Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom singapore

Beautiful and unusual decoration

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Excellent hotel and the restaurant is amazing, very conveniently located to Lake Orta. Staff were kind enough to upgrade us to a suite. Only downside was the rooms were a little old and the shower in one of them did not work well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by GANDONfrom France

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
un restaurant remarquable dans un hôtel au charme exceptionnel qui justifierait une rénovation des chambres compte tenu des prix pratiqués!!! La Direction a géré notre légitime insatisfaction avec élégance mais nous n'y reviendrons pas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Deal, UK

OTTOMAN SPENDOUR WITH THE ODD DRAWBACK

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, architecture, excellent staff
Cons: Fitting out of rooms with modern conveniences
Location: Lake Orta is a hidden gem among the Italian lakes - quiet, picturesque, has a private feel
A magnificent near-eastern folly, bursting with mujedar stucco work, topped by a minaret. The conversion to a boutique hotel has been done without marring the feel of the place, but there are some drawbacks. Our room had silk wallpaper and a four-poster bed - but few power points. There was an occasional table theoretically lit by a standard lamp with nowhere to plug it in; we moved the table to the window. Great shower and bathroom. There were no easy chairs in our room and the ones under the big chapiteau on the terrace were downright uncomfortable. There isn't a pool (though you could be driven down to the lake to swim). There was no corkscrew to open the wine in the minibar. The staff were superb - welcoming, helpful, charming. The restaurant lived up to its billing - I will review it elsewhere. We were happy to be dining with other individual couples and groups, rather than the large party who virtually took the place over the previous night; it might be worth asking if there is a big group on the date of your intended visit. Overall we had the impression of a famous restaurant where the accommodation aspect played second fiddle. But despite this, the overall experience was a memorable way to mark our special occasion, and so it might be for others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Per Olovfrom På landet

Lyx av yttersta nivå

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Villa Crespi är ett gammalt slott som gjorts om till hotell. Hotellet, med egen park och inhägnad ligger i vackra omgivningar inte långt från den vackra sjön, Orta. Detta är lyxboende av yttersta klass. Vårt "rum" var en svit med Zieglermatta på golvet och tunga heltäckande gardiner från det fyra meter höga taket ända ned till golvet. Detta är svårslaget för det nygifta paret på smekmånad men kanske mindre lämpligt för affärsresenären då det kanske inte kan sägas vara "effektivt". Inget riktigt skrivbord exvis, däremot två soffor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eugenio

Toccata e fuga in un angolo di storia e classe

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Una sola notte, di passaggio x una trasferta lavorativa, ho potuto apprezzare i confort e la classe di questo albergo sensazionale
3 out of 5
by rich

think twice

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: location was good 15 minute walk to town and sacro monte di orta
Cons: see above
Location: We enjoyed the hotel's recommendation of venus restaurant although it seems to do tour groups too we ate at the restaurant. Nice meal but too hot
The building is like a museum. The hotel staff numerous, courteous, and competent. The physical plant needs work We were there two nights in early june. Not especially warm days but the lobby restaurant and halls were all pretty hot and humid. The restaurant was uncomfortably warm. Even the waiters were sweating The in wall ac in the room works but you have the call reception to have a receptionist come up with the remote control to turn it on, off or adjust the temperature. I bet I could order a remote on line and get it in a day or two for them... The elevator cabin has been renovated. The underlying mechanism seems old - the elevator is very slow, bouncy and takes a long time to level out with the hall floor And there's only one elevator for the guests and staff. Hotel seemed pretty empty but we spent a long time waiting for the elevator multiple times. The wonderful reception staff would pitch in and walk down to the basement to ask the staff to shut the elevator door. You could ask why not walk to a third floor room. It was hot for one thing and the ceilings are very high so the third floor is more like the fifth or sixth floor in a normal building. Beware the pebbles in the driveway. Don't even think of wheeling luggage. Drop it off at the front or ask the staff to get it for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by C&Cfrom Australia

Bellissimo

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is simply amazing!! Worth a detour any day! We were here for two glorious nights of our honeymoon and were spoilt beyond our expectations. We received a complementary upgrade to the gold room which was absolutely stunning and very spacious. We loved the breakfasts and the dinner at the hotel restaurant was well worth a trip from Australia in itself! The service was the best we have ever had and the staff were very knowledgeable and provided good advice for our wine and meals. Great wine, spectacular food and incredible service - what a memorable experience! We also enjoyed a walk around the area and the lake is stunning. The hotel is across the road from a hill with 'The Sacro Monte of Orta'. It is made up of 20 chapels containing statues and paintings that depict important scenes from Saint Francis of Assisi's life. Really incredible and worth the walk. The staff were wonderful and so friendly and helpful! Thank you to everyone at Villa Crespi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David and Christine

A special place.

Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is unique and an experience. The staff are fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The building us uniquely beautiful. We had a lovely walk to restaurant Venus on the lake's edge which complimented a wonderful evening. We would recommend this to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent! Wonderfull service & food!!!

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
Really wonderfull! The hotel is excellent, the service is perfect and the restaurant (food) is very very very special (one of the best that I have been in my life)!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom NEWPORT BEACH, CA

To wake up with a view of Lake Orta is magical.

Posted Dec 4, 2011
We have returned several times to Villa Crespi. The architecture is not Italian, but the owner's own inspiration. The staff is warm and accommodating. Our rooms were lovely. The restaurant is very gourmet and very pricey. I would definitely return. It is an easy 40 -60 minute drive to Malpensa.