Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Cambridge, UK

Lovely pool and gardens

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Lovely pool and gardens. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the chamber maids
Cons: Sound insulation to rooms. Restaurant staff were not particularly friendly or helpful which lets down the hotel as all other staff were brilliant
Location: Outside the main resort of Stresa and about 15 minute walk to town square and restaurants. Next to Mottarone cable car and boats to Isolo Borromeo
Lovely little hotel opposite Isolo Borromeo. Bit of a walk into the town, but ideal to walk off all the great food! Sound insulation in rooms was poor, you could hear toilets being flushed and shutters being closed in other rooms. Dogs are currently allowed in hotel and one of them was barking for hours two nights running. The second night reception went to find out which room dog had been left in and people left the following morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by latabi from New Zealand

Quiet get away

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 4 nights in June 2013. Hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious with great wrap around balconies. Stresa is not cheap for accommodation and we chose this on budget considerations. I would have rated it higher but the beds and pillows are very uncomfortable - like rocks and thin pillows that are hard. Poor sleep in this respect let it down a lot. We were on 1st floor and the noise from guest upstairs was easily heard - showers in morning, steps etc. Internet is free which is good for Stresa but so slow and drops out all the time it was very frustrating. Breakfasts ok basic continental italian style - but they did not top up items so if you were late, too bad ..... Location is a bit out of town, but as others have said its a wonderful easy walk and not a problem if you like to stroll. Would recommend this place if you are on a tight budget and don't mind a very very firm bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe Li from California

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect location. Great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Madeline

Lovely, well managed hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Sep 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely week at the hotel. It was spotlessly clean, very well maintained and in a peaceful location. Staff were both pleasant and professional. It's location about 15-20 mins walk from Stresa centre, was fine for us during the week as we enjoyed the walk through the gardens on the lakeside - but our airport bus left at 6.30am on departure and taxis did not run that early. To be fair we were told that the hotel would sort something for us, but it was a nice morning and we walked. Otherwise it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Lido La Perla Nera, Lake Maggiore. Italy.

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
A nice hotel in a very pretty location, stayed here Tuesday to Saturday in July 2011. The hotel is in a quite area with a only couple of restaurants and bars over the road. It is next to the cable car station and the landing stage for the lake boats. We stayed bed and breakfast and ate out nearby or in Stressa which is a 15-20 minute walk. The walk to Stressa is mostly along the lake edge, it is a well lit promenade and a very romantic walk, reminds me of something out of the Victorian age. The breakfast at the hotel was the only disappointment, basic but adequate. The bread or Croissants seemed a bit stale some days, there were things like Salami, meats, cheese, crackers yogurt and some cereals and fruit, nothing cooked as far as we could see, I would expect more or at least better quality for the cost of the room, after a 4 day stay here we moved to Lake Garda and stayed in a slightly cheaper hotel with a fantastic breakfast, the difference was amazing, worlds apart. The staff here are very friendly and the hotel is nicer inside than you would expect from the outside, it had a good indoor pool and I think there is an outside one. It was lovely to get up in the morning and walk across the very quiet access road and car park to the waters edge and just admire the view of the beautiful lake and the nearby islands. There is an adjacent hotel car park with at least 10 spaces a few paces from the reception, and some gardens. At night we did not notice any noise, just the odd church bell in the distance and the sounds of the boats on the lake, a very pleasant background noise. The rooms were cleaned and made up every day, the beds were comfortable but the pillows were a bit thin, still, personal taste. We had a TV in the room and air con, most if not all rooms have a small balcony. If I was coming back to the area I would stay here again as the location and the quality of the hotel, and friendliness of the staff were good enough for us. There is lots to see on and around the lake. We had a hire car and took a trip to the top of the lake into Switzerland to see the James Bond "Golden Eye" dam and bungy jump { find it on Google Earth } it`s less than an hour away. We also drove to Zermatt which is less than three hours away through the stunning Simplon mountain pass, a good day trip. From the hotel landing stage take the ferry across the lake to the "Eremo di Santa Caterina del Sassoballaro", { again look it up on Google Earth } a stunning Hermitage clinging to the cliff face on the lake, free entry. Or if you have a car drive North a few miles and catch the cheap car ferry across the lake from Verbiana to Laveno. Try the bucket chair lift up the mountain on the edge of Laveno and also drive a few miles south to the Hermitage, the cost of the ferry is cheaper than driving round the lake and a lot. lot quicker. If you are arriving by car, look for the cables of the cable car as the station is outside the hotel, if coming from the North the turning is down the side of the petrol station, careful or you will miss it. There is a good supermarket about a mile North on the roundabout for supplies. If your not bothered about a posh hotel and just want good quality accommodation in a quite but stunning location, then I would recommend this hotel. We are a couple, in our 40s-50s, I hope this review proves useful to you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Very friendly hotel food could be better

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
Good Hotel, nice room, very friendly helpful staff who all spoke good English. Ferries and cable car adjacent, twenty minute walk into Stresa. Only gripe was that the food was only OK next time I would probably make the effort to go out and eat. Lots of good restaurants in Stresa