Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cynthia from singapore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cindy from Lakeland, FL

Great location

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at Hotel Des Balances in December. Right near all the sights, very friendly staff. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Perfectly located

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Great pace to overcome jet lag and relax
Staff coud not have been more helpful, right in the center of things, great view from our balcony....would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty & John from Austin, TX

Nice, but noisy

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Location is great, if you want to walk around Old Town
Cons: Warning about noise for city view and more from interior if near elevator doors and cleaning staff supply closet.
Location: Great location for walking tour of Old Town. Not too far (walkable) from the train station.
Don't know about the rooms with river view, but rooms with city view are NOISY. The noise from outside in the square went on late into the night and started early in the morning. We did not get much sleep. In addition, our room had an elevator door and the service staff supply closet right outside the door, which added to the noise. We inquired about moving, but were told it would be an additional 45 CHF for one night. They clearly had a room and we were disappointed under the circumstances that they wanted to charge for the move to a quieter room, particularly when we heard them advise others when we checked in that they had been upgraded at no charge. We will not stay here again, at least not with a City view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WORTH THE EUROS FOR THIS LOVELY HOTEL!

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Comfort and Location.
We stayed at the end of our European trip so were tired when we arrived. The room was comfortable and clean and had a fabulous view. We felt like we were in the middle of everything and we were!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray and Dianne from Melbourne

Beautiful Lucerne - great hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Location, amenity, views and atmosphere - it was great
Cons: hard to get to by car - but we like to be in the action area
Location: Perfect. We travelled by car from Lucerne to Italy across the Gothard Pass - spectacular !
We stayed overnight at Des Balances in June 2013. It is a lovely hotel on the river right in the heart of Lucerne. It was difficult to find by car - the GPS sent us to the other side of the river possibly because of road closures as there was a festival that weekend (when we arrived home we had received an email from the hotel advising of the festival and offering to assist with directions). The view was great and a welcome drink (quality red wine) in the hotel bar was a great start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen Y from New Jersey

Great location but cheaply furnished room

Posted May 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel location can not be beat. Room furnished without style, needed more furniture, needed furniture that looked like it did not come from a second hand store and needed a nice rug.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by maryah from austin

meh

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best thing about this hotel are the location, and the restaurant. The room we were in did not have airconditioning, the service was non-existent, and we were overcharged for waters from the mini bar. Service in the restaurant downstairs however was exceptional. When we arrived, no one asked to take our bags to the room as many other reviewers have stated. No one was exceptionally friendly or helpful. The room was ok, but it looked like a 2-3 star hotel inside the room. It was kind of tacky decor, not laid out very well, and i didn't care for the shower. The ceiling in the bathroom would have been cooler if there wasn't crusty shampoo splattered on it. But the view was spectacular, and you can't find a better location. The hotel wasn't amazing, I would probably stay elsewhere for the price next time, but in the same location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the river view from our balcony!

Posted May 5, 2013
I would highly recommend a room with a river view! It was lovely to sit on the balcony, sip free coffee and espresso from our room and people watch. On Saturday, we got to enjoy the farmers market. The staff was very good with recommendations and quick to address any needs. Beds could have been more comfortable, but we loved the room. We also enjoyed the restaurant downstairs... Although s but pricey, the perch pike was delicious.