Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Very Disappointing!!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel lobby and bar area was beautiful!
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Lake Placid is beautiful
We arrived at the hotel for a three day stay. We arrived in our hotel room and the bed was on a slant. They moved us to a new room which we had to pay $210.00 to upgrade. The first morning we woke up we had no hot water. We did not report as we assumed because the hotel was busy it would be fixed. We knew it had been reported by other guests. The second morning again no hot water. I reported once again. The third morning we awoke there was no water, which my husband discovered while in the shower. We reported to the hotel manager and he said "Well Maam you did book through Expedia"? They gave us a $ 50.00 reimbursement for our troubles. We were really very disappointed in the hotel and the staff reaction to our troubles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate your feedback as it only allows us to further improve in certain aspects. I would like to extend my apologizes for the way you feel you were treated in regards to the water incident. I am aware of the issue and can assure you it has been fixed and we are now taking further actions to make sure issues such as this does not occur in the future. We understand that this was a major inconvenience for our guests and we have taken the appropriate steps to apologize for the trouble. I would also like to stress on the fact that how our guests book is not of importance. We understand that there are many booking sites and that sometimes it is easier to go through third parties. I apologize if you felt that you were less important for booking the way you did. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to see you back in the future to prove that we are indeed the right hotel choice for your Lake Placid, NY getaways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hoboken, NJ

Not very friendly staff

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The hotel's location is excellent and the room was very clean. It's a pet friendly hotel with a fair fee per night (not stay, as other places). The staff is not rude but not very friendly, not only at the front desk but in all hotel facilities (restaurant, room service etc).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Excelent hotel would 4 sure go back.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Was just what I was looking 4 to spend a annerversary weekend.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Anything u wanted to do was either in town or close by
It was a perfect romantic weekend great hotel great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your romantic getaway! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was everything you had expected and more. We hope to see again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F

Couple getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2014
My husband and I are dual military and was in need of a quiet getaway close to his residence. He drive was smooth and when we checked in we received a free upgrade with complimentary breakfast and a 10% discount at their Boathouse restaurant. The staff was amazing friendly and suggest a lot to do the few days we were there. Their fitness room was amazing also. Overall we enjoyed it and was blessed that everything came along perfectly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that our staff played a part in your's and your husband's quiet getaway. We all know how much those are needed once and a while! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we hope to see you both back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel Lake Placid

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Très bonne expérience Un service très agréable Des chambres confortables
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review! I am glad to hear that you had a very good experience while visiting with us and found our rooms to be comfortable. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice stay

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Overall nice stay.
Cons: Front desk young woman's professionalism ( unfortunately didn't get her name)
Location: Olympic Jumping complex, Whiteface Mountains, Main Street for restaurants and shopping.
Well-kept hotel overlooking Mirror Lake at the convenient location walking distance to Main Street. Old-charm lodge atmosphere. I stayed at the deluxe suite which was clean and comfortable ( back side of the hotel so it's quiet and secluded). The only thing I wasn't quite happy about was the young woman at the front desk. When I asked her info about the Olympic complex and the Whiteface Mountain she just coldly gave me the schedule and said "it's all here" I asked about the driving time and suggestions, she said " well use your judgement" I had to basically begged her to draw me directions on the map. I assume that if you were a local you wouldn't be staying at the hotel. I stayed at many 5-star hotels in the past including four-seasons, Intercontinental, Enchantment in Sedona, I find her attitude to be quite unprofessional. Otherwise the stay was lovely and quaint. Our family had a good time. We also tried the Boathouse restaurant at the opposite side of the lake and it was quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

Fantastic location. Worth $20 more for lake view.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location, ambiance, staff and conveniences.
Cons: Room comfort could be upgraded a bit.
Location: Location is perfect.The hotel provides a list of activities which are offered in the area during the warmer and the colder seasons. Close to downtown.
We went to see and enjoy the fall colours and chose our weather pattern accordingly. This hotel is located just off the main street and up on a hillside with a beautiful overall view of Mirror Lake. We were very satisfied with every aspect of what a hotel should be offering and the staff was most helpful and accommodating at all times. Definitely our choice next time around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club, Lake Placid, NY. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic views of Mirror Lake and the surrounding High Peaks and were able to come up doing peak foliage season! Thank you so much for your loyalty with our resort. We hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a place!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
I cannot express just how great our stay was. The staff was exceedingly courteous and helpful. The hotel was gorgeous. Perfect cross between mountain resort and family getaway. Would highly recommend an early morning breakfast outside in the fall!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that your stay was outstanding and that you found our staff both courteous and helpful. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Placid

Beautiful views wonderful people

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was awesome and the hotel personnel were the friendliest and most helpful people i have ever met. This is a must stay hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be extremely helpful. We strive to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guests. So, it is nice to hear that we are doing a great job! Thank you again for taking the time to write a great review and we hope to see you again in the near future!