Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

seeing mountains above lake is the best

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: location location location
walking close to everything - great rooms - easy price
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia Z, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay in the Adirondack mountains. I hope to see you here again soon. - Olivia Z., Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charleston, wv

Great location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Can't ask for a better location in central Lake Placid
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, Scott! Cheers, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brockville, ON Canada

Somewhat Disappointing

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: When closing down a main attraction like the pool or, offer your customers the option to book elsewhere.A courtesy call/email would have been nice.
Location: Good shopping and beautiful sites
The pool and hot tub was closed for renovations and that was disappointing because we were really looking forward to using it. We could have gone across the road to the Crown Plaza but who wants to venture back outside after being in the hot tub. Our room was on the side of the building , so NO view of the lake or the main street (either would have been fine) but we did have the pleasure or being awakened every morning at about 5 am by the snowplow!! I won't be returning to this resort, I will choose one of the many others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Cathy, Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Golden Arrow. I'm sorry that you were somewhat disappointed. Our pool does get a lot of action and we do have to close it for cleaning and re-balancing of the chemicals from time to time. This is necessary to uphold the sanitary regulations. I do hope you will give us another shot and maybe stay on the lakeside of the resort. Not only will your review be much better, but it is quieter as well. Thank you, again, for your review. Cheers, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jessicafrom New York

Great hotel, but nothing special.

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Food is ok, nothing special. Room service is a $7 charge + tip, included, which they didn't tell me upfront. The room could have been a little cleaner. The hotel is in a perfect location though. It's great for a business trip or getaway weekend. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Jessica. I'm glad to hear that you will stay with us again (you actually may have since the time you wrote this review). As far as room service, it does tell you about the charge on the in-room menu, but I will remind the restaurant to tell guests this before they order, I can see how not knowing this would be aggravating. Thanks again for the great review! Cheers, Olivia Z Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saratoga, NY

Getaway Weekend

Posted Nov 22, 2014
A children's hockey tournament, Can-Am was in town that weekend. We went to the resort restaurant for breakfast or first morning there and they refused to seat us. We didn't just walk in off the street, we were hotel guests. One of the things their website claims is that there is no need to leave the resort if you do not choose to do so. Now I understand that they were busy, but I found this unexceptable. I would stay there again but not without checking ahead of time about current events in the area. We took our money to other local restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve W.from Teaneck, NJ

Great location, good service, good value

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 nights while we went hiking nearby. We got a dog-friendly room, and found that there were very convenient entrances from the main parking level as well as the garages, which is helpful when you are returning from a hike with your dog, gear, and your legs are wobbly from exhaustion. The lobby has a breathtaking view of Mirror Lake, and we spent some time there relaxing and just staring out the window. The front desk staff was polite, courteous and efficient, and they really seem to know the local businesses and can provide good dining recommendations. There are great amenities as well, such as a big pool with a sauna and hot tub, along with a fitness spa and a nightclub. The room we stayed in had plenty of space for us to lay out all of our stuff, which was key as we had to dry out our wet clothes every day. The only thing we both hated was the quality of sleep in the beds. I am an very heavy sleeper, but the hard mattresses had me waking up every couple of hours. I couldn't wait to get back to my own bed (and my chiropractor) after half a week. However, we do love that this is a green hotel, and all things being equal, I will choose these every time. It's at most a 10-minute walk from all of the shops and restaurants on the main drag, and is really close to the famous Olympic ice rink and the old speed-skating track. So, while we hated the beds, the location, features and price made this a place we would return to again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Steve W., Thank you for your great review of the Golden Arrow. I'm glad you found our hotel very conveniently located, dog friendly, and with breathtaking views of Mirror Lake. I apologize that you did not find our beds comfortable, I am a little surprised to hear it since we usually get the opposite response to them, but we might have a remedy! We can actually add another pillow top to our mattresses to make them softer, I encourage you to request this next time you stay with us. I am glad to hear that you will stay with us again, I wish you safe and happy travels until you do. My Best, Olivia Z Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rolandfrom Montreal

Nice location, great view on the lake

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoy our stay, for sure will come back again this winter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I hope you will (may have already) stay with us again. Cheers, Olivia Z Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danielfrom Ballston Spa

Average but Expensive Stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Average older hotel, too expensive for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. I apologize that you did not find it met your expectations. I hope you will stay with us again, perhaps in the slower season when rates are lower. - Olivia Z, Director of Marketing, Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hopewell Jct, NY

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The location, view and room. The suite has an additional private room room with flat panel which is ideal if you have children and want privacy.
The hotel location is excellent! Directly on the lake, nice beach, paddle boats, etc for our use. You can walk to shopping, resturants, etc. We had a suite with fireplace, whirlpool tub and lake view. The room was modern and very clean. Staff was excellent at check in!