Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by susan harmer brown from Trinidad

Good Location

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very well posistioned in the heart of Stresa, easy distance from the ferry terminal. Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the square, but this was a family room so cant say about the size of other rooms. Clean, lovely breakfast and delicious pastries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Hotel with good position

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: It was very good value and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Location: The location is excellent, close to ferries and numerous eating places.
The Elena is situated in the centre of town allowing easy access to ferries, train station, many eating place, shops and activities. The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was plentiful and varied. Our room was spacious with room for cases. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jen from Melbourne

Good value

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value, great location, clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from canberra

Comfortable and central

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: The care put in by the owner.
Cons: I didn't see any room air conditioning.
Location: Plenty of things to see around the lake and a nice old town area
This one star hotel charges three star prices and gives four star value. It is right on the square and we had a small balcony overlooking it with a table and chairs. Spacious room, nice bathroom and really homely breakfast area for the continental breakfast. Beautiful decor, the owner obviously takes great pride in it. Rooms may not be air conditioned, although the bar and breakfast area is. We stayed in October and the central heating was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paula B from Colorado, USA

Everything just right except the bed

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very nice, clean, and cheerful with a lovely tiny balcony. The bathroom was spotless. The towels were almost like linen dish towels rather than terrycloth, but they were absorbent enough. Breakfast was included and there was a fairly good assortment of meat, cheese, yogurt, juice,and rolls. Coffee was good. We liked the location on the main square. We visited in the fall and the temperature of the room was comfortable. (There was a ceiling fan, but I don't know if air conditioning is needed in the summer. ) In fact, our only complaint was the quality of the mattress. If you are the sort of person who can easily fall asleep on the floor, you will like the bed; otherwise, you will have difficulty sleeping...the mattress is beyond firm...more like hard as a board, and neither of us slept well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Very clean and comfortable, location central. Breakfast good. Great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Heidi from Switzerland

Perfect location

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was our third visit to Stresa. In the past we've stayed at Hotel du Parc and Hotel Astoria. We found Elena to be better than these hotels due to the location. It is PERFECT! We travelled with two young children and it was great that at night to go to dinner we never had to walk far, to get to the ferry or tourist train as well was a short distance. If we were to go in warm weather, I would consider going to a hotel along the waterfront that has a pool. The hotel staff were excellent, very helpful in recommending excellent restaurants and calling on our behalf to make reservations. The breakfast was great (for Italy) with plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, etc., but the highlight was the amazing coffee. Many people come to the cafe run by the hotel for their coffee and we got unlimited cups of it for free in the morning. We stayed in a quad room overlooking the square. Our only complaint of the room was the lack of 'storage' space (there were countless hangers and space to hang everything, but with little children's clothes, we would prefer a shelf or drawer somewhere). This is a very minor point and did not take away from our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marisa and Steve from Cumbria

Loved it!

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I don't have a bad word to say about Hotel Elena. The staff are wonderful and the lady who runs the hotel is very friendly. She also speaks several languages. We felt like part of the family. I have no idea why this hotel only has 1 star. The hotel is very centrally located in Stresa main square. Unusually for Italy, the breakfasts were ample and included muesli and fruit juice as well as cakes and croissants. Good coffee too! There is free wifi, which doesn't work in the bedrooms, but you can sit for hours in the cafe downstairs without anyone bothering you. The rooms were clean and the shower had great power and plenty of hot water. My mattress was a little lumpy (you could feel some of the springs) but that was my only discomfort. We would love to return to Hotel Elena and heartily recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Excellent value for a hotel in such a central position. Very helpful staff.