Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Brisbane Australia

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Parking in cities always an issue, the valet parking was painless and overall good value.
Location: Visited both Mt Pilatus and Mt Rigi, actually preferred the latter.
Great central location, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and excellent. Would stay again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice room. Kitchen facilities. Close to train

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Staff very helpful. Excellent restaurant associated with hotel. Would reccommed hotel for price and amenities. Breakfast and wifi included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from Liverpool

A hotel that is a hidden, artistic gem.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Every member of staff is dedicated to helping and making sure that your stay is the best one possible. The restaurant has to be mentioned again here!
Cons: Ensure visitors know which floor they are on before arrival as top two floors don't have lift access but I think staff woukd have helped if required.
Location: So close to the Lake with wonderful views. Great Crepes nearby on the Lake front. All facilities are close by and it is on all routes. Superb location
A wonderful place. We arrived early and were accomodated immediately with staff who were willing to help us with our heavy suitcases and point out areas of interest. Nothing was too much for this hotel. If you asked advice it was given in such a helpful way but if you want to be more independent - that is fine too. The outstanding part of the hotel is its attention to detail. Each room is different and the art work and cleanliness is superb. It has an amazing restaurant and I plan to return to Lucerne just to eat at this hotel again. Fantastic food and service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mrs Gee from somerset

Great service

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice people and great service standard. Would have been nice to have somewhere a bit bigger to relax and chat to friends other than your room. Some very strange Artwork on the walls of our rooms! The bells of the Church next door to the Hotel do ring every quarter hour , 24 hrs and can be heard even with closed double glazed windows, so you need to be sound sleepers or bring earplugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Fresno, California

Great Value with breakfast included

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to be helpful and accommodating.
Cons: I could see how the room would be very noisy if the windows had to be open during the summer months.
Location: Easy walk to all the main "tourist" sights, including the train station.
My husband and I came in for 2 nights. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. With the prices of food in Switzerland, we thought the included breakfast made this hotel a great value. We cannot say enough good things about the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark Kauffman from Lucerne, Switzerland

great location and very comfortable

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a group of three and the room was very spacious and modern. The hotel itself had great atmosphere and the exterior oozed the Bavarian influence. Everything is within walking distance and the staff were great communicators and provided good advice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Norm from Los Angeles

A delicious restaurant and comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This eighteen room hotel, with an excellent restaurant, has a surprisingly large and friendly staff. The restaurant is very popular with people who work in the area, but breakfast and incredibly wonderful dinners are served almost exclusively hotel guests.This group also owns the Hotel Rebstock across the street with a less expensive restaurant, which has good food but the incredible food the chef prepares at the Hofgarten. We watched the chef and his two assistants prepare the best food we've eaten during our eight weeks in Europe. Our hotel room was large for the price, especially for Switzerland, but being two converted historic buildings, don't be surprised by an odd lay-out such as a half-flight of stairs down to your room from the elevator. The "entry chamber" to our room was a small kitchenette where we stored our large suitcases. A large ceramic kachelofen room-heating stove occupied as much room as a bed would have. The room flooring had been laid around this stove so preserving it was intentional. The downstairs restaurant area is well air-conditioned, but many reviewers have noted the rooms are not. Fortunately it was cool when we were in Lucerne. There is a church with bells which chime regularly, but the windows are double-glazed. There is currently some street work being done at night in front of the hotel, but we never heard any of this in our room with the windows closed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by linda from luzern

good lower cost option in luzern

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Hofgarten is st best three stars. Location is good-easy to walk to Altstadt and bridge. Breakfast is good and staff were very nice and helpful. While room was clean, it was very basic. There were no toiletries, a funky kitchen area, but the worst part wss the street construction At NIGHT! No fault of the hotel but it did make sleeping dificult. If it fits your budget definitely consider staying here but adjust your expectations accordingly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jariwala from New Jersey, USA

Excellent service and very helpful hotel staff

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hofgarten in Lucerne. The food and service in their restaurant was excellent. A very pleasant staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Santa Cruz, CA

Funky, noisy, well-located hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Nice breakfast spread, excellent (but pricey) vegetarian food.
Cons: Room layout and furnishings.
Location: 5 minute walk to/from train station and from edge of old town and waterfront.
Great restaurant, nice staff, good location for wandering about Luzern. Easy walk from train station. But on a busy bus route so pretty constant traffic noise until past midnight. I can't speak for all of the rooms but mine (a single) was strange, with the closet and shelves up a very large (2 feet high) step making it quite inconvenient. Tiny desk, near useless bedside lamp (very dim), tiny shower stall, small tube tv, no clock (but with church bells ringing every 15 minutes, who needs a clock?). If you like unique, you might like this.