Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lea from Ohio

The resort was very clean

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Clean and comfortable with nice view of the lake
Cons: The parking lot was very full, but there are on site parking garages for guests. Tight parking spaces, though...a bit hard to navigate.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Be sure to check out the Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood!
We only stayed for one night, but the beds were comfortable and there was adequate space in the bathroom. ould stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The location was good, the room was clean.
Cons: Parking was frustrating. Ground level parking was limited and the parking garage was very difficult to maneuver in.
The staff was pleasant, we were able to check in early, the room was clean and the location of the hotel was within walking distance of stores and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The front desk staff was horrible.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Front desk was too busy attitude. Get some adults in there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Ontario

Great location, comfortable but poor service.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
This hotel has an ideal location on Mirror Lake and walking distance to many attractions. The rooms were large and comfortable with beautiful views of the Lake. The hotel staff, while friendly, seemed inept. For example, our room was not cleaned until we called for service at 7:30 at night. No apology or explanation was given. The restaurant connected to the hotel also offered poor service and the food was sub par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

beautiful hotel, very cozy, .

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: it had a night club that was in the center of the building, however there was no disturbances from it. the lakeside view, and the destination. the hot
Cons: everything was great. except the deal I receive from Expedia and the price charged at the hotel
Location: great location, conveniently located in the center of everything
beautiful hotel, very cozy, everything was accessible. staff was great, and friendly. excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Barrington,RI

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2013
We had a very nice room lakeside. The hotel was clean but could use some updating. They provide water toys(kayaks and canoes) free of charge. Very pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at The Golden Arrow. It was nice to be so close to shops and restaurants. The room was all we hoped it would be. No complaints here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacqueline from Brooklyn

Charming hotel with personality

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Cons: Coasters could eliminate rings on furniture.
This place is charming. It is not steril ot corporate feeling like High Peaks Or Crowne Plaza, its hard to explain, but it feels like a family runs it. The housekeeping staff is very sweet and friendly. Our room had very high ceilings (on the fifth floor) and felt huge! The bathroom is large and has a great big mirror. The place is solid. You cant hear a peep from other rooms. A big plus is it seems like one of the few hotels in Lake Placid that has beach access FROM the hotel. Its right on the water. The older furniture style was not my taste and the High Peaks had a much more modern look and feel whic is great (stayed there also the same week). But all the other pluses made up for this. Oh and the fridge had a freezer...good to freeze your icepacks for hiking (high peaks did not have freezers which was a problem for me).
3 out of 5
by Laura from Virginia

Disappointing for first visit to Lake Placid.

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Not much
Cons: See above
Location: Good location, with lots of shops if you like to shop.
I booked a room with lake view and wasn't given it and because Expedia didn't put that on my receipt couldn't prove it. However was still charged almost $800 for three nights which was supposed to be with Lake View! The room I was given was small and the bathtub was 2 feet high which I couldn't get my legs over (I'm 5'3" and have had hip and knee replacement) and had no handles to hold on to. The rug was stained badly. They moved me the next day to room with lower tub and handles but the shower was weak and I had to have a bath/tub mat as it was slippery. There was a restaurant connect to hotel but a long walk and they wouldn't let you sit outside for "just a drink!" All in all a very disappointing experience for the money spent. And I'm very disappointed with Expedia. If you are in any way handicapped (I walk with cane) it's not really convenient.