Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel but...

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Beautiful hotel with fantastic garden and views. Truly unique. Unfortunately has some major flaws. The rooms for a 4* are very basic and need renovation. The small shower consists only of a curtain and water spills all over as you wash. When we came A/C didn't work and it required three calls before being fixed. So did our request for extra pillows. The hotel badly needs more professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by June from London

Nice hotel, very well appointed on the lake.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: location, comfort and sense of stability and reassurance.
Cons: Would love a kettle in the room to make a hot drink!
Location: Isola Madre and Isola Superiore and Isola Bella a must! Villa Tranto a very pleasant and calm place to visit. Ill Burchello restaurant lovely
Friendly welcoming staff with competent English which was a reassuring start. Comfortable room, well appointed. very pleasant dining room with generous breakfast and attention to detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traveller from Surrey

Wonderful location on the lake.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the pool are definitely the best assets but the building itself is impressive too.
Cons: The restaurant is expensive and the menu is very restricted. The food was fine but we would not recommmend it at these prices. Breakfast was only OK.
Location: Great little town nearby with lots of cafes and bars along the lakeside.Good for walks, cycling, boat tripsand train rides in the mountains.
This is a beautiful hotel in a superb setting on the lakeside. You do need to make sure your room has at least a side view of the lake. The terrace bar overlooking the little island nearby is a great place to sit with a drink (not too expensive either) and the gardens are lovely. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful, especially at reception and at the pool. The indoor pool set in the gardens with its view of the lake is a wonderful bonus and the gym looked good though we did not use it. Room was quite big and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Peter from England, UK

Wonderful views - quite expensive!

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: The views over the lake.
Cons: The over priced 'extras' - the drinks that add to the ambiance of an evening by the lake.
Location: Wonderful.
We had stayed at the Majestic before and knew how expensive it could be. The location is wonderful and the gardens beautiful. The hotel may look a little tired - it is an old building and one could say that this adds to the charm. The restaurant has great views over the lake and is quite formal. The choice of food was rather limited on the night we were there, particularly as I'm not a great fish eater. It was expensive - we knew it would be and have no complaints. The price of a glass of wine - in the restaurant or on the terrace may shock some people. It did us. Our room was at the back (we expected this) - it was clean, but rather tired and in need of a 'make-over'! Somebody had 'blocked' us in the car park when we came to leave - the staff sorted this, but there was no apology from anyone. Value for money . . . no. I don't think we'll return.
4 out of 5
by Caroline from Cambridge, UK

Room with a view

Posted Sep 29, 2012
Pros: The views from the balconies
Cons: Chambermaids knocking every night around 7pm to check if we were happy with the room. We found it rather invasive.
Location: One of the few hotels that are right on the lakeside with no noisy road running infront of it. Good walking distances for restaurants in Pallanza
Our experience of this hotel was very good on all fronts. The staff were always very helpful and prepared to go 'the extra mile' for you. We arrived and found we had been upgraded to a junior suite with a marvelous view over the lake. The room was well appointed in terms of comfort of the bed, quality of the furniture and decor. The breakfasts were adequate but there is room for improvement. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice. Hotels restaurant was of a high standard in terms of quality of food and presentation and atmosphere very pleasant. The views of the lake from the balcony was relaxing and beautiful. Overall it was a very good experience and I would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to anyone. We did not use the spa but the swimming pool looked very nice and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great!Good service. Good facilities.
4 out of 5
by turtle from clare, suffolk

A good average hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2012
Pros: The maitre'd
Location: good, but not a particularly attractive town
The food and wine and service in the restaurant was superb. The room was rather ordinary and a little dated.I felt it was rather too expensive. Pallanza is not the most attractive resort on the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location - but let down somewhat

Posted Sep 20, 2012
Pros: Elegant, comfortable , good location
Cons: Air conditioning and poor breakfasts
Location: Excellent lakeside views - easy walking into the Town - quiet
Nice hotel and beautiful location. The superior room was fine and generally comfortable and very quiet despite overlooking the road, but for us the hotel was let down on some points. For some unknown reason the air conditioning was turned off each night in the early hours making sleeping a little uncomfortable (we did raise this twice with the management, but it happened on 3 of the 5 nights we stayed) - the buffet breakfasts were fairly poor for this quality of hotel and uninspiring (tinned fruit) with charges for extras eg 9 euros for porridge ! On the basis of this we were disinclined to eat in the restaurant at night and ate in the Town instead which was close by . We were given the impression that there were some basic "economies" being made which we felt made the hotel less welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alyce

beautiful hotel, fantastic location

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
all the staff were extremely helpful, impeccable service, and the location was right on Lake Maggiore, and a short walk into the town of Pallanza where there is a ferry stop to visit the Borromeo Islands and other stops on the Lake. Very good restaurants in town, although not much shopping. Try Stresa for shopping and bustling tourist activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael

Nice but be careful of hidden fees

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old-style hotel, very friendly staff. Staff tried to charge me 51Euros to press a shirt and a suit. I refused to pay such a rip off price, especially since they did not tell me the prices ahead of time, and they cut the charge in half. Very uncomfortable beds however, and the shower was too tight to even turn around in. Internet was reasonably priced but extremely slow. Gym was very adequate for a European hotel. Restaurant offered a good breakfast, included in the rate, and an outrageously expensive lunch.