Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really worth the price.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The indoor pool and hot tub area are kind of charming in a bygone era sort of way.
Cons: The room I had needed new carpet and updated paint. I don't expect luxury at this price point, but I don't expect shabby.
Location: The hotel is located on the outer edge of the village near the airport. Wouldn't make a bad base-camp for day hiking in the local area.
The staff I met were competent and helpful. The property is shabby and badly in need of updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Decent hotel on a tight budget

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Nice staff, room was alright but "complimentary breakfast" was barely coffee and pre-wrapped danishes. Asked staff about broken hairdryer in room, didn't get fixed. Close enough to Lake Placid's main street.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

one night accommodation

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs an overall face lift inside and outside.
Location: Take the Lake Placid "Happy bus" up town for free and back to your hotel for free.. it runs every half hour or so!! great shopping and nite life!
Hotel was in an excellent location. But Hotel was old, run down and in bad need of refurbishing. Some furniture was worn out and fraying, carpet looked soiled and room odour was bad. Bedding was pretty basic and not fresh looking or smelling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good for one night.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff.
Cons: Rooms could be modernized.
Location: 3 minutes from Lake Placid Main street. Nice area to walk around, shop and eat.. smack in the middle of hiking country. Visited Olympic Centre.
We were there for one night and weren't planning on staying in the hotel much. So wanted a low cost, clean hotel, with a good location. This fit perfectly. Nothing fancy but met the needs. If we were staying for several nights, I would select a higher end hotel. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Markfrom Maine

Horrible

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I don't often leave reviews for anything but need to for this motel. First the motel is overpriced even for being in Lake Placid. If I had not paid fully for the rooms which were non refundable I would have walked out and stayed elsewhere. . .like the front seat of my truck. Photos of properties are usually a bit deceiving but this place is really poorly represented. One of our rooms smelled really bad and an area near the beds/nightstand had dirty cups laying on the floor and didn't look like it had been cleaned for quite some time. The person at the front counter was not quite rude but certainly less than friendly. The lobby also had a smell of horrible body odor. Both pools were closed so I can't comment much on them except that the outdoor pool is across the street at a separate property that looks extremely run down. There is also a set of buildings on the property next to the motel that are very poorly maintained. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere even if you have to pay more. If you do stay here I truly hope you have a MUCH better experience than we did.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by robertfrom NY

Dont get a smoking room

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time staying in a smoking room at this hotel. Noticably dirtier and more broken items in the room. was not satisfied with the condition or cleanliness but have stayed in other rooms of this hotel with better conditions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mac & Difrom Ontario Canada

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a nice place, Clean and comfortable, Great pool facility. Great breakfast. Nice people,. Overall wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Canandaigua, NY

Not worth peak time rates.

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were picking up my son from a camp the day before the IronMan race, so we had to pay the event rate even though we weren't around for it. The normal $80/night is reasonable, even $150 would have made sense with the event, but $230/night made me wish I had drove 20 minutes. The breakfast is plain cereal, pancakes, and store bought package honeybuns (if they have them) and some fresh fruit. For the price, something should improve. Well it wasn't room service. We left our hotel at 11a and had removed the 'do not disturb' tag. The cart was right outside our door. Came back that evening and the room was untouched. Come to find out, maintenance we asked for to unplug the tub so we could take a shower had actually been done, but we (nor the front desk) found this out until after we moved rooms. And you couldn't tell as the towels and such were still on the floor were we left them in front of the tub. They offered conversation with the manager in the AM to discuss compensation to make it right, and I asked how early, as we were leaving around 8:30. They said she'd be in early am and easily by then... Nope. Left at 8:45, no management. Bad taste.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montreal

Perfect hotel close to the city

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Pool and spa
Cons: Quite old
Location: Trekking, cycling, swimming
Perfect for a bicycle training with all the facilities
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Don't expect much

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decent price but not very clean or updated