Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JP from North Yorkshire

Fantastic location

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location, but a bit expensive for the facilities, which were a bit jaded. The half bath was a quaint whimsical touch, but not recommended for those built more for comfort than speed. Take bath oil to ensure ease of escape if you are of the chubby variety! Room at the back was very quiet;anyone with a lake view would have had a lot of traffic noise. Managed to park smack outside the hotel, which,though marked as a 1 hour slot, we were told was OK for our 1 night stay. The advertised free parking did not really exist, unless you got one of the 4 or 5 spaces on the road outside the hotel. No one ticketed us, so it worked. Ideal location for the ferry to the Islands, and for easy access to the town centre, bars and restaurants. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Serviceable ammenities, great price, great view!

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sempione was a very serviceable hotel. The Hotel and room itself were nothing too special, but the staff was friends and the location was great! We had a direct view of the lake for less than USD$100 per night. Per usual, the hotel had no A/C so it was very hot being Italy in July, although they did provide a fan that helped somewhat. Overall, it was a great value and a fine place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Frances T. from New York, NY

A very nice, comfortable accommodation

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Sempione is a comfortable, clean and well-located hotel in Stresa, but the staff is exceptional: they were uniformly helpful and responsive to our needs and they were kind and courteous in every way. I would be happy to return - and will next time I'm in Italy. Definitely good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Fantastic service!!

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Budget accomodation with basic continental breakfast but what a fabulous little hotel! All the staff were so helpful, we changed room (twice) as we wanted a lake view and also a terrace - nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff - will definately visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very handy base in Stresa

Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a very good though basic hotel very well located on the lake front in Stresa, only yeard from the boat and bus stops and ikm from the station. I particularly appreciated the lake front room with its little balcony so I could sit outside and watch the weather. Free internet use (of a laptop) was also very welcome. breakfasts were adequate if nothing special, and on the whole the value for money is excellent. This was my 2nd visit and I will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, very well priced, very good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view & centrally located.

Posted May 20, 2012
Pros: The view & the location.
Cons: The rooms.
Location: Central. Across the street from the ferry.
If you get a room with a view, the view is worth everything else. We loved the beautiful view of the lake & mountains. The rooms are clean but the furniture is old and tattered. Our room had clean new carpet; I think it was indoor/outdoor carpet and was paper thin. The room was clean. The towels felt like sandpaper. The room is a 2 of 5 points. The view is a 5 of 5 points. The location is 5 of 5 points. The staff was nice and tried to be helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect too much!

Posted May 20, 2012
Location: Location was great close to the lake, town, easy for hopping onto the ferries and a pleasant if longish walk to the cable car.
We selected this hotel for its location and booked 3 nights but only survived 2! Bed was awful walls paper thin. The lift was the best thing in the hotel as it saved you having to use the dodgy stairs. The d├ęcor was very old and tired. After the lift the next best thing was the breakfast which was OK and there was a lovely view of the lake although the weather was not typically Italian and a bit cloudy and wet during our stay. On the plus side you are close to the town which meant you had a great choice of restaurants and bars. Would recommend you seek out one of the two wine bars and sample the local Piedmont wine which we found very good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne, UK

Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
location excellent, room and cleanliness satisfactory, breakfast and service good.