Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Millgrove, ON

Good hotel for the price. Excellent for groups.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Pool and hot tub area
Cons: Educating the staff more. The staff were very happy to please but had trouble with room keys and billing issues.
Location: Lots of outdoor activities nearby. Shopping and restaurants only a few minutes drive away. (unfortunately it would be a long walk)
We stayed here over NYE with a bunch of friends. The highlight of this hotel is the pool and hot tub area, it was great for getting together with the group.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not fancy but good enough.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Cons: Not enough towels in the pool area.
The hotel was fine. The room clean and warm. The furniture was not worn out as can be found in some hotels in this area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

okay for a night or two

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: I liked the location of this motel
Cons: the rooms are in serious need of new carpeting and overall updating. although the bathroom was clean it was old and wallpaper peeling.
The room was in need of updating. definitely could use new carpet. The bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable but would not stay for more then one or two nights. the outside door did not lock so even though you have a key card it was not needed. on our last night, a Saturday night, it was pretty noisy in the middle of the night and woke to the smell of cigarette smoke from the hallway. upon check out I had to request a copy of a receipt and was not asked how my stay was. If you need a place to sleep and shower for one or two nights it's okay but for longer stays would not stay here again. considering the location and how busy the area is year round I expected better.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Good location and price, room wasn't great

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice and the location wasn't far from downtown. Lower in price compared to other hotels, but you get what you pay for.
Cons: The room had a broken window and coffee pot.
Location: Lake Placid is beautiful! We went during the winter and there is a lot of Olympic History to see and experience.
The staff were very nice, but the room was a bit to be desired. I traveled with children and our room had a broken window fixed with clear packing tape. Overall, the location wasn't bad and the lower price (compared to other Lake Placid resorts) was good for what we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Cons: one bed needed clean sheets there was dirt in the bed.. could have been mice poop
basic hotel for just a bed and bathroom. The one bed had dirt in the sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Markfrom Ocean View

Cheap... for a reason

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is/was one of the least expensive in Lake Placid, and that is all you need to know. The hotel is in dire need of an update. One bright spot -- the hotel staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jefffrom Troy, MI

+ for room and service, meh for breakfast

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and service was very good. The free continental breakfast had very little choice. English muffins but no bagels. No peanut butter for the muffins - just butter or jam. There was instant oatmeal available, but no other protein: no yogurt or hard boiled eggs like I've had at other continental breakfasts. I still feel this hotel is a good value for the Lake Placid area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Donald Kaufmanfrom Morris IL

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Folks were friendly. Spots on chairs and on carpet certainly distracted from the experience. Also semi ran all night in parking lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really worth the price.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The indoor pool and hot tub area are kind of charming in a bygone era sort of way.
Cons: The room I had needed new carpet and updated paint. I don't expect luxury at this price point, but I don't expect shabby.
Location: The hotel is located on the outer edge of the village near the airport. Wouldn't make a bad base-camp for day hiking in the local area.
The staff I met were competent and helpful. The property is shabby and badly in need of updating.