Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Nice, but wifi didn't work.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Overall nice place with friendly staff and very comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent. Only issue was that Wifi didn't work on the fifth floor where we were. Had to go to the small lobby to connect. They had the very nice policy of letting departing guests store their luggage as we toured Lucerne the day we checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabeth Gray from Tucson, AZ

Quaint, clean, great breakfast

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location - short walk to waterfront, train station; in old town area with restaurants, shopping. Hotel is tall narrow converted townhouse with small lift and wide wooden staircase with stained glass on each landing. Our room with twin beds, TV, wardrobe with shelves, desk and chairs was large enough to get around and leave luggage open, although a luggage rack would have been useful. Bathroom was new and everything was spotless. With no air conditioning it did get warm, but all 3 windows opened wide and with supplied desktop fan it was comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and served in a formal dining room with tablecloths, napkins, glasses, and china instead of disposables. The buffet included sparkling wine and the foamy milk/coffee machine with the drink choices. There were many hot and cold dishes and quite a spread of cheeses, cold meats and breads of the country, as well as hot cooked rice and noodle soup. Large figures of the three kings (Magi) graced each end of the room. Front desk staff was helpful with calling cabs, directions, making change, supplying electical adapter. My husband uses a walker and had no problem in this hotel except for the two steps up from the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuart, Fl

Cute neighborhood close to old town Lucerne.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: It was just right for our two day stay. Clean, great location, friendly staff and great breakfast buffet.
Cons: Clean, spacious room, rather dull decor. Ice machine but no ice bucket or fridge to chill food. 2 local markets nearby. Only 1pillow each. I prefer 2!
Location: It was very good location. Had to use parking garage a block away. Not a problem. Old town very close. Cute cafe/bar across street. Nice neighborhood
We were given a 3rd floor room with balcony overlooking corner street. Nice residential area, yet very close to riverfront. There was a local bar/cafe on the corner below but it was not overly noisy. We enjoyed the sounds of bike rider bells and people passing. It was not overwhelming and our view was pretty. The room (304) was large with full bath, desk, TV and a little table with two chairs. We moved them out on the balcony to enjoy the view. Lift was close and convenient. Breakfast was terrific served in large dinning room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Winterthur is an active city on the outskirts of Zuerich. The pedestrian area is filled with coffee shops, bistros, patisseries and boulangeries all serving outside. The hotel is right in the middle of this. Its nice to stroll in the pedestrian areas and have straight access to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by James Thurber from Mountain View CA

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Exceptionally nice Luzern hotel within easy walking distance to the rail station. The breakfast is five stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sascha from NJ

Very nice stay in Lucerne

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our time at the hotel very much. The hotel is a little older, but well maintained and clean. The lift if very small and funky sometimes, so be prepared to walk stairs if you don't want to wait. Especially since you should get a room on floor 5 or 6, from there you will enjoy a nice mountain view. The surrounding neighborhood is very nice and safe. There is also some grocery stores very close by for you to purchase supplies if you need something. The hotel only has 3 parking spots tucked in the bag, and they are also on an incline and a little tricky to navigate. But we just parked at the Altstadt Parkaus, which is only like 3 minutes walk away for the same price as what the hotel would have charged. The city center is only a short 5 minute walk away. The breakfast buffet is awesome, we even packed some sandwiches for us to take along during the day. We were able to sleep with the window open, which was okay for us. But be advised the hotel room has no AC, and having the window open in the summer can be a little loud, especially during soccer world cup when Switzerland is playing. :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barb from toronto, canada

close to the walking district and the canal.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Cons: the lights in the bathroom are on a motion sensor so you have no choice but that they come on, even in the middle of the night which is annoying.
it was pleasant. room was a good size, bathroom was as well nice tub and shower. clean and loads of light. we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alvin from Singapore

Nice hotel easily reachable by bus

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Be sure to check out the impressive train model in the attic!
Cons: Was initially refused an additional wifi access password for my iPad even though wifi was supposed to be free.
Simply furnished rooms with good breakfast. Within 5 min walk of the bus stop (3-4 stops from the city center)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doctorcloth from England

Good Location, better with a kettle:)

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: room size, location, breakfast.
Cons: drinks facility in room
Location: Pilatus bahn down at Alpenacht super steep tramway to 7,000 feet plus. Restaurants can be pricey Taube good but watch for the house wine price
Good central location, staff very helpful, great breakfast could also be used to provide lunch with care:). a bit labyrinthine, comfortable and a nice large room. Strong warnings against own food in room and against damaging surfaces with hot items. Would be better if provided kettle and makings - only after hours drinks are cold from a vending machine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nzeder

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com