Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A great stay!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, decor of the room.
Cons: The advertised wireless internet was not good- we found the best place to get it was on the landing outside the room! (only 1-bar strength)
Location: Near the river; eat at the restaurant underneath the hotel.
We had a great time here- good staff, clean room, excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E from Washington, DC

King Suite for lovers

Posted May 27, 2014
Great location, but if you are a light sleeper the church bell next door may bother you. I did not have a problem, but my friend said she woke up every hour from it. Our room looked towards the clock tower, although I am sure some look at the river. You have to go to the nearby Western Hotel to check in and out and have breakfast, no hotel staff on site. Large room, had a triangle Jacuzzi tub and a lounge area in the room, I think it was supposed to be for a couple rather than travel mates. Tis could be perfect for honeymooners or lovebirds. Ask for the King Suite.  Would consider again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location.Good room. No Wifi. Modest breakfast

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Size of the room
Cons: Breakfast. Wifi provision.
The hotel overall was ok. As mentioned on the website, the magic hotel has no checkin desk but the check in happens in hotel best western krone. This is not a problem as that hotel is merely a minute away and easy to locate. The breakfast takes place in hotel Krone as well The location of magic hotel is quite good and is walking distance from Luzern station just across the canal over the bridge. We had wifi included in the rent but the wifi wasnt working. We were told that there was an issue that day and since it was easter sunday they couldnt get it sorted. Whether this was really true or whether hotel magic never has wifi I have no way of knowing so please bear this in mind. We had to go over to hotel krone to use wifi which had an excellent connection. The breakfast was decent enough although it could have more variety and more choices of hot food. We had coffee preshly prepared for us by the waiter there which was quite lovely. The room was clean and big and had everything we needed. The only minus was the church bells which go on right into the night. Overall we had a good experience and if the wifi was fixed would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gretchen from San Jose, CA

Lucerne stop over

Posted Apr 21, 2014
This hotel was not easy to find especially since we did not see the note about registering in another hotel. After wandering the cobblestone plazas and lanes, we stopped to ask at the Krone hotel where the Magic Hotel was. Turns out we had to register right there! The room over looked the river and an old 16th century plaza. Huge tub with jets in our very spacious room, three larger windows over the piazza, and perfect location to go anywhere. Had a fondue dinner on the terrace estaurant just downstairs. I would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lloyd from Wales

Lovely hotel in the Old Town

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is quite unique. There is no reception desk - you check in 100m down the road at the Best Western. The rooms are all themed and the room I stayed in was very nice (the Angel Room). I would definitely stay here again. It is right near the historic wooden bridge and the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family from Australia

Great location, themed rooms roomy

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was in a great spot surrounded by the old city. We loved the themed rooms. Would definitely return to this hotel if lucky enough to re-visit Lucerne - a truly beautiful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab hotel in old lucerne town

Posted Dec 23, 2013
We were very tired upon arrival and wondered how it would work with getting the key from another hotel and parking the car but it went really really smoothly. We were able to drive the car into the old town and check in and walk to our hotel within a few minutes walk . Loved our Aladins room and pillows so soft. Didn't want to get up in the morning. The room was too hot so we opened the windows but that meant we did get disturbed by people in the middle of the night walking and talking loudly in the square below the room as well as the chiming of the clock bell tower but I wouldn't say it spoilt our night. We would return again . The parking was very expensive but apparently cheaper than public parking and it was valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Reto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisa from Sydney

Excellent

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location. Great service. This is a great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in centre of Lucerne

Posted Nov 17, 2013
The hotel has themed rooms in wacky styles - ours was 'Angels' with cherubs/angels, rococo furniture. Whatever you think of the décor the room was big, spotlessly clean and comfortable. There is no reception or public areas at the Magic Hotel, you have to walk 100m to the nearby Hotel Krone for check-in and breakfast, but this is not a problem. Overall, excellent value for money in a wonderful location right in the heart of the old centre of Lucerne.