Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Pretty standard but nice.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and views.
Cons: The balconies are very narrow, barely wide enough for the plastic chairs on them. The restaurants could use more variety in their offerings.
Location: Whiteface Mountain (exceptional 40-mile view). Olympic sites. Main Street shops, Lake Placid Marina for a boat tour.
The hotel is well-located on a hill above downtown Lake Placid with great views of Mirror Lake and the Adirondacks. Friendly and efficient staff elevate this otherwise standard hotel a notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Good location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location and outside patio.
Cons: Room cleaning is scheduled too late in the afternoon when guests return to their room. Our room was skipped one day.
The hotel is located near Olympic center and a walking distance to Mirror Lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience here at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy your outside patio space and found our location convenient to town. I am sorry to hear that you did not find out housekeeping to be very efficient. With 248 rooms and a full house it does become quite a task making sure everyone’s room is done earlier in the day. In the future please notify the front desk when you would like your room made up each day so that they can notify housekeeping and make sure it is seen to early. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, easy access

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: private area across the lake with sandy beach and paddle boats.
Location: Nice walk to/from downtown, but use uneven stairs that have sand on them and bushes that have not been trimmed. Driving to/from the location was easy.
This is a good property when travelling to Lake Placid. We enjoyed ourselves except for the hotel not putting a crib in our room as requested on arrival; some of the other guests (who also had young kids with them) screaming down the halls and slamming doors when our son was trying to sleep; and the quality of the stairs we had to use to get downtown. Teh shops we good and the food on the main street was of good quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saugerties, NY

Great Location for Lake Placid

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Great location, clean rooms, good breakfast
This is the second time staying at this location. I used it as I Judge the annual I Love BBQ and Music festival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! I hoped you enjoyed yourself at the I Love BBQ festival. It was a blast this year! I am glad to hear that your stay with us was great and you found everything from the location to room cleanliness to be outstanding. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the lake and shops

Posted Jul 10, 2014
It was well worth vacation. I was able to relax and enjoy my time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Our Fifth Stay!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: I love the look of this hotel from the 1980's (when it was still a Holiday Inn) to today. Depending on which room you get the view can be spectacular
Cons: I believer the staff needs some improvement - mainly the language used by the maid service (cursing and obviously not happy with their jobs).
Location: Palace Theatre is fantastic. Always enjoy the Breakfast Club, Dancing Bears & Smoke Signals & staff at Critters (Marina is the best).
This was our fifth stay at the Crowne Plaza. Myself and the kids drive down from Ottawa at least twice a year for a cozy little getaway (3 hour drive). We either stay at the Crowne Plaza or the High Peaks dependent on the best deal that we can get. Both hotels have their pros and cons but all in all we have been pretty happy with our experiences. The pros for the Crowne Plaza is definitely the view and the cons are the staff (especially on this past visit). The young man at breakfast (from Croatia) was excellent however, the maid service were swearing in the hallway regarding calling up someone to pick up sheets and deal with the supervisor after she left which were just overall unprofessional. Also at check-in (at 3 in the afternoon), we were nicely persuaded to upgrade to a lake view for $20 more per night and then told we would have to wait at least an hour before we could get a room. I don't think you should go through the whole deal of telling customers to upgrade and then not be ready to check them in. One other thing that I always consider and something should be done about is they should put a rail or something to make the hike up the hill easier. I can't imagine a lot of seniors not being out of breath trying to climb those stairs and why I always like to choose High Peaks in colder months. Lake Placid is such a lovely little area and we enjoy the shops on the strip and the restaurants and love The Palace theatre to take in a movie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your recent stay. First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us time and time again. It is great to know that you and your family have a wonderful experience each time you visit the great Lake Placid, NY! In regards to our maid staff I can assure that it will not be tolerated and has already been addressed. As a TorchBearer Award winning resort we take customer service very seriously. Also, with our hill, many don’t know this but it is actually the town’s property and not our driveway. Therefore, we are unable to do anything to the hill itself. Thank you again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated since it only helps us to improve!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Great view of July 4 fireworks!!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Proximity to downtown. Excellent amenities.
Location: Olympic Center, much hiking
Room was comfortable and clean. Hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet was delicious and a great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the Olympic sites and our local hiking trails! It is great that you found your room to be both comfortable and clean and our staff to be extremely friendly. Our staff loves to make sure that every single guest is having an excellent getaway. Thank you for the excellent review and we look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great stay. Got free upgrade. Very clean. Great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent stay! I am glad to hear that you appreciated the free upgrade given to you upon check-in and had an amazing stay. We hope to see you back our way again sometime soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice Hotel with a great view

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Reserved room on Expedia. Room had a horrible view of roof level out back. Called to complain and had to pay $20 per night for view of lake and mountains. View was partial but still a lot better. That was only thing wrong. Hotel has great view out front from top of hill. Worth a stay if you get a room with a view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Leah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent stay with us. In order to ensure that you have a room with a view it must be described as such at reservations. Please feel free, in the future, to call our resort directly to be sure you know exactly which type of room you have booked. Just as you had experienced at check-in, and upgrade to one of our lake view rooms, if available, is only a small fee. Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent stay and we hope to see you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicky from Montreal

Lovely weekend getaway!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Excellent service!
Cons: The pathway up from the village was a bit tricky. Several stairs were crumbling and there was a lot of sand on the path which made the footing slippy
Location: We took a drive up the Veterans Parkway - well worth it! The views were incredible! We also took the boat tour of Lake Placid - great narrated tour!
Spent a lovely weekend at the Crowne Plaza - Lake Placid. When we checked in, the front desk recommended the Boathouse Restaurant to us. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the restaurant, plus a 10% discount. We had an amazing meal - the service was 5 star. We really enjoyed our stay at the Crowne. We ate 2 meals at the hotel (a breakfast and a dinner). We thoroughly enjoyed the food and felt that it was good value. We were very impressed with the service we received at both meals. The Crowne is a beautiful hotel with amazing views of the mountains and Mirror Lake - it's worth paying the upgrade for a room facing the lake.