Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plymouth, NH

Great place with great people

Posted May 8, 2015
My wife and I went away for our anniversary, so I chose the Golden Arrow through reading reviews. We had such a great time in Lake Placid. The Golden Arrow staff were very helpful from check in to check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

seeing mountains above lake is the best

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: location location location
walking close to everything - great rooms - easy price
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia Z, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay in the Adirondack mountains. I hope to see you here again soon. - Olivia Z., Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our room had a view of the lake and a fireplace... it was perfect! The staff at the hotel were friendly and accommodating. The indoor pool and jacuzzi was an added bonus. Looking forward to going back in 2016!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm ecstatic that you will be returning in 2016, we look forward to having you then. Cheers, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Waynefrom Fairport, NY

Weekend getaway

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stay was good. Great location, and adjoining restaurant was good for breakfast. I get up early, so not to disturb my wife, I went downstairs the two mornings for coffee. It would have been nice to not pay for the coffee. The coffee in the room is free. Why not the lobby? I have never stayed at a hotel that charges for the coffee. Although it was only $1, it sort of puts the hotel into a cheezy category.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Hello Wayne, Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and restaurant, Generations. I apologize that the coffee in the lobby inconvenienced you. You could always bring the coffee in your room down to the lobby to use in our lobby Keurig if you don't want to disturb your wife. Thanks again for your feedback. I hope to see you at the Golden Arrow again soon. Cheers, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shanefrom Clay, NY

Great place and close to all of the fun stuff!

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Always fun. I only wish breakfast was included. They used to have a great buffet in their restaurant, but that went away with an unfortunate change of the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Shane, Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. We often do bundle breakfast together in our travel packages, but it is true that we do not include it with all of our reservations. I will take your comment to our GM and see what she thinks about including breakfast for all of our guests. Maybe in the future we could do some sort of continental breakfast. Thanks again for your review! Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charleston, wv

Great location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Can't ask for a better location in central Lake Placid
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, Scott! Cheers, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brockville, ON Canada

Somewhat Disappointing

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: When closing down a main attraction like the pool or, offer your customers the option to book elsewhere.A courtesy call/email would have been nice.
Location: Good shopping and beautiful sites
The pool and hot tub was closed for renovations and that was disappointing because we were really looking forward to using it. We could have gone across the road to the Crown Plaza but who wants to venture back outside after being in the hot tub. Our room was on the side of the building , so NO view of the lake or the main street (either would have been fine) but we did have the pleasure or being awakened every morning at about 5 am by the snowplow!! I won't be returning to this resort, I will choose one of the many others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Cathy, Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Golden Arrow. I'm sorry that you were somewhat disappointed. Our pool does get a lot of action and we do have to close it for cleaning and re-balancing of the chemicals from time to time. This is necessary to uphold the sanitary regulations. I do hope you will give us another shot and maybe stay on the lakeside of the resort. Not only will your review be much better, but it is quieter as well. Thank you, again, for your review. Cheers, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jessicafrom New York

Great hotel, but nothing special.

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Food is ok, nothing special. Room service is a $7 charge + tip, included, which they didn't tell me upfront. The room could have been a little cleaner. The hotel is in a perfect location though. It's great for a business trip or getaway weekend. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Jessica. I'm glad to hear that you will stay with us again (you actually may have since the time you wrote this review). As far as room service, it does tell you about the charge on the in-room menu, but I will remind the restaurant to tell guests this before they order, I can see how not knowing this would be aggravating. Thanks again for the great review! Cheers, Olivia Z Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saratoga, NY

Getaway Weekend

Posted Nov 22, 2014
A children's hockey tournament, Can-Am was in town that weekend. We went to the resort restaurant for breakfast or first morning there and they refused to seat us. We didn't just walk in off the street, we were hotel guests. One of the things their website claims is that there is no need to leave the resort if you do not choose to do so. Now I understand that they were busy, but I found this unexceptable. I would stay there again but not without checking ahead of time about current events in the area. We took our money to other local restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating us!