Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Vanessa from Totnes

Disappointing hotel despite great staff

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Great view, ferry boats outside, bus stop, some local restaurants and bars, helpful staff, internet access in reception, good shower room.
Cons: Air con in room not working, noise from rooms above and below, mini bar did not cool, too close to main road so very noisy, small room.
Location: Good for boats and buses, Intra which is only one of 3 areas to Verbania - this was not clear, we preferred more attractive towns like Cannobia.
This place is too expensive for what it has to offer. Stayed in much better hotels in Italy for the same or less. Weird lack of attention to detail like air on and minibar not working, total lack of noise insulation, half the minibar items listed not actually in it, and no-one really trained to do the bar downstairs. One couple left whilst we were there saying it really wasn't what they had been led to expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mauro from San Diego

lake view- make sure you ask for lake view

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is very nice and staff was very good. If you wish a quiet lake location and stroll by lake, this is it. If you wish more action(more stores and more restaurants) you should drive to Stresa which is 15 minutes by car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cornelia from Stone Ridge, NY

A fine hotel in a beautiful location

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Our room looked out over the waterfront -- a beautiful view.
Location: We loved visiting the Botanical Gardens nearby, and the magical town of Orta on Lake Orta a short drive away.
We enjoyed the location of the Hotel Ancora, right in the middle of town and an easy walk to the ferry boats.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Micky B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom F from Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, I was pleased with the hotel. It was clean and updated. The staff was helpful and spoke fluent English. the parking garage was great to have. My only complaint is the location. I was on vacation with my wife and we were hoping for a beautiful, quiet location along the lake. The hotel is located in Verbania, and more specifically Intra. It's right along a fairly busy road (SS34) and is definitely not secluded or quiet. After touring the other areas, in retrospect we would have stayed in Verbania along Via Vittorio Veneto or in Stresa. these areas are more what we had in mind for a relaxing, romantic time at the lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike and Carol from Naples, Florida

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked a room with balcony/view and it was great. Staff very helpful and breakfast was excellent......even had champagne included. We'd definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by julie & alex from Queensland, Australia

Wonderful stay at Lake Maggiore

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: The exceptionally helpful staff, the location beside Lake Maggiore, nearby bus station and port.
Location: Port to access with boats to Stresa, nearby islands and Laveno and chairlift. Not as touristy as Stresa but all the magic of being on Lake Maggiore.
We recently stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Ancora in a superior room with Lake views. It was a Fantastic location, with outstanding, helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great. Access to nearby Laveno and Stresa was across the road. A great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerald from San Francisco

excellent hotel with views

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
excellent overall. staff friendly and accommodating. recommend getting superior room with view. they have great views of the lake and mountains. excellent breakfast. entire hotel has been updated with sleek modern interior. rooms facing the lake are noisy due to busy street but this is the view side and worth the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: Staff and location
Location: Beautiful location
Excellent staff. Receptionist extremely helpful and friendly.