Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant

Posted Oct 21, 2013
We loved this hotel, the rooftop deck had an amazing view of the Bella and Pescatori islands as well as the surrounding mountains. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. Had an old world charm and we would definitely go back. Prior Lake, MN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from New Zealand

Great hotel at Lake Maggiore

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Quiet friendly ambiance. Position.
Cons: Tea making facilities in the bedroom.
Location: Good location, easy walk to lake front and Stresa shops and facilities such as ferry to Islands, and cable car to mountain.
Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Royal. Quiet, convenient, helpful and friendly staff, easy stroll to lake and to Stresa. Our room had lovely lake and mountain views, had a nice balcony, and very comfortable.We took the half board and were very satisfied. Unfortunatly we had to cut our stay short due to ill health but hope to return next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ugg from Essex

Close to Ferries and Cable Car

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Being close to the Ferries and Cable Car
Cons: The breakfast was awful and the beds were like sleeping on the floor
Location: The location was ok for a lovely walk in to Stresa, not so nice in the rain! The Cable Car up the Mountain was fantastic
This Hotel was fine for a short break, But I think there must be better ones along the front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean and comfortable; got a great Lake view as requested (& hotel is 5 mins walk from lake, including boat trips & cable car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Old Hotel Close to Lake

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. They went out of their way to help with all aspects of tourism.
Cons: The only issue were the trains which is something the hotel has no control over.
Location: The cable ride up the mountain. Boat rides to the islands. Stresa's park which allows you to walk along the lake and to central Stresa.
We reviewed all comments concerning this hotel. We knew what to expect with regards to the breakfast and other items mentioned. From the moment we arrived, we were met with hospitality. Our room on the 4th floor was fantastic. The views overlooking the lake was incredible. We slept with balcony door open all night as the temperatures were perfect, even for June. The breakfast was as expected and enough to tide a person over until lunch or dinner. We also experience dinner. The roasted veal was perfect. The hotel is very quiet with a relaxed atmosphere. The bartender made great drinks which we enjoyed on the terrace. A quick walk downhill took us to the cable car and boats to the islands. There is also a restaurant there on the lake which was very good. The only thing we didn't get used to were the trains which come by frequently and are noisy. It took us a day to figure out what it was due to the fact, at times, it sounded like a plan landing. We would have closed the balcony door but the air conditioning was off at this time of the year. All in all, this was a wonderful hotel situated in a great location. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely stay

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
thoroughly enjoyed stay at the Royal ideal location close to taxi boats and cable car and railway
5 out of 5
Recommended
by VAK from Australia

Comfy hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is of an older style however it was really very comfortable with large rooms and is extremely well located to the ferry to the islands. It is also an easy 20 min walk into Stresa along the foreshore for dinner at one of the many lovely little restaurants.
2 out of 5
by tilly from cotswolds

disappointing experience

Posted Jun 30, 2013
Pros: roof top terrace views
Cons: dirty sink /rock hard pillows /lack of air conditioning/noisy trains and road
Location: ok short walk into town.
hotel felt it needed updating and some tlc. Bathroom sink plug full of hair - yuk Pillows were hard as rock air conditioning did not work breakfast was poor stale bread ,tinned fruit - staff removed breakfast before hotel guests had finished and late comers had very limited choice. Staff were unfriendly and no one smiled Hotel was noisy road directly outside with train line behind - trains running through the night One good point - rooftop terrace - fantastic views of islands! Overall disappointing - would not recommend hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from Scotland, UK

A quality hotel in Stresa.

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Good location and helpful staff.
Cons: Breakfast was a bit limited in choices.
A good hotel in a very handy location near the cablecar and departure point for the boats. Modern hotel, a bit old-fashioned inside, but clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and spoke good English. Good value too, with breakfast included and free wi-fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hoppy from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Beware the bus tours.

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Views of Lake Maggiore.
Cons: I think the food quality and presentation could be improved.
Location: Hotel is a good 15-20 minute walk from Stresa if you wish to dine in town and have a few wines.
Welcome was warm and reception staff were helpful. The room was of reasonable size (for Europe), clean and on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the lake. At check-in we made a reservation in the restaurant/dining room for dinner and arrived at the designated time only to find out we would be sharing the room with about three bus loads of German tourists. The noise generated by the assembled group was indescribable. I wish we could say we had a quiet dinner and the food was extraordinary. Maybe next time.