Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Excellent location right in the heart of Chamonix but the hotel has had her day I'm afraid. Staff very friendly and hotel clean but very tired in decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely hotel with gorgeous views

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, decor.
The hotel is walking distance rom the center of town, as well as minutes from the panoramic lake walk, the cable car to Mottarone, and the ferry to the Borromean Islands.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by California traveller from Berkeley, CA

Beautiful views, excellent service

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is situated at the far end of Stresa, just up the street from the funicular, with an easy alternative to reach the Borromean Isles than walking into the center of Stresa itself. You can either walk along the lovely lakefront promenade, or take a short-cut into the town center. Either way, it's not far, and is a beautiful stroll. We were delighted by the large windows in our lake-view room. Room was no-frills in decor, but very clean, and the bathroom was brand-new and excellent (shower only). The service in the restaurant seemed excellent, though we didn't eat there at dinner, only breakfast (same staff). Front desk staff were superbly helpful and professional. The shuttle bus to Malpensa airport is within an easy walk from the main entrance to the hotel's parking lot - very convenient. Lobby has several parlors, sort of oldy-worldy style, and sweet. Not a luxurious place, but very nice, friendly, clean, and seemed a good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hilary from Royston

Out of town but lovely walk

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Lovely views and peaceful location.
Cons: Would prefer fresh rather than tinned fruit salad for breakfast.
Location: 20-30 minute walk into centre of Stresa and main boat landings. Local one only has trips at fairly irregular intervals.
Stayed here having spent other holidays in Stresa much closer into town. It probably takes about 20-30 mins to walk into the middle of Stresa but the walk along the lakeshore is very beautiful. Hotel itself has lovely views over Isola Pescatori.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nicole from Edinburgh

Very friendly hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Very friendly. We had a nice clean room. Easy walking distance to town centre. Easy access to the islands. Good parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant

Posted Oct 21, 2013
We loved this hotel, the rooftop deck had an amazing view of the Bella and Pescatori islands as well as the surrounding mountains. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. Had an old world charm and we would definitely go back. Prior Lake, MN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from New Zealand

Great hotel at Lake Maggiore

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Quiet friendly ambiance. Position.
Cons: Tea making facilities in the bedroom.
Location: Good location, easy walk to lake front and Stresa shops and facilities such as ferry to Islands, and cable car to mountain.
Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Royal. Quiet, convenient, helpful and friendly staff, easy stroll to lake and to Stresa. Our room had lovely lake and mountain views, had a nice balcony, and very comfortable.We took the half board and were very satisfied. Unfortunatly we had to cut our stay short due to ill health but hope to return next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ugg from Essex

Close to Ferries and Cable Car

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Being close to the Ferries and Cable Car
Cons: The breakfast was awful and the beds were like sleeping on the floor
Location: The location was ok for a lovely walk in to Stresa, not so nice in the rain! The Cable Car up the Mountain was fantastic
This Hotel was fine for a short break, But I think there must be better ones along the front