Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northeast WI

Lakeside!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Flowery breezy lakeside
Cons: Manager gave me a snobby impression but she was only there for a moment.
Location: Very close to Yari family restaurant across street. Luino market on Wed 4 km away. Lakeside and swimming beach right outside.
This was a superior hotel and a bit upscale. View was spectacular from our room. The desk lady was unbeatable; sweet and cheerful as can be. Bed was one piece mattress but pretty hard. This hotel is a short train, bus, or car ride of about 4km from Luino and their market. Not recommended to walk it. Bike it ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Martinez, CA

Idyllic location, rich history

Posted Sep 19, 2013
The elegance of this hotel may have faded somewhat, but it's still elegant. The secluded waterfront location is a treasure. The views are spectacular!! The property offers a spa, a grotto, a boat entry. The food is good, the service not quite together. There is a train stop at Colmegna, but we had to carry luggage from there to the hotel (.5km). It would have been nice to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Boaters from lake maggiore

Beautiful spot

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night, unfortunately as we thought the hotel was brilliant in all respects. We stayed in early September and the weather was very hot and we liked it so much we are going back for dinner and probably another holiday next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by carolyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful historic property and setting. Wonderful buffet breakfast and beautiful terrace lakeside for dinner. But rather noisy, at least from our rooms, with location by main road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Magical place

Posted Oct 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Romantic but also cool with young children. Great people and reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by L

Super

Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great break. Location is super, food excellent, staff very helpful. Would go back without hesitation. Negatives are pricey extras (the treats left on a plate on the table are not free!!), paths that could do with more lighting at night, smallish standard rooms, but positives outway negatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lawrence

Class A

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
When I booked our room at the Camin Colmegna, I expected it to be nice and quaint and quiet. It was that and so much more. The property sits right on the lake and has a long stone and gravel path that wraps around the hillside along the water. The breakfast was more than plentiful and the staff literally work day and night to keep you feeling pampered. We booked a deluxe room that looked like it had just been redone complete with a modern bath with a remote controlled skylight. My only regret was not spending the entire two weeks of our holiday sunning on the grass by the lake being served cold beverages by the smiling staff. The hotel is located central to Lugano, Bellinzona and Locarno for day trips and sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gerard

A dream location, 5star hotel with 3star rating

Posted Sep 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wow, how did you find this hotel, my husbands words when we arrived and it only got better. A very pleasant receptionist brought us to our standard very pretty and spacious room. We then were offered coffee or tea with complimentary home made cakes, fab. We spent an hour or 2 in the fab gardens with loungers and swam in their private area of the lake, dinner on the amazing lakeside terrace was perfect with lovely staff attending. The great breakfast was taken on another smaller lakeside terrace. Sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Essex, UK

Perfect for a break

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Location: Outstanding, right on the lake. Stunning views and scenery.
Definitely the best we have ever stayed in. Beautiful setting, great room and view, very friendly staff, lovely food. We plan to return again next September and each September after that.