Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HOTEL CATERINA EXPERIENCE

Posted May 20, 2014
We found the staff pleasant. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The best thing were the fantastic breakfasts - an absolute feast! The free hot and cold drinks and tasty snacks were a very good feature and welcome on return from a day out. Lake Orta is a bit off the main tourist route out of season and we found, without a car, that getting to other places was difficult. (May) We found that the hotel staff and the two tourist offices were unaware of the possibilities of public transport. With a bit of initiative we found our own route via public transport to Lake Maggiore which proved very easy. More information would have been good. It is not easy to get to Orta from the airport without a car. We decided to book a taxi which was a very good idea. The taxi firm were excellent. There is almost enough to do at Lake Orta for a week without travelling elsewhere and plenty of lovely eating places, several within easy reach of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from Leicester

Perfect if you're arriving by train!

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Nice modern room with lots of space. Free snack bar in the pm and night, handy if you get back late and don't have any food or water in your room!
Cons: They forgot our towels but brought some up straight away when we asked.
Location: 15-20 minutes from Orta San Giulio via a very nice walk along the lakeside. 5 minutes from the station.
Very nice, friendly hotel overall in a great location for those arriving by train. It is a 15-20 minute walk to Orta San Giulio but if you are reasonably able bodied it's not really a problem, we went there and back 4 times in two days and were fine! The room was modern and clean with a balcony and a nice view of the little terrace. The only problem we had was that they had forgotten to put towels in our room, which they rectified immediately when we asked them. The breakfast buffet was lovely, very varied for a smallish hotel, and there was a free snack and soft drink bar in a little lounge available from 3pm until 7am.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kay from Houston

Not really a hotel

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed. Strange decor, staff not at all helpful, restaurant affiliation was a 20 minute walk. Breakfast was posted as 7:00 but on Saturday it didn't start until 8:00. Room wasn't cleaned during our stay until 4:00 and sometimes the sheets weren't changed. We arrived by train and could have used help or directions to get to hotel. Nothing was offered. Would never stay there again even though we loved the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by niamh from ireland

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel was lovely- basic clean rooms,breakfast was very italian!! there was a great room with treats providing night nibbles for free!! staff were very helpful. location- hotel was a 15-20 min walk from the square.not really much to do around the hotle but lovely walks and things to see, would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becahm

Very good value hotel with lots of free extras

Posted May 15, 2013
We were particularly impressed with the friendly and helpful person on reception who was very willing to offer tourist advice. Other very impressive features of this hotel were the in-room refrigerated bottled water and snacks, plus the availability of free snacks and drinks downstairs. Breakfasts were a highlight catering for all tastes and dietary needs Wifi was only available downstairs The hotel is handy to the train station, unfortunately on a busy road without pedestrian path, and a 15 min walk from the main square in Orta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Geoffrey

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Having on-site parking is a big plus since Orta itself is a pedestrian zone. Only a 10 minute walk into town. Quiet location. Good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Poor quality room, nice hotel overall

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Quality of the room
Quality of our room was poor, it needed repainting and some basic repair; also, it did not have a TV (although it is stated on Expedia website that every room has one and frankly you would expect it from every hotel, even the most basic). Ok for one night, but wouldn't stay for longer. To be honest, i guess we were just unlucky with our room, our friends stayed in the room next to ours and it was in better condition and it also had a TV. Staff was ok and kindly let us park in the free parking (300 metres from the hotel) even after check out. Breakfast is probably the best part, there's everything you may want..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from Leicester, UK

Ace hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2012
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, brilliant breakfast selection, snack room
Cons: If I had to be pushed, the TV was a bit too small and high on the wall to watch the Olympics comfortably from bed!
Location: Not unexpected for us - we knew it was out of town and enjoyed the opportunity for walking every day.
Great hotel. We visited for 4 nights last week and loved every minute. The staff were brilliant, the breakfast was great, the snack room was a welcome advantage. I don't think walking 300m for free parking is that much of a problem at all but would agree with some other viewers about the slightly treachorous non-pavement immediately outside the hotel could be a problem for those with kids. The room was perfectly adequate for a 3 star hotel, fine, uncontrollable air con, but given the summer we have had in England so far this year I was more than happy to be warm for a change, and it wasn't that bad at all, perhaps because we had a room at the rear so was perhaps a bit more shady? I also realy enjoyed the fact that the hotel was a 15 minute walk into the centre of Orta SG, it gave an opportunity to appreciate the surroundings on the way down, and a bit of exercise on the way back. A stroll in the evening after eating far too much pizza is no bad thing in my book... We'll be returning!