Ratings based on 613 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location and cleaniness
Cons: parking, include continental breakfast with all room fees
Location: location is in town. hockey rink, shopping close by
On the weekend we were there, hotel was apparently full. Hockey, hockey, hockey. Not enough parking. Too many kids in the pool for us to use. Was woken up at 12:20 am with kids running in the hallway. Room was very clean. Staff willing to help.
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you found our location to be a convenient distance to town and other activities. During the Winter and Spring months, Lake Placid plays host to hockey tournaments on certain weekends. We do, however, do our best to make sure that every single one of our guests are happy. We do enforce quiet hours so if you are to stay with us again, which we hope you do, please let our front desk staff know of any noise concerns. Again, our staff here at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club does their best to make sure everyone is satisfied and having a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three Star Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2014
I would consider this to be a 3 Star hotel. The room that we had included a very small refrigerator and small microwave, and it had two queen beds. The closed space was extremely limited and there was a small table to eat (approx. 225 sq feet room size including the bathroom). It was quiet due to the well insulated walls (very nice) and the fact that we were on the 4th floor, well away from the LARGE crowds of hockey players/families that were taking up most of the first and second floors; however, if we had been down stairs it would have been extremely loud (on the way to the pool it was very loud on the 1st and 2nd floors). The restaurant was very expensive at $13 for a breakfast (per person) since there was not any food included, and the rates at the restaurant were much higher for dinners (we brought our own food, thank goodness). In summary, avoid the weekends with sporting events and request the 4th floor. Bring your own food or at least a few of your own meals, bring a cooler for your food, and be aware that the rates more than double on weekends ($225 a night for a room as described above).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michele from Canada

Great hotel near Whiteface

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The room, the decoration of the lobby and the hotel it self.
Cons: Adult time for the pool ex:In the morning before 10 am and after 8 PM to 9. No kids allowed in a jacuzy for safety reason and Hygiene.
Location: skiing,skating,shopping, restaurants, the Olympique area, the lake, stores,etc
Very good experience.Third time in 18 months. Room was amazing on my last stay.the only thing I could say is there is no supervision at the pool. No time for adult when kids are on vacation. The staff allowes kids to jump in the jacuzy (12 kids) I was told "it's kids hockey break" Nothing they can do !
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY. We greatly appreciate the review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the resort’s décor. In regards to the hygiene of our pool and Jacuzzi, our maintenance department thoroughly cleans them and checks levels every single morning before opening it to guests. On the registration cards provided at check in, we do inform guests that we do not supervise the pool area and that kids are not allowed in without an adult present. As a family resort we do allow adults and children in the pool and hot tub from 9am to 9:30pm. I apologize if this is at all an inconvenience to you.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY. We greatly appreciate the review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the resort’s décor. In regards to the hygiene of our pool and Jacuzzi, our maintenance department thoroughly cleans them and checks levels every single morning before opening it to guests. On the registration cards provided at check in, we do inform guests that we do not supervise the pool area and that kids are not allowed in without an adult present. As a family resort we do allow adults and children in the pool and hot tub from 9am to 9:30pm. I apologize if this is at all an inconvenience to you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winter vacation at Lake Placid hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: town proximity
Cons: parking speces
Location: close to shops and restaurants
nice hotel, close to the town. stayed there during winter and there was not enough parking spaced when hotel was full. staff was really pleasant and helpful and our room was very nice and clean
Comment from
Jan 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY. I am glad to hear that you found our proximity to the shops and restaurants in town to be convenient for your stay. I apologize for the lack of parking spaces. We do offer two large parking lots, however, as you had experienced they had gotten a bit full. I do hope that our staff was helpful as to find you a solution. We do hope to see you again in the near future and look forward to hosting your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location too many out of control teens

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: good location, nice room
Cons: security needs to control chaos and loud partying
very noisy at nights, teens and parents having a wild time at the expense of quality patrons
Comment from
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you for the review of our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your room and found our location in regards to town to be very convenient. I would like to extend my apologize for the noise at night. I hope you had called down to the front desk to inform them. If the front desk becomes aware of the issue they do their best to address the situation. Again I apologize for the inconvenience, however, we do hope to see you back again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice dog friendly hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Location, pet friendly, reasonable rates
Cons: The quality of the beds; the mattress was not great, could hear the springs popping every time that I moved.
Location: Great location, easy walk to Olympic Center, skating, movie theater, restaurants and shopping.
Very nice, clean hotel that is both kid and pet friendly! Nice pool, rooms, lobby, restaurant and bar area. Good location right behind the Olympic Training Center and outdoor skating track and an easy walk to town where there are lots of shops and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Fleet, Hampshire

Nice hotel, great location looking down on town

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Lounge, location and views. Breakfast was good.
Cons: Pool area and staff to monitor.
Location: You can easily walk to town and places for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as various sports.
Really nice hotel, with plenty of charm. Staff excellent and everything was clean. My only criticism would be that the when we used the pool and hot tub there were dozens of children left unsupervised which meant it was not as relaxing as hoped. This is maybe more a problem with the parents rather than the hotel but maybe if the hotel had staff at the pool to stop rules being broken it might stop these issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Niskayuna, NY

great hotel, in the heart of the village

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast, clean rooms, friendly/helpful staff, sits on top of a hill with a great view of the lake, next to the hockey rink, plenty/parking
Location: Great location
Had a great time. This hotel is located in the village right next the hockey rink/Olympic Center/Convention center. So many activities to do. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review of our property! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was amazing and that you enjoyed breakfast, our convenient location, and our friendly and helpful staff. We hope to see you back in the area in the near future and look forward to hosting your stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE&COZY

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Nice hotel in the center of the main street. Great location with awesome view
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review of our property! I am glad to see that you enjoyed our property and its convenient location to main street! We look forward to hosting your stay again, hopefully, soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Staff are very friendly. Food is ok and price is very reasonable