanks to the lovely staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, nice location

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: The location was very nice
Cons: The lobby was a bit shabby and dark
Location: We enjoyed walking along the water.
The Grand National Hotel has a perfect location on the lake, if you have a lakeside room. We had an alley view of scaffolding of the work being done on the hotel. That was unfortunate. The rooms were lovely inside and very up to date but the lobby seemed old and dark. The running water did not get hot. There was a loud Thursday night crowd at the bar across the street. The pool was okay but no jacuzzi and the sauna was out of service. That being said, the staff were very kind. As we have small children, we did not try the fancy restaurant downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand National experience

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room, central location, excellent breakfast with lovely friendly efficient staff
Cons: Single beds masquerading as a double. Problems with the key cards, which included using the lift. Service in cafe could be more efficient
Location: Very central but quiet. Wonderful round trip to Rigi - ferry, cogwheel and cable car. Lovely choice of restaurants in town by the bridge.
Beautiful hotel, very comfortable. Ideal location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rebeccafrom Basel, Switzerland

Great Retreat

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel in a super location. Lots of hood restaurant options in the hotel and nearby in the old town. Only complaints would be that the pool and spa are not complimentary access for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrianfrom NYC

Splendid

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, amazing view and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, great view to the lake and very comfortable.The rooms are spoiling... for the price of the breakfast- I would expect a little more...
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Moscow, Russia

Nice but terribly LOUD

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Nice classic old style hotel at the lake shore, clean and comfortable, fantastic New Year Eve with fabulous food! BUT the hotel has a terrible neighborhood with the nightclub which takes you to hell every night by hypernoisy drums. The whole building is vibrating and shaking. Horrible: you are paying per night but cannot use the night time to sleep. The personnel in out of any power to do with that nightclub but the hotel owner must approach to municipal Government to provide people the rest for the night time otherwise the club will kill the business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

High class hotel in Luzerne

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
High class hotel with wonderful view. Location was splended. Only minus was that appropriate sauna/wellness was not includes/not in the same building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids Michigan

Beautiful Grand Hotel with majestic view.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Client Services - amazing from our first email contact to them to our last contact with them as they wished us a safe and happy travel homeward
Cons: Nothing as far as we could see.
Location: Ideal location on beautiful Lake Lucerne. Boardwalk is just down the stairs . Can walk in either direction. Super convenient to Old Town
We choose this hotel based on previous reviews . We were not disappointed. We exchanged multiple emails prior to our arrival to solidify our rooms, itinerary and dinner reservations. Christele from Client services was outstanding! Our questions were answered promptly and professionally. All of the dinners were outstanding and just as they were presented. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted, offered cold drinks and a chance to relax before settling in. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and we must admit, it was breathtaking, The rooms are spacious and offer an amazing view of the lake and the Swiss Alps. We found the rooms to be very private and quiet at night time. We enjoyed cocktails in the lounge both nights that we were there as well as the breakfast buffet. Our overall experience was A+. We highly recommend the Grand Hotel Nationale and will return if our travels take us back to this beautiful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by seong dalfrom 뉴질랜드

좋은 호텔.

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
매우 좋은 호텔이었습니다. 가격이 다소 비싼 편이었지만, 조식도 훌륭하고, 깨끗하고 종업원들의 서비스도 매우 좋았습니다.