Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lausanne CH

Beautiful view and situation

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: View and situation
Cons: room decoration and comfort. Include breakfast in room price.
Location: just stuning
Beautiful view but unfortunately pictures of the room are much nicer to what they are. The decoration is minimal and you feel like in an empty room. But still the view over Lucerne center and its surrounded lakesand mountains is amazing. I hate hotel not including breakfast in the room price.
3 out of 5
by Anne from FL, USA

Cool location, undertrained staff.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
I was thinking I was going to a "typical Swiss" hotel from the looks and the name of the hotel. I was surprised that the staff was entirely Russian. There was Russian radio blasting in the lobby, the staff couldn't speak German, and they were rather rude. The receptionist was outside smoking on the terrace instead of manning her post. The restaraunt server was short when I sat outside with my breakfast bowl. When I asked the receptionist where a the nearest restaurant was, she simply didn't know (finally she said there is a "brown restaurant" up the hill). The entire staff was apethetic to our needs. The hotel itself is in an amazing spot though--although we went a bit "off road" when driving there. The view is spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Absolutely stunning location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The view
Cons: If anything it could have thicker walls, as mentioned in my review. Hard to blame the hotel for rude guests though...
Location: This sits at the foothills of the Swiss Alps - I think you can use your imagination.
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff were very nice, although there was some issue processing my American credit card. This didn't matter because I paid for the room through Expedia and so I just paid the breakfast charge with cash. If you don't have a car this place is hard to get to, but otherwise just follow the Himmelrich signs which start on the main drag through Kriens. The view from my room was amazing, it sits atop a big hill that overlooks Lucerne (or Luzern as all of the signs read). The room was in very good condition and clean, it had a fridge and a nice balcony. The only problem was a rude group of Asian travelers who did not consider that other people may be sleeping at 7 in the morning and were yelling in the hallways in what I assume was Chinese and repeatedly slamming doors. So I guess the doors and walls were a little thin but that was a small price to pay for an excellent room and stunning view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to arrive, and one need a car to go to Luzern

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Great view due to location
Location: Hard to reach Luzern.
Heating not working properly, even not working at all in one of our reserved rooms. Furniture with problems and other room issues, bathroom issues too, noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Dahlonega, GA

Great stay at a great hotel!

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Fantastic view and staff.
The staff was excellent. They saw to our every need. The breakfasts were great and the dinners were fantastic. The view of the city, day or night is excellent. We look forward to staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by strickka from Oregon

Off season

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Our visit was in The first week of November so it was very quiet & hardly any quests. The staff was very helpful & friendly. The rooms were comfortable & clean. The breakfast was very nice, Typical European Style, no hot foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Kaltenbrunn, GE

A wonderful location

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Parking, pet friendly, beautiful view, clean modern room, great breakfast.
Cons: Notify desk clerk about reception phone usage for personal use not acceptable.
Location: The hotel is high above the clouds, up with the mountain cows and houses. Beautiful.
A wonderful location high above the cities of Keims and Lucerne, Awesome view. We were having a little trouble locating the hotel at first (GPS issue), so we called the number listed on the reservation. The number was for a different hotel but the gentleman assisted us with the correct number. We called the correct number but was hung up on. We called back several times getting only a busy signal. We eventually found the hotel by asking locals for directions. Upon arrival, we learned that the phone was busy because the "new" clerk was on the phone with a friend for what appeared to be for over an hour. Frustrating to say the least. The room was very nice, clean and modern. Breakfast was great. We would stay again now that we know how to get to it!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tony & Dot from Australia

magnificent views from front

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Must have car as cab cost $50 from station no way of walking to transport too far too steep very basic room with no lights for reading no tv would only recommend as a one night stop if driving not as tourists also not for anyone with allergies to pet hair as animals are allowed in rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Salem, Ohio

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is situated part way up the mountain. There is a very good view of the city below, and beyond. The view is quite beautiful at night as well.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by henna from England

Bizzare stay

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very strange stay indeed. Firstly the hotel is on top a steep mountain with a fairly treacherous drive. Do not attempt to do this in the dark (no lighting) You also need to make your own way down and back up the mountain so a car is a necessity. taxi's will be hefty in charges. The staff were cold and indifferent when we checked in as though they weren't bothered about our stay and making us comfortable. Our room had a clean bathroom and a clean bed. But there are no lamps, and the wardrobe we did have was facing the wrong way so it couldn't be opened! oh and there was a writing bureau in the room, which was locked?! Went outside to sit on the seats outside with our books to enjoy the view and were made terribly uncomfortable as we were not ordering overpriced drinks. This made us promptly flee back to our spartan room without tv or wifi. (I am a city girl) One night was more than enough, and after reading other reviews I think we just about survived the Himmelrich! Best thing is the views, but they didn't exactly do much in ways of service for that!