Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Somewhat disappointing.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Decor was lovely and view from our room was wonderful. Loved sitting on the balcony and enjoying the view.
Cons: Service at restaurants. The service was not up to the standards of a five star hotel. Staff at dinner was initially attentive but then disappeared.
The hotel is beautiful and the view of the lake is breathtaking. However, the service in the dining areas was not at the standards that I expect from a five star hotel. Also, the mattress and pillows in our room were extremely hard and not al all comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2015
A great hotel in a great location. A wonderful experience having stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bologna

Bellissimo!

Posted May 4, 2015
Storico hotel di estremo lusso a Stresa. Nulla da dire. Bello, elegante, posizionato in zona strategica. Io ci tornerei!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hyères

Hôtel splendide, avec vues imprenables

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Superbe hôtel aux couloirs transformés en galeries d'Art tant les pièces de musée y sont nombreuses. Vues imprenables sur le Lac et les Iles Borromées !! Accueil et Service très attentifs et agréables, parlant plusieurs langues, toujours prêts à donner de bons conseils pour améliorer votre séjour, un buffet petit déjeuner varién avec de bons produits... Seul bémol, l'hôtel, vieille bâtisse très bien entretenue mais qui manque d'isolation phonique.. Nous y retournerons tout de même avec grand plaisir !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
What an absolutely wonderful hotel. It is, as the other reviews say- totally gorgeous! Every floor has different ornaments, and historical pieces. Every member of staff was so so friendly, with a buona sera, and a buona notte whenever we arrived or left the building. Reception staff and the concierge Said, were ever so helpful, and engaging. Breakfast was also a treat, with fresh fruit, ham cheeses and delicatessen bakery items I was in heaven. I didn't want to leave!
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Venezuela

SPLENDIDO

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: L' eleganza e raffinatezza degli ambienti e la gentilezza e disponibilità del personale
Cons: nessuno
Location: ottime
SOTTO TUTTI I PUNTI DI VISTA E STATO UN SOGGIORNO MERAVIGLIOSO
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham AL

Loved absolutely everything about this hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: See above
Great location; amazing staff (they set up dinner reservations in town for us along with our boat ride the next day to visit the islands; we had to leave early one day and the front desk walked us down to the dining room as it was before they opened to give us a few minutes to fill up before our train ride back to Milan); beautiful accommodations (loved the hotel bikes that we could check out to explore the area; the views of the lake were spectacular from our room); and surprised by the historical significance (Hemmingway stayed here during WWI)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

An exceptional hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The whole atmosphere was one of luxury. The stars of the show were the staff with expert social skills, so nothing was too much trouble. e.g. Lorena
Cons: Everything was perfect; as it should be in this hotel of world class renown.
Location: The island gardens on the lake rate as amongst best in Europe. Walking either along the lake or in the mountains was a pleasure. Access by boat fun.
The facilities were first rate, with beautiful antique furnishings set in a stunning lakeside garden. The deal Expedia produced out of season made for a memorable experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Disappointed with our experience

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Very grand with great lake views and a pleasant garden.
Cons: Attitude to customers; quality and size of bathrooms; quality of dinner
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights this week. We were "upgraded" to a lake view room. Views were spectacular but the room was on the small side and the bathroom was unacceptably small and cramped. At breakfast the first morning there was no one to greet us and explain how it worked. Very little polite communication by the waiters with customers. Dinner in the evening was disappointing, both the quality of the food and the service. The fact that only 6 tables were occupied all evening perhaps tells all you need to know about the reputation the hotel has for a good dining experience. We feel that the hotel relies too much on its past reputation and needs to re-think its approach. There was a certain arrogance by some of the staff. In our view not 5 star quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sion et Brig

hôtel superbement bien situé, au bord du lac

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: la conservation du style de l'époque de construction
Cons: les volets ou du moins la manière de pouvoir soi-même les fermer et les ouvrir...
Location: avons été uniquement au golf de retour du Tessin
nous avons été proche du golf des Borromées, qui était le but de notre voyage