Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2010 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful 5 star hotel without 5 star service

Posted Oct 10, 2009 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with direct views of lake maggiore. However, the air conditioning was not working on our first night (which happened to be our 15th wedding anniversary) making it extremely difficult to sleep. If the hotel had not been rated with 5 stars the one not so great night would have been forgotten about, but I was expecting the staff to be more accommodating in one form or another-any small gesture would have been appreciated. There was also an issue in the hotel restaurant where the price of an item served was not clear and we felt we had been taken advantage of. In short I would advise against ordering the truffles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Plano

Incredible hotel...if you have a car

Posted Jun 2, 2009 on Hotels.com
The Villa Aminta is an incredible, five star property with all of the amenities and the pricing you would expect. The food quality and presentation at dinner is fabulous and they do offer a three course dinner in Le Isole, one of two restaurants, for less than 50 euros, which is actually well worth it. The pool area, spa, rooms (particularly if you have one with a balcony facing the lake) and grounds are phenomenal. The front desk, bar and restaurant staff are extremely gracious, helpful and knowledgeable. The problem is the location. The town of Stresa, where you will find most of the shopping, bars, restaurants and water taxi stop, it is a good solid 20 minute quick walk on a narrow winding road, often with no sidewalks and buses flying by. So if you want breakfast in the morning, you could pay the hotel about USD$8 for some yogurt or you will have to walk 15 to 20 minutes. If you have a car, we would recommend this hotel without hesitation. There is a lot going on in Stresa and plenty of parking is available. If you don't, just know that you can't always find a taxi, the courtesy car at the hotel does not run all the time, and you might find yourself doing a 20 minute walk when you don't want to. Our suggestion would be to get a card from a taxi driver when you first arrive and take a cellphone with you so you can always get around. Other than the inconvenient location, which incidentally does face Isola Bella and Isola Superiore, maximizing the view, we would recommend Villa Aminta without hesitation. It is worth it to pay a premium for the full lake view with a balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bern, Schweiz

Kellerverlies

Posted Jul 16, 2008 on Hotels.com
Zu unserer grossen Enttäuschung wurden wir ohne Vorankündigung in die Dependence des Hotels gelegt. Da diese direkt in den Hang gebaut ist, war das Zimmer sehr feucht und roch nach Keller moderig. Die Schall-Isolierung zu den Nebenzimmern ist extrem schlecht! Die Badewannenfüllung im Nachbarzimmer hörte sich z.B. an wie eine Überschwemmung im eigenen Raum. Das Hauptgebäude verfügt über eine grosse Variation von Aufenthaltsräumen, alle sind mit künstlichem Blumenschuck total überladen! Auch dies ein Affront für die 5-Sterne-Hotelkategorie. Die italienische Küche ist gut aber der Koch sollte Experimente in die französische Küche unterlassen, da er diese nicht beherrscht.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NL

Mooi hotel - maar neem niet de zolder kamer!

Posted Jun 11, 2008 on Hotels.com
Hotel zelf is schitterend hoewel buiten het centrum. Ook hardlopen niet handig in de buurt aangezien je langs de weg moet lopen alvorens bij de boulevard uit te komen. Neem NIET de zolderkamer ook al is die heel goedkoop. Het lijkt alsof je ín de lift zit, enorm lawaai waar zelfs oordoppen niet tegenop kunnen. Bovendien is de kamer claustrofobisch - de helft bestaat uit een schuin dak waar je niet rechtop kunt staan, er is alleen een dakraam. De single room heeft 1 smal bed onder het schuine dak - dus 's nachts 3x hoofd gestoten op weg naar toilet.. Mooiste uitzicht van alle hotels op het meer echter vanaf het restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel - could be better though

Posted Sep 28, 2007
The hotel is lovely and has wonderful views. It is also kept very clean and housekeeping is very good. However, if you want to make the most of your visit to Stresa, beware of the following. 1. Courtesy and politeness of staff - with the exception of the reception staff whom are excellent, there is no courtesy or politeness displayed to guests. 2. Impossible location. The hotel can only be safely reached by car due to a large stretch of road to Stresa and Baverno having no pavement and the roads being very windy and busy. There is a 'courtesy' hotel shuttle but this is only every 1 - 2.5 hours and stops at 6pm in the evening. So if you want to go out after 6pm you have to book a taxi. Taxi ranks in Stresa and surrounding areas are not populated by taxis so you have to book one in a hotel or a restaurant! This means you really have to go straight from a restaurant to the hotel and don't have freedom to do much in-between. 3. Very noisy hotel. The last thing heard in the evening (12.30am!) and the first thing heard in the morning (6am) was the apparent moving of heavy furniture in rooms above. Hopefully the owners of the hotel will read this review and make amends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Is it really 5 star rated??

Posted Aug 7, 2007
A lovely situation just 1 mile north of Stresa, the hotel is lavish with very courteous, immaculately dressed staff. The quoted price was for room only, everything else was extra. Our room overlooked the access road at the rear which could hardly be called a garden view. The pool was adequate, although not all that clean: a 5 star hotel would pay more attention to removing deposits from the perimeter tiles. We were not told about the courtesy services available, and got the impression that more fuss was made of the customers who displayed the most wealth. We felt better value was offered by the 4 star hotels we stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2007 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

A smart hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2007
We enjoyed our stay at the Aminta. The hotel is really nice with great staff and a lovely view over the lake. Good points - staff, decor, pool, view; Bad poimts - a bit out of the main town (you can walk or just get a cab); Other web sites have mentioned that when a wedding is going on the hotel pays less attention to it's guests. We found that contrary to this on the 1 day they had a wedding (Saturday) the staff went out of their way to ensure that it didn't compromise our enjoyment. I would happily recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, Leytonstone

One of the most beautiful hotels we have ever been to!!

Posted May 18, 2007
We read a couple of reviews on this hotel which were not so good and were a bit worried about its location, but I can hardly find a bad word to say about it. It is a really beautiful hotel, with amazing views overlooking the lake. We didn't have a lakeside view, which would have been fantastic, but the room was still really nice and the restaurant/bar has perfect views anyway. The highlight for us, was having champagne breakfast outside on a perfect day overlooking some of the best scenery in the world. The pictures on expedia show how wonderful the hotel is, and if anything its better! The only bad side to the hotel as such is that it is about 20 minute walk from Stresa, but only a small amount of this walk is on a busy road, the rest is on a lovely walkway by the lake. If you have a car or like us dont mind walking then this hotel is simply amazing, unfortunately if you dont or you have small children then the location may be a problem due to the busy road.