Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Central location at a reasonable price

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and central location.
Location: Location was excellent being close to all the major sites.
We stayed in the Aladan room which was very spacious and comfortable. The location is great being in the middle of Lucerne old town so all the sites are on your door step.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very central location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast buffet
Cons: A table to write on
Location: In walking distance to theatre and concert hall
Hotel is within walking distance to main station. This is not a fancy place, but it has all the all the necessary amenities. The location couldn't be better, right in the middle of the pedestrian zone and just steps away from the Chapel-bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent Location

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Good location for seeing the town, eating places and transport
Cons: Table and chairs required for writing or eating
Location: Central location, shops, bars, eating places, buses and trains nearby. Good for seeing the river and lake
Hotel in excellent location for seeing the town and experiencing the night life but a bit noisy especially on Saturday night. No facilities in hotel must use neighbouring hotel for reception and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel exceeded my expectations. Very affordable for Luzern yet the facilities are top-notch, modern, clean. The staff at the accompanying hotel are nice and helpful. You couldn't ask for a better location that's walking distance to all the main attractions, the pier, and the central train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A great stay!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, decor of the room.
Cons: The advertised wireless internet was not good- we found the best place to get it was on the landing outside the room! (only 1-bar strength)
Location: Near the river; eat at the restaurant underneath the hotel.
We had a great time here- good staff, clean room, excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bennetts from Seattle

Nice place, center of town square

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed Lucern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from USA

In heart of Old Town

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quirky little boutique hotel with themed rooms. A little hard to find, but if you know that the registration is at the Krone Hotel about 100m away, then they will show you where the Magic is located. Large room, bathroom on the small side but functional. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and being a Saturday, the market was open so a lot of activity in the plaza. Wifi was adequate as was most of the smaller hotels we stayed at in Switzerland. Good location within old town part of Luzern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E from Washington, DC

King Suite for lovers

Posted May 27, 2014
Great location, but if you are a light sleeper the church bell next door may bother you. I did not have a problem, but my friend said she woke up every hour from it. Our room looked towards the clock tower, although I am sure some look at the river. You have to go to the nearby Western Hotel to check in and out and have breakfast, no hotel staff on site. Large room, had a triangle Jacuzzi tub and a lounge area in the room, I think it was supposed to be for a couple rather than travel mates. Tis could be perfect for honeymooners or lovebirds. Ask for the King Suite.  Would consider again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location.Good room. No Wifi. Modest breakfast

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Size of the room
Cons: Breakfast. Wifi provision.
The hotel overall was ok. As mentioned on the website, the magic hotel has no checkin desk but the check in happens in hotel best western krone. This is not a problem as that hotel is merely a minute away and easy to locate. The breakfast takes place in hotel Krone as well The location of magic hotel is quite good and is walking distance from Luzern station just across the canal over the bridge. We had wifi included in the rent but the wifi wasnt working. We were told that there was an issue that day and since it was easter sunday they couldnt get it sorted. Whether this was really true or whether hotel magic never has wifi I have no way of knowing so please bear this in mind. We had to go over to hotel krone to use wifi which had an excellent connection. The breakfast was decent enough although it could have more variety and more choices of hot food. We had coffee preshly prepared for us by the waiter there which was quite lovely. The room was clean and big and had everything we needed. The only minus was the church bells which go on right into the night. Overall we had a good experience and if the wifi was fixed would certainly stay there again.