Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Amazing room with a view

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I understand there are several rooms in various locations under this hotel and we were part of a wedding party with several staying at this hotel. I understand some rooms were not great but ours was fabulous. We had a very large room overlooking the main piazza and the lake. It was stunning. Breakfast in a nearby restaurant in the same square was fantastic too. We had a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Claudia D'Angelofrom Bologna

Ottima posizione

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
L'albergo è carino e ben tenuto, forse la pulizia lascia un po' a desiderare. Appena entrata in camera, ho tolto le scarpe e camminato a piedi nudi: piedi neri in pochi secondi! La struttura però è molto carina, ben ristrutturata e in posizione ottima! Fantastica la colazione con un buffet ricchissimo; anche se per fare colazione è necessario spostarsi in piazza ne vale la pena…si vede anche il lago! Tutto sommato un po' caro per il suo standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kfcfrom dunstable

Good not great

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good for the price.But be careful, as well as the main building - which looks nice- there are further rooms in an annexe which are a bit hit and miss.And you don't check in at the hotel but an office next to their restaurant 100 yds away - confusing if you arrive late! Initially put in an anexe room - dark and pokey, small bathroom, not very nice. Complained and staff very very helpful, moved to a nice tidy bright room. Breakfast taken at a cafe in the square - lovley in the summer and staff very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chambre disseminee dans village d Orta

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Grande surprise à notre arrivee , car l hotel n en est pas vraiment un ! Un bureau s occupe de plusieurs chambres disseminees dans le village Un acces assez difficile car des rues pavées et un acces restreint en voiture ! ( minimum 10min à pieds et payant ! ) Le petit dej se prend dans le hall d un autre petit hotel à qqs minutes à pied Pas recommandé pour des familles avec bcp de bagages !!
2 out of 5
by Johnfrom Colorado

Careful lots of misrepresentation

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: They could be honest about the rooms and impossible parking.
Location: Nice lake, cute tourist town and beautiful monastery at the top of a mountain, a very arduous climb.
"Free" parking is totally unusable at top of a mountain a mile away and no parking anywhere near hotel so forget about getting luggage to the rooms. They tried to put us in an awful dark, damp room and we had to argue to get a decent room with a window. This hotel was grossly misrepresented on Expedia and very overpriced, although town is cute, lake is nice and breakfast (in another hotel) was good. Be careful with this place. Expedia customers are low priority for this hotel. We needed to park (10 Euros/day) at a private garage and drag our bages 500 meters down steep cobblestone paths or steps, then up rwo flights of stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by claudiofrom milano

Posizione strategica

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Soggiorno breve ma rilassante , ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo . Discrezione del personale , camera silenziosa e posizione invidiabile .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, bed hard as a plank

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff who helped to explain the layout of the hotel, the annex and the parking. It's not simple! The parking is either a 15-20 minute walk away from the hotel, or a 5 minute walk to the multi-storey carpark for 10Euros overnight. Access by vehicle is difficult everywhere in this village, but that is the charm of the place. The reception and main part of the hotel is just opposite the restaurant of the same name. Our room in the annex, about 100m away was very plain, dark and small. The bed was as hard as a plank. Not as nice as expected. However it was nice to be in the centre of the village and be able to walk around at night and eat out without having to drive anywhere afterwards. A good breakfast in the morning took place at another location on the main square. Probably the best part of the stay. In summary nice staff, but rooms not good enough to want to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoriafrom Canterbury, UK

Lovely quirky hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: I have a soft-spot for the Piccolo Olina having stayed there three times in the past thirteen years
Cons: Nothing - there are lots of steps but then it's in a medieval town
Location: Lake Orta is lovely but now spoiled by too many tourists so selfishly I'd say don't go. I'm glad I've seen it at its quiet best
Rooms vary hugely but ours was great. Best breakfast in Italy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by ARfrom PARIS

chambre petite

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
calme et confortable mais petite chambre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult to find, but good location near square.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Location near main square. Good value for money. Good choice of breakfast.
Cons: Signage so its easier to find.!!
Accommodation was very difficult to find, we arrived by car and struggled to get close by so had to find it on foot, which was still a challenge as the hotel reception is just a doorway and the accommodation is then elsewhere so we were taken several streets away to our rooms and then had to carry the luggage along cobbled streets. We later saw cars driving along the cobbled streets but they are very narrow so when we checked out we decided it was easier/safer to carry the bags back to the car again which was a pain as we were travelling with a toddler so also had a buggy etc. the hotel's free parking was also a bit of a distance away so we ended up parking on a street but there are limited free spaces so you need to ensure you are parked in the white bays which are free, or pay to park. The accommodation was in a good location just a few minutes walk from the main square however there wasn't anywhere close by to swim in the lake and we had to walk about 20 mins to the "beach" area. The rooms themselves were basic but were clean. there were tea making facilities but no fridge which would have been handy. they also forgot our towels and a fan but we got them when we asked. Breakfast was served in a separate building on the main square, plenty of choice on a serve yourself basis - they even had a frying pan and hot stove so you could fry your own eggs etc, but they need a new toaster as everyone wanted to use it at the same time and it was the slowest toaster ever!